Fall Bouldering at Bear Lake

in #climbing5 years ago

The 3 Bs are my happy place!



vlcsnap-2018-10-13-15h43m41s851.jpg

Yesterday afternoon I got a chance to get back to my bouldering area for a couple of hours. I have been jonesing for a bit of the ol' vert so I loaded up the crash pads, shoes, and chalk bag and made the 3 mile trek/drive to my bouldering area. The weather was being a bit temperamental but after about 30 minutes the skies cleared and the warm fall sun came out.

I started out my session on my 50 foot long traverse, the Herp Traverse, that runs the length of the South Roadside boulder. I did one lap as a warmup before I went off to the other problems. The
traverse is perfect for warming up the muscles as it doesn't require extreme movements and it can be stepped off of at any point.

After my warmup I spent some time on a bunch of other problems. The problems on the rock in the shot below are The Hopes. High, Higher, and Highest Hope ascend the overhanging, left leaning boulder. It is one of the more clean and obvious lines in the area and were the first ones to be put up.


IMG_20181013_125551456_HDR.jpg

If you were wondering what the 3 Bs are well this is it. It's generally referred to as "standard equipment".

Bouldering


Beer


Bud


IMG_20181013_133349278_HDR.jpg

All in all the session was really good. I climbed 21 problems and did 5 laps on the traverse. In the first picture above there is a tree to my left, that is what I set my camera on to get the video of the 5 laps. I wasn't able to see the left most 10 feet of the problem but it is a super easy section compared to the middle. I took the 10 minute video and sped it up 2k% to get it down to this 30 seconds.

When Pigs Fly. That is the name of the problem the climbs up under the pig's neck and right over its snout. The moment I saw the formation I knew what the problems would be called. It is amazing how perfectly it looks like a hog head with the snout, floppy ear, and thick neck. I have only climbed the problem once because it is rather committing and the landing is pretty poor, even with pads. This and the Hopes are my proudest problems in the area and are the most distinct and classic feeling.


IMG_20181013_135327558.jpg

Since the weather looks like it is going to cooperate next weekend I am planning on doing a day trip in to Phalon Lake with my buddy Art to free the route we put up a couple weeks ago. I hope to be at the rock about this time next Sunday so we can have as much time as possible now that the light goes so much sooner. We have 3 routes that can be climbed off of the single anchor installed last trip.

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting and sharing!




Sign up for Dlike with the above image link!


Learn how to join the Bytball WCG Distribution!

Sort:  

Totally! The weather is great during the days still so I am trying to get out as much as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80