Have a club card ??

in #club5 years ago


" Geography made us neighbors, history made us friends, economics made us partners,
And common needs made us allies. We are the ones that God has gathered together - no man should be a separate part. "(John Franklin Kennedy)

Always, when I have to pay for something or show something, certificate, card or document, then I meet all the magnetic club cards that I have received over the years from all kinds of places.

But, do I really feel 'Club Membership'? When I get to all these places, do you remember my purchase preferences, the dishes I love, remember my name and ask about my health? Not sure .. So what actually the essence of club membership if not personal relationship with the same business? Is it really superficial - it comes down to a permanent discount or some permanent benefit (free dessert) and that's how we ended our "duty" to you? Too bad...!

In 2006, our social network - Facebook - came to our lives and it seems that it is here to stay. Since the social network arrived, we all have a club that operates 24/7 and the brave addicts will also testify that they visit the club on Yom Kippur, too.

It is possible to begin an endless discussion here about the virtues of this network and, of course, its shortcomings as well.
It seems that the thing that most captivated us all in this matter is the club feeling! It's like you're hanging out at an endless party, with your drift or your pajamas, flipping through the posts like cliques, an interesting discussion that will keep you in the environment for a while, a discussion that does not concern you. And in this club ... you are with everyone and yet alone.

On the face of it, this club feels like the thing we were waiting for in our hearts and is the ultimate proof that "it is not good to be alone". Blah blah...

But ... and this is a great mourning, this digital generation ... has made us more laconic when it comes to defining the alone and the togetherness, and the many situations in life where you sit with the whole family over the generations, or with dear friends and this time comes - The item, we've finished eating and now we are busy with their mobile, so what if there are human beings sitting in front of them or around them, there's just something you have to respond to, treat it ... and a minute becomes fifteen minutes, fifteen minutes to two hours.

And let's put Facebook aside (maybe you'll succeed) and try to point out your relationships in real life, are not they diminishing greatly? So hey, this is not really surprising! What comes out of it is that the keyboard works stronger than our language ... And what is a brilliant loneliness if not the one in which we diminish the natural society that is assimilated in our place and in its place we are in the social network for days and nights?

When I worked at the Princess Hotel during its heyday under the direct command of Alma Moskowitz-Efrat under the direction of Ziv Goldstein, it was then decided to lift the members club one step further - and to hold a party for them, including a long weekend and performances of the biggest stars in Israel . Grandiose productions without a doubt. And when I asked an innocent question - how did we go through such crazy success every time, I received an answer that I will never forget: "People want to be part of something big, something that sets them apart from others.

Here is an example alive and kicking in the sense of a club in physical and intangible - when I get to the 'beach palm tree (with membership card in my club) I'm super-happy with the staff knows me, bless me, remember what and how I like my drink and it is my opinion greatest added value, which is expensive And no virtual digital club can replace this feeling of sitting on the beach with my favorite people and just .. chat ;-)

Do not give up on it, ever.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I never had a club card and facebook I know only from outside. But I can understand what you are talking about.
One thing about digitalisation of our life comes to my mind. TV has created the semicircle out of the family-round, computers and smartphone dissolved the last family connections. I am just reading a book about new technology, and that we full heartily should embrace its fruits and finally accept our kids changed behaviour (because so life evolves). I am kind of torn apart. I see also disadvantages of the new technology and especially how we more end more get trapped in the worldwide connected net, on the other hand here I am on Steemit...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75