Its as cold as ice or it was last week

in #clubtalent5 years ago

Its as cold as ice or it was last week

The title for this post came to me as I was preparing this post and thought of the Foreigner song Cold as Ice
This post is a follow on from my Wednesday Walk post this morning, where I showed one shot of the Fountain in Bryant Park, and tonight I share a few more shots of the fountain.

1 Bryant Park Fountin Icicles-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger



I braved the cool temps for a walk to and around Bryant park to get hsots for my Wednesdya walk post, and also to check out this fountain which I love to see when the ice foorms on it.
I was surprised how small the ice formations were, I have seen it totally covered with Icicles.

1 Bryant Park Fountin Icicles-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



And a closer in shot of some of the formations, most of the fountains in the city are shut off during the cold spells of winter so the pipes do not freeze or burst, they take another approach here they heat the water going out of the fountain and keep it running, which make sit more impressive that even with heated water it freezes like this.

1 Bryant Park Fountin Icicles.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger



And finishing off with a color shot of the whole fountain


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752938 lat -73.981752 long Bryant Park NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Beautiful shots!

Thanks Kindly :)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.84$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much always appreciated !tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Its As Cold As Ice Or It Was Last Week Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Usually I like the color shots best, but that first B&W one is neat!!

Thanks I am the same I personally prefer color shits the most but some just work better in mini

Oops mono and I have to do a new reply as steemit won’t let me edit my last one
It’s definitly playing up today again

would love to see it from close up

It is well worth visiting if your ever in NYC in the peak of winter it is amazing to see

Looks impressive but wonder if the ice can do it damage.

For most fountains it can that why the turn them off so the pipes do not freeze and burst, but this one must be sturdy and with the hot water it keeps running it had been freezing over every year since I have been here

Wonderful shots @tattoodjay! Soo cold! I hope you were careful, I'm sure the sidewalks were really slick! Have you seen those fountains frozen before? Crazy!

Thanks and yes I have seen it freeze every year, many times covered in a lot more ice than seen in these shots, the hot water keeps the water flowing and it makes quite a special time to see the fountain

Are you having trouble with steemit tonight its not opening more than it is opening, I have done some comments and votes on Steempeak, but steemit is a mess tonight for me

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 36500 replies. Your next target is to reach 37000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Getting these notifications is always cool thanks

The frozen fountain sure looks beautiful.
Thank you for sharing this gorgeous frozen nature with us.

Even after all these years seeing it frozen it still fascinates me 😎

That fountain csught my eye in yout Wednesday walk. How cool it is to show more of it.

Thanks kindly Have a great day

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=its-as-cold-as-ice-or-it-was-last-week


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks Kindly i love this service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04