The Rich History of London's Transportation System - Part II / 伦敦交通博物馆 之二

in #cn6 years ago

16.jpg


Following on from my previous post, there is currently an exhibition showcasing posters created by female graphic designers and artists on Level 1 of London Transport Museum. The “Poster Girls” exhibition is to celebrate 100 years since women first won the right to vote in the UK.

With over 150 unique posters and original artworks on display, this commemorative exhibition highlights their work spanning over the 20th and 21st century's and the strong contribution to poster designs. I really love the vintage and retro look of the posters aesthetics as well as the strong messages they deliver across!

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

line 3.png

The first floor of the London Transport Museum is probably the most exciting section for me. As I walked in, the first thing I said to myself was “Wow”. I was immediately drawn in by this section, which is arranged quite nicely. There are loads of vintage buses and trains on display. For example, the first underground engine, a wooden Metropolitan Railway coach, a "Chocolate Express" and of course, the most iconic of all. The retro London double-decker red bus!

8.jpg

9.jpg

(The well-known, olden day London red bus)

10.jpg

11.jpg

(Even older still...)

12.jpg

12-1.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

(Recreated London streets, traffic lights and all)

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

23.jpg


Also featured were an array of different types of uniforms on display regarding the London Transport staff. It was quite interesting to see how the outfits have changed over the years.

24.jpg

25.jpg


A family play zone area for kids featured mini versions of the vehicles to climb and play on, which is a nice added touch. Lots of children were running around whilst hopping on and off the miniature buses. The whole place was filled of laughter and high-pitched chatter! Definitely recommended for a great day out for families with kids, lol.

So, after we just traveled through 200 years of transportation history from this amazing city, how could we imagine what the future would would look like? Towards the tail-end of the museum, there was a section with a large map showcasing their vision of London 2040.

As you would probably imagine, there are all manner of thinds that are likely on their way into out lives. Hover trams, bubble buses, flying taxis, solar plane transport and rocket cars to name but a few. Mind-blowing stuff! Innovation in technology and information systems will be unlike anything we are used to at present. The future looks very exciting indeed.

30.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

33.jpg

34.jpg

line 3.png

The London Transport Museum is one of the best museums to visit in London. It provides a great overview about London's rich history of transport. I feel I really got “on-board” with my visit there, lol! I would definitely revisit when I get the chance and recommend it highly as you will surely find something there to suit all ages and interests.


接着伦敦交通博物馆的上集,我们继续来探索英国交通的历史。在一楼这里有一个大型的海报女郎展览,里面全是女性设计师和艺术家创作的海报。这是为了庆祝女性在英国获得投票权的100周年!

馆内展出了超过150张独特的原创艺术作品,充分展现了女性在二十至二十一世纪为伦敦交通设计做出的巨大贡献。我尤其喜欢海报那种复古风韵以及它所传递的信息!

伦敦交通博物馆一层可能是整个博物馆里我最喜欢的部分。从楼上走下来,仿如由19世纪的马车和巴士进入到现代的火车,地下铁和计程车,各种交通工具的变化在这里一览无遗!其中,当然还少不了英国最经典的双层巴士咯,呵呵!

伦敦交通工作人员的制服也随着时代不同而逐渐发展,看看这里陈列的不同服饰,令我大开眼界。

馆内还设有家庭游乐区,为孩子们提供了迷你版本的巴士。小孩子们跑来跑去,爬上爬下的,自然玩得开心,整个地方也充满了欢笑声!这里绝对是家庭一日游的好去处哦,哈哈!

“走”完了200多年的英国交通历史,我们的未来又将会是怎样呢?博物馆在尾端部分展出了伦敦2040年的地图,为大家展示出他们对未来交通系统的设想!

正如你想象的一样,未来的交通工具将充满技术上的创新,如漂浮的电车,气泡公交车,空中飞行的士,太阳能飞机和火箭车等等。未来世界交通的种种创新,让我好兴奋也期待不已!

伦敦交通博物馆在我看来是伦敦最好的博物馆之一。想起十几年前的我初到伦敦,看到红色双层巴士,觉得激动不己,呵呵!现在能有机会在这个博物馆里了解到伦敦公共交通的历史演变过程,感觉非常满足!所以,我会强烈推荐大家有机会要来这里瞧瞧,亲自站在驾驶座位体验一下各种交通工具的操作以及那种穿越历史的沧桑感,绝对让你爱上这个地方!

Wen-Logo-final.jpg

Sort:  

awesome ..
Great pictures .. Beautiful when you have a story with such things you enjoy more
Thank you for sharing your experience with us

I want to go back to London to see some museums and this suggestion is very precious to me. Really interesting. Thank you @rea

You are welcome @sardrt!

Awesome, thanks for sharing!

Haha, those future car models look so much like the ones in the movie "Demolition Man"?

That museum is pretty sweet, might have to check it out with the fam next time I am in London :D

I have the exact same thought! Great minds alike, haha...

Do come over and I will show you around. :)

This is an awesome museum! Love the poster exhibit! I could get lost in this museum for some time. Thanks for sharing all the great shots.

If this is your thing, I am sure you can easily spend a few good hours in the museum, lol.

Nice exhibition you were fortunate to view!! we have no such thing as double decker buses here in Canada but I always wanted to ride in one at least once!! The early ones look really primitive yet an amazing piece of history and apear to be well constructed give the technology that was available at the time. Thank you for posting this piece! :)

Indeed! A great exhibition that really shows that side of Brittain we are used to seeing in TV (we foreigners at least).

Thanks @ladybug146! I am glad you enjoyed my post. :)

Somehow I've never been to this museum!! I definitely need to take my kids here :)

You should check out The Postal Museum, it only opened a few months ago, and it even has a little train ride in the underground system the Royal Mail used to use back in the day! It's really fun :)

Anyway, I can't find you on steemit.chat for some reason, but I messaged Ezzy to let him know about the London Meetup next Friday in Shoreditch. Would be great if you guys can come too!

Hello @redrica, how are you? I hope you are keeping well. The Postal Museum sounds quite interesting. I would definitely check it out!

About the meeting up next week, thanks for the invites but I got plans already. Perhaps next time. :)

Thank you, @rea! I feel like I'm starting to find my place on Steemit, so I'm having some fun with it :) I hope you're well too!

Hope to see you again soon! Maybe if Alla hosts another supper club again :)

伦敦博物馆看起来真的很棒!预计明年去看看,O(∩_∩)O谢谢你的文章分享,真的很有帮助!持续关注你😊

好啊,这个交通博物馆的确挺有意思的。

漂亮的博物馆!!

The exterion media gallery is so lovely inside and showcasing some interesting artwork with much expression, its lovey to see such vintage buses and trains on display I particularly like trains hehe, haha wow @rea those future vehicles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85