Coffee's of the World - Brasillian Daterra Cedro Rosa Masterpiece Collection with me @c0ff33a ☕️

in #coffee6 years ago (edited)

This coffee is quite special, Daterra is well known as a name of extreme quality, and this Cedro Rosa is from the Masterpieces collection so it is truly the best of the best.

brasildaterracedrorosa_1024x1024.png

No Hessian sacks for this lot of green coffee, it comes in a tidy box containing two 12.5kg vacuum sealed silver foil bags - the foil is a rock solid brick until you start to cut the top - then you get a long hiss and it all expands to reveal the delicious green coffee inside.

IMG_3162.JPG

We can learn a little more about what to expect from this coffee directly on the Daterra website

Before we can taste it though, we need to roast it - starting with loading the green coffee beans into my coffee roaster.

Once inside the spinning drum keeps the busy beans moving so they do not get burnt on one side

The roast time I am aiming for is 13 minutes, as the coffee roasts it changes colour from green to a light cinnamon brown

As we near the 13 minutes the coffee turns a darker brown, and will start to crack - making popping noises inside the roaster a similar sound to making popcorn.

Once the coffee is at our desired darkness level - the longer you roast it the darker it gets - to black even "burnt" - to keep the colour you see in the drum you need to release the coffee from the hot dum and cool it quickly - the cooling tray of the roaster has a fan sucking air below - which it blows out of the roaster exhaust ducting to outside. A stirring arm keeps the cooling beans moving - together these two systems can take the 200 degrees Celsius beans down to ambient in a few minutes.

While it is cooling the next batch of coffee goes into the roaster - back to back I can do a good 6 roasts of 5kg each, then the chaff collector which holds the parchment outer layer of the coffee given off as it roasts gets too full - you can empty it on the fly but it is a messy job when the fan is going - so I try to do it when it is cool and everything is off.

Now it is roasted we get to do the best bit, try the roasted coffee and see what it tastes like.

IMG_3169.JPG

A nice even roast, and just the right colour - not too dark so we can enjoy all the subtle flavours.

IMG_3170.JPG

I measure the beans in the Aeropress to get the perfect amount for a cup to test, they look good don't they?

IMG_3171.JPG

Pour the beans into the grinder, and then grind back into the Aeropress

IMG_3172.JPG

Add hot but not boiling water, you have to stop 3/4 up the Aeropress because this fresh coffee blooms - the natural gasses it emits makes the grounds rise up and it would overspill the top if we fill it right up.

IMG_3173.JPG

Quickly the has dissipates and the bloom deflates, so we can top up a little before adding the filter cap.

IMG_3174.JPG

Upright on the cup, ready to take the plunge. And how is that for an artistic shot - brewing on the cooling tray amongst the beans of my final roast of the day - Peruvian this one - I roasted 21 kg during this roast session to be ground and packing in 205g bags for a client (100 bags total).

IMG_3176.JPG

The brewed cup, it looks good a fine colour and great aroma (I know you can't smell it but it was good!)

IMG_3181.JPG

And the taste, it's fantastic - could almost be a chocolate orange in a cup! Really very smooth with no Bitterness, a delicious coffee.

I'm not going to lie, the last five days have been quite a struggle juggling Steemit, home and work. Plus I have been worried about our wonderful friend @saffisara who has been so ill and still needs all your kind words and support. She is improved a little tonight, and will be back with us soon sharing the incredible joy and fun we all love her for - for now any message of support you can send will lighten her spirits - even if it just mentioning her in your next post saying Get Well Soon @saffisara ! I know she was overwhelmed by how many people left kind comments on her Did not see this coming post - she can not reply right now because of being in Hospital but I know it made a real difference to help her get over the illness.

Some of my previous posts you might have missed


My first block as a Witness by @c0ff33a

The C0ff33 Vlog 8th June 2018
Sublime Sunday by @c0ff33a ☕️


Last Confirmed Block Number 23,274,587 Last Aslot 23,341,412


Kind thanks to @enginewitty for employing his Ninja graphic design skills and producing this 🔥 banner

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

For the simplest way to upvote and promote your work, log into SmartSteem it’s the smartest way to get your work noticed.

Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

New @brotherhood upvote service, send between 0.1 and 0.4 SBD to brotherhood with your post link in the memo for an profitable upvote.

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my Steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

The greatest challenge we face on Steemit is getting our posts seen, I have always believed the simplest and best value way of doing this is by commenting on the blog posts of others, the more you engage people and interact with them the greater the chance they will visit your own blog and return the favour.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr


This awesome animated Banner has been kindly been created by the wonderful @snook

Don’t forget to vote for Witnesses https://steemit.com/~witnesses
And you can vote for me c0ff33a - click below to vote easily
witness.png

Sort:  

You are were going to send me a sample right? Or a boat load :D Ohhh 3 freighters full even better :D

Oh of course! I always have plenty of coffee spare - despite my best efforts to drink it all! Thank you for calling in and leaving a lovely comment :-)

Oh my, what an education I got! I do love coffee, and drink lots of it. I have all sorts of contraptions to make coffee, buy different kinds of coffee available in the market. I think that perhaps I should try roasting my own coffee beans now, LOL! I enjoyed this article very much,. Thanks for the photos and vid snippets you included. It made your article all the more interesting and engaging! Kudos to the effort you do to put out a quality article. Have a great evening, my friend. Take care.

Thank you very much, I actually sell a lot of green coffee beans to people who roast coffee at home. You can buy various small machines to automate the process - or even use a big pan or tray in the oven - although you have to keep the beans moving so that can be quite tricky! I’m pleased you liked my post, I try my best to make them a bit intersting - I’m not the most creative person.

So fascinating to see your business. And those beans look wonderful. Thanks for sharing @c0ff33a. And I do hope Sara is doing better !!

Thank you very much, it’s a growing aspect of my business to supply my own fresh coffee rather then buy it in from contract roasters - my customers certainly seem to be enjoying it. And she is, you will be see the normal amount of posts from her very soon.

its really cool to see the roasting process.. I like the transition photos from beans to grind to coffee in a cup.. makes me thirsty reading your post! :)

Thank you very much, I have become used now to people watching me roast because we have so many people come to see how the roasters work when they are looking to purchase one. Thanks for taking a look and leaving a lovely comment.

Cool, so I s practically a performance art for you now these days! :)

The real taste of coffee and being there to enjoy a cup of coffee is such an amazing experience :D thanks you so much for sharing this post :)

It's so interesting to read about different types of Coffees in depth. You have amazing knowledge on this.
This coffee may not suit my taste buds as I like the bitter ones more.
Today at the airport there were so many Coffee shops and you crossed my mind. I am sure you must be getting delighted every time you see anything about coffee, just as I do with Crystals :)

Thank you very much, I can do a dark bitter roast if you like - it’s just longer time in the drum. It is much harder to get a dark roast right though - the coffee changes very quickly the darker it get’s and you can go from dark, to jet black oily and burnt in seconds!

I hope you have a good trip away, coffee is as much an obsession for me as Crystals are to you!

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @c0ff33a!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You got a 2.75% upvote from @upme thanks to @c0ff33a! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=c0ff33a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=coffee-s-of-the-world-brasillian-daterra-cedro-rosa-masterpiece-collection-with-me-c0ff33a


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86