Coffee Bug Cafe in Chiang Mai: Just a nice, cheap, friendly place

in #coffee5 years ago

Other than what the title says, there isn't anything terribly special about this establishment. To be honest, I don't require more than this. In my recent experience, many coffee shops have been letting me down due to the fact that somehow they are able to run a coffee shop without knowing how to make even the most basic drinks.

After watching Godzilla and having a feed yesterday, i began my 15km bicycle trip home. Because I was partially going into a food coma from the 3 tacos I had in the food court, I needed a pick me up and was going to stop at the first place I saw that had a cappuccino for less than $2 on a sign. That's when i found Coffee Bug


source

There are probably thousands of coffeeshops in Chiang Mai, so it isn't like it is difficult to find an espresso no matter where you are. The problem is that this sort of operation has become so easy to enter that many people do so without bothering to even know how to use the equipment involved. I am not a coffee snob and I drink instant coffee at home. However, when I go into a place and see a $4000 Italian espresso machine, I kind of expect the operator to have some idea what they are doing and often they do not.

61906417_440951546450407_2193299846557859840_n.jpg

If a coffee shop can make a capp-oooh, as it is called in Thai, correctly, they get the stamp of approval from me and Chuck Norris. Coffee Bug managed to do this and did so with a smile and a nice attitude and at a fair price of 50 B (around $1.70.)

61821459_2355264308021195_3930840282177732608_n.jpg

They had a nice little garden area out front to accommodate the smokers (I am not a smoker at the moment but have spent a lot of my life wearing those shoes.) It was a one-woman show in there and they had newspapers to read if you so desire. They also had a bunch of Thai dishes on offer, but I didn't try them because I had just eaten my weight in Tex-Mex.

Although I probably wouldn't go out of my way to visit Coffee Bug, it is located in a touristy part of town and if you happen to be staying there (which is likely if you are visiting here) I can confirm that they do in fact know what they are doing in here.

location including GPS coords


ถนน เจริญประเทศ เทศบาลนครเชียงใหม่ อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50100

index.jpg

Sort:  

This post has managed to make me long for a nice cup of car-poo! The price is very cheap comparing with what I have to pay in Bangkok!!

You are in very good health! 15kms cycling!! Very impressive!
Have a nice week!

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol car-poo... haha, i think that is a more accurate transliteration of the word in thai.... 55555

Haha! I don’t think there is only one correct way! Different people give out different stress on the sounds! It’s quite wild in this department!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like a very nice place indeed and the coffee looks great. Too bad I quit last year.

Looks nice!... although that "Felatte" and "cappuchino" is a bit sinister 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

That is great that you found this place. Even if it isn't somewhere you visit all the time, you at least know it is there if you ever need it. I don't drink much coffee personally. Okay, that is a lie, I don't drink coffee at all. I love the smell. I am more likely to have a nice cup of tea than coffee. It's probably just as well, saves me a bunch of money given the price of coffee over here...

The coffee looks yummy. Looks like a nice small relaxing space for a coffee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01