Press covfefe

in #coffee6 years ago

Since I submitted my thesis I cannot go to uni to get free coffee. The coffee at my uni is actually pretty okay since the machines grind beans. So I never bothered getting a coffee machine.

Non-instant coffee will set you back about 1.50 to 2 euros so buying several cups on a daily basis can get a bit expensive (if you suggest me to buy instant coffee you are dead to me :P ). So I had to buy some of my own coffee equipment. Buying a coffee machine is a bit expensive. Also, I am not sure how long I will still stay in the Netherlands so I might not have much use for it.

The official coffee of the Netherlands is filter coffee. Filter coffee requires you to buy paper filters. So it is not the cheapest and eco-friendliest coffee. Also I am not such a big fan of having the filter steal some of the bitterness. So what's the optimal choice for me? It is press covfefe, I mean press coffee. More specifically, coffee made with a French coffee press, or cafetiere.


IMG_20181003_091107.jpg

A French coffee press requires no paper filter since the press has a metal filter inside. Of course this filter is not as fine as a paper filter so you need to get rough grinded coffee. Disadvantage is that in the Netherlands the rough grind is not popular. So at the supermarket there is not much choise. However, if you go to a coffee-shop (the ones where they sell coffee!) they can grind beans how you need them.


IMG_20181003_090334.jpg

The flavor of pressed coffee is somewhat richer than that of filter coffee since it directly infuses the water. A big plus is also that a French press is pretty cheap. A reasonable size one will probably cost you around 10 euros and a small one around 8.


IMG_20181003_091201.jpg

I know that the Donald said

.... negative press cofveve

But there is absolutely nothing to be negative about :P



Merchandise :D


2018-06-07 (2).png
There is a MathOwl shop which sells my artsy fartsy stuff. If you got some spare money head over there. I have really cheap stuff available like these stickers They are an absolute hoot.

Sort:  

Press coffee is my method of making coffee. It has served me well thus far, no complaints :)

My first choice is american style ☕️😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mathowl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 14.46% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi @mathowl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.303 which ranks you at #7553 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 39 places in the last three days (old rank 7514).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28