Compilation of latte art: The process and the master behind it.

in #coffee6 years ago (edited)
Since I moved to Buenos Aires, I've been so involved in the world of coffee, that I never stop learning new things about it. It goes from the extraction method to the bean roasting, it's such a complicated thing! More than I imaginated! Well, something in particular caught my attention since day one: Latte art. We know as latte art the designs (drawings and shapes) that baristas make on the surface of a drink, mainly coffee, since we currently find it in variations such as mocha, cappuccino, etc.

The meaning of latte art has an interesting origin because it's an etymological game, it'sunderstood that this concept comes from the Italian "latte" meaning milk and "art" that refers to art in English. Why would that be? Surely because the origin of this wonderful technique in coffee is given thanks to two barista pioneers: one Italian, Luigi Lupi and the other American, David Schomer. It's never a bad thing learning a little bit of history of the things that you are interested on.

IMG-0315.jpg

You'll get to know the master behind this. Don't mind the mess, it was supossed to happen.

History lesson begins:


Lupi says that by the year of 1998, when he had improved the technique of latte art, he dedicated himself to producing a series of videos for baristas, which he called "Decorated Capuchins"; It was then when he found David Schomer on the network, owner of Espresso Vivace coffee shop, who also published video competitions with the name "Latte art", but more focused on espresso. In fact, Schomer published his book "Espresso coffee: Professional techniques" in the year of 1996 (two years before he met Lupi), where he reveals the methods to master latte art.

However, far from causing a discussion about who was the true precursor of latte art, Lupi and Schomer contacted each other and exchanged audiovisual material to improve each one's technique. It can be said that both baristas are the fathers of latte art. Although the origin of latte art began with the technique of "free pouring", nowadays we can even find world championships where you can see works on coffee that 20 years ago would never have been thought of, this is thanks to the "Etching method" where they make drawings on the surface of the café, with the help of special instruments for baristas, mainly the barista pencil.

IMG-8098.JPG

This one was a latte with almod milk.

Why am I so interested in this coffee/café experience? Well, since I moved here I've been living with an incredible barista. She's the person who I must blame for the curiosity and thirst of knowledge, also.. I enjoy a good cup of coffee. You might remember her for one of my previous posts, where I got my first paid job as a photographer in a little coffee shop and that one I made introducing the new people in my life, in case you missed them I'm gonna leave the link right here, so you can read those post and get to know María Clara better:

Here's the coffee shop post and Here's the one about my new friends.

Latte art is one of the most striking facets of the barista profession, asking my friend about what does she consider to be the most important steps in this technique, wel.. She gave me quite a speech about it:

1. The texturized milk:

So in order to make a decent latte art design and not a complete disaster they have to get an emulsion of milk (cream). First they have to fill the jug half full with cold milk by placing it completely straight, then theyintroduce the mouthpiece vaporizer of the machine touching the surface of the milk, they must texture or cream the milk without burning it. It's very important!

2. The espresso:

According to María Clara, the coffee you use is very important. "It doesn't matter if your technique is perfect, if the coffee you use is not of good quality", she says. When they finish creaming the milk, they should immediately prepare the espresso.

3. The technique:

Each pattern or drawing is different but there are a few common patterns. Baristas should not let more than 10 seconds pass since they prepare the espresso and until they start adding the milk. The jug of milk will be your brush, start from a considerable height and keep the cup slightly inclined. Wrist movements will help you achieve a more accurate result.

With all that being said, I think it's time to keep showing you the works she has made specially for me, you'll see why I say they were special. This woman has my heart, she definitely knows how to make me happy.

IMG_20180713_165440_790.jpg

Who can resist a mocha with this tulip?

IMG-0345.JPG

A simple latte with two swans.

IMG_20180611_140542.jpg

YES! I got a molar/tooth shape on my coffee! This one is special for dentists.

IMG_20181005_160907375.jpg

I'm so annoying.. I asked for a bunny. She made the tooth and the bunny using the Etching technique,
the other shapes were made using the free pouring method.

I hope you want a good cup of coffee after reading this post. Personally, I admire baristas so much, they get to make art in a cup of coffee in the middle of the rush of serving people. It doesn't matter how bad is your day, as soon as you see a little piece of art in your coffee, you smile.

The master behind this -small- latte art compilation:

f5dfc50d-7b4c-4638-8674-ccfd49ddf208.JPG

With the promise of expanding the compilation of latte art, I say goodbye cordially. If you want to see even more of the work she does, you can follow her on Instagram.


Photos are made by me using my Moto G5 S Plus and my Nikon D40 with a 18-55mm lens.

Sort:  

This is intricate! Good work. Hope you are doing fine.

I've been great lately, such a good mood! Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate it.

This is really awesome... Difficult but Wonderful..

Wow! These are a work of art! I wouldn't want to ruin it by drinking it! haha She is a very talented lady :)

It happens to me a lot haha not wanting to ruin it! Oh yes she is, i'll send her your regards!

UUh i like coffe art a lot, the last one you posted seems very hard to do, i work in a coffee but i do only normal cappuccino with caccao on XD

She draw it using the Etching technique

Excellent! I always wondered how this was done. The tooth!

The tooth was priceless!! I still don't get how they manage to do those precise lines.

Love it! I just started drinking coffee after 59 years not trying. I haven’t had any as artistic as this yet.

That must be a record!

It's fascinating to learn the history behind latte art. There are few things I enjoy more than a well-made latte ... and yes, now I am craving one. 😂😂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vanessapineda7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Latte art of a molar hahaha
That's funny and why not?
I guess getting to know the barista and then the coffee is natural progression :)
Thank you for sharing @vanessapineda7

That's one of the plus of knowing the barista haha! I've ask for worst shapes, trust me.

Very interesting read. I like to know the history behind things. I admire this latte art. Thank you for sharing 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30