#coingecko gave an idea of spending power

in #coingecko5 years ago

As I was browsing around the money changers, I realized the pricing were so much different than my home country Malaysia. The day before, it was 8.50/MYR(my local currency Malaysian Ringgit). My bad that I didn't bring enough cash and I had to resort to finding money changer in the local city. And then, yesterday I got a shock when I saw 6.50/MYR.

image

It is sad to see my hard earn money go to waste due to difference in the exchange market. Not to mention the spending power in Bangkok is very similar to Kuala Lumpur. As I look at the trade board this morning, it is standing at 7.50/MYR. Looking at it, it seemed the value has been recovered. But still, in my mind before I left Kuala Lumpur it was still 8.50 per Ringgit. I couldn't get over myself on the bargaining mentality. As I was sitting at the McCafé giving myself a little treat, took out whatever THB balance and carefully plan for my next few days spending, just before I crack my head trying to figure out where to find THB to use, I started checking how much SBD I have in hand so I can liquidate them for some THB to use.

image

As I'm looking at @coingecko pricing, there's a moment of clarity. I couldn't get over the numbers because I put a value into Fiat currency. With that no loss mentality, I will never get to travel because currency value fluctuates everyday. And by any chance if I am holding on to the 10/MYR like about 10 years ago, I shall never come to Thailand again.

image

Here's what I got when I'm checking on my SBD value. Had I started savings SBD for my Thailand trip, it was 33baht last year and until now it will still be about 32baht. No hard feelings on the "exchange". HODL is another topic, but practicality is what we required at this point of time.

image

With this, I will be continue saving my SBD for my next trip. The lesson on this ordeal is, it doesn't really matter what price it is to exchange, as long we need it, we will have to change it regardless how expansive. We tend to have this lose out mentality, because we are comparing our daily use Fiat currency. With crypto, I can't compare it anywhere anymore. Next time around, SBD to designated currency. This time, I will just going over to the opposite shopping mall, throw my MYR and get whatever amount of THB I can and will not regret about the difference no more.

From Bangkok, Thailand

Bob Davids

Sort:  

帅哥/美女!你好!家中可愛的寵物照想要跟大家分享嗎?或是出去玩拍到一些可愛的動物,別忘了到@dpet分享,可以得到@dpet的獎勵喔!假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

杨村龙虎豹三个算不算。@teamcn-shop 赐酒!

Posted using Partiko Android

@davidke20给您叫了一份外卖!

@honoru 米高哥 迎着暴雨 开着卡车给您送来
新手村SHE给你献唱~ 感恩节快乐!

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~

So, where you at exactly here in Bangkok?

Right now at Central, but I stay in Sukhumvit 11. Can I discord you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure, I just saw your friend request. :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Already joined, but I can't find a Chinese community. Is there anyway we can have a Chinese curator for Chinese content?

Have to agree with you on the whenever we need the money, we will have to sell it no matter how expensive it is... Money earned is meant to be spent... But then still need to get over with the kiasu feel...

Posted using Partiko Android

Seriously, if it's crypto, it become simple. Crypto is crypto, Fiat is Fiat. When we need to liquidate some crypto for Fiat, for whatever the price we have, we will still dump it.

Posted using Partiko Android

So long writing

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can even do this in the comment section. Thank you @musing for the training.

Posted using Partiko Android

interesting take :)
i like the details but maybe you're too concerned!

btw i've always wanted to visit thailand but never have..
i'll hodl for now and maybe later when steem goes to the moon i might.. 😐

Next year I need to go US to visit family there. It's gonna cost a bomb. I can HODL whatever I afford, but still it won't pay for the flight alone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @davidke20!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.827 which ranks you at #4408 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 44 places in the last three days (old rank 4364).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #78.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72