Why Cryptocurrency is Important to Me!

Introduction

Thank you @coingecko for running this writing contest. This is exactly the type of engagement I think is really important for both the Steem blockchain, and businesses. It is seriously win win. If you haven't visited CoinGecko.com, please do, you won't be disappointed.

Why Cryptocurrency is Important to Me!

I dream of a global currency!

I've moved from Australia to the USA... and a year ago I bought a house in the USA.

There were lots of really stressful moments in that transaction, especially because the process was so different to buying a home in Australia, but the one part that I didn't think about would be transferring money from our Australian bank to our US bank.

A home deposit is a huge transaction... and I spent maybe 4 days on the phone with Australia, trying to figure out a way to move the money without flying 15 hours (and a $4k ticket) to pop into a branch to verify my identity.



Source Pexels
Not my actual house... it is the internet after all.

We went through this process a few times in Australia, and I had to physically walk a cashier's/bank cheque from the branch I opened the account (not just any branch) to the branch that I opened the other account... but it was one single transaction that was processed instantly.

In the end, we made it work, with significant transfer fees, and I had to break it up into (I'm not kidding) 5 transactions. They wanted me to do it in 20 transactions, over 20 business days, which means we would have missed out on the sale in the USA.

Can I repeat that so that it sinks in?

20 transactions over 20 business days to move money from one of my bank accounts to another.

That's 4 weeks!

Cryptocurrency can and will be a global currency... I can't wait until I can travel around with my Crypto Card and purchase things anywhere in the world without international fees, without not knowing what my balance is, and without confusion.

It wasn't that long ago that people could only travel with huge wads of cash... my very first trip abroad I hid travellers cheques in the bottom of my luggage and had to walk around touristy areas with a lot of cash strapped to my body.

I'm super mega excited that this should happen within my lifetime!

Monero is one of my favourite currencies, and I'm honestly not sure why it's not way more popular. I think it is just a matter of time. Here's the current up to date price at this very moment of posting.


Source Click on the image to enlarge it.


Thanks !!

This post is a submission to CoinGecko's ”Why Cryptocurrency Is Important To Me” Writing Contest

Sort:  

Great submission for the writing contest @urbangladiator ! I am also super excited about the future of cryptocurrency ! and I totally feel the same way , to able to freely shop etc. with no fees using crypto would be awesome and im really sure I Will see it in my lifetime ( im 55) at least I hope so !! Best of luck to you!! upped and resteemed!📜✒📝👍✌💕

Thanks Karen! I'm only 2 months away from getting my own Crypto.com card, which you can load up with your crypto and then spend it any place that accepts Visa... so it's not so far away!

Wow that sounds great! I guess I should start saving up for one too , it would be easier if I wasn't just laid off , hopefully the price of Steem goes up soon!👍👍👍😊😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @coingecko , much appreciated!👍✌👌

I strongly agree with your opinion that digital credit cards with Criptocureenchy Virtual Currency Assets will be very easy, and provide fast transactions for all users, and #Monero is one of the coints with current stable growth, so it is likely that in the future prices selling from #monero will increase

Thank you for your comment @helmibireuen, I really appreciate it. I honestly think that over the next 5-10 years all the large cap coins will increase fairly dramatically. Cryptocurrency is vastly superior to fiat, it just needs to be accepted by every day merchants, and taxation laws need to be amended, and we're in.

Sending money country to country should be easier, you could get someone back home to take it out and send it by western union but the fees are crazy, You would have to do it with several transfers too or homeland security will think you are a terrorist drug baron.

Ripple was supposed to solve this

Ripple may still solve this... it's still only very sparsely used at the moment. I've got money in a few different banks around the world, and I've got different countries currencies with me... in a global economy, I honestly can't wait to have all my money in one place to manage it easily.

I actually looked into getting my Dad to take the money out for me... but the bank wouldn't let him unless I physically went into the bank with my Dad to verify him... not so easy from across the world.

You could maybe mail him the ATM card. This type of thing should totally be easier!

I 100% agree... that's not a bad idea... except the ATM card withdrawl limits are significantly lower than what we needed... so he too would have had to take out the maximum for a lot of days in a row... so silly.

Why did you moved to the US ? Australia seems a far nicer place.

Hahaha, that's what everyone says.

The truth is, both countries are absolutely massive, and extremely varied... living in Melbourne or Sydney is very different from living in Perth, and also living in LA is so very different from living in New York... so neither place is nicer than the other. Politically they're both frustrating.

We moved for the adventure though... it's important to get out and explore when you can!

I don't think american politics can be compared to any other country really, it's in a league of it's own :)
I hope you have fun in your new home and country :)

Hahahaha, you are really very right! Australia's politics are frustrating in the way that nothing ever gets done... America's politics are frustrating because it's all just so crazy.

Thank you very much, we really are having a great time here.

And why Monero?

You're right... I didn't really go into detail on that. I just wasn't super sure if CryptoGecko had a maximum word limit, and didn't want to distract too much from my main point.

I've really liked Monero since I got into Crypto almost a year ago now. Obviously the anonymous nature of that coin is the immediate appealing quality, but over that time I've really like how the team has been solidly developing their blockchain. Monero could have fallen by the wayside as more coins started introducing anonymous transactions, and they haven't, they've been extremely solid. I feel very confident they'll remain the leader of the anonymous large cap crypto coins.

Great article @urbangladiator. Imma big fan on Monero too. Maybe this response will get another unknowing crypto traders attention.

In my opinion, the only reason people aren’t investing in Monero is because they haven’t looked at the wallet, that’s it! MyMonero.com is the coolest, most effortless, simplest wallet I have and I’m not different than anyone else.. ‘about’ a dozen.

Thanks @dandays! I actually haven't looked into Monero... but I'll need to soon. I've been mining it on Genesis Mining and a payout is probably due any day now. Thanks for this recommendation... I remember looking into Monero wallets ages ago but just couldn't find one I liked.

My pleasure! Let me know if you find something better. Have a great weekend.

Hi @urbangladiator!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.492 which ranks you at #1917 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 655 places in the last three days (old rank 1262).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81