Looking for rare coins, sorting through my spare changesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #coins5 years ago (edited)

My coin jar has nearly filled up, when I have spare change from cash transactions I add it to a jar. And eventually I have a full jar worth a few dollars.

Before taking my coins to coinstar or taking them to the bank. I wanted to see if I had any coins from years were known minting issues occured. This can cause double stamping, lettering to close together and many other interesting defects. These coins can be worth anywhere from a few dollars to hundreds of thousands of dollars.

First I started by writing down years to watch for with quarters, dimes, nickels and pennies. Then I sorted coins by type and then by decade. Once I had it like that it was pretty easy looking for certain year coins.

When I found a year of interest I placed them over to the side for further inspection. Two state quarters I was watching for were Wisconsin and Kansas so those took a little longer with quarters than the rest. Pennies took a long time too due to many years known for defects.

I made this list by watching YouTube videos mentioning coin years known for such issues.

Going through close to a thousand coins, I came up with a few dozen that may be rare. Just upon looking at years I did not find any junk silver. But I did find a Nickel from 1941 which predated the silver Nickles by one year. Interesting but not what I'm looking for.

I also found alot of pre 1982 pennies, from what I understand those are made of copper. And may be worth a little more than a cent these days.

Next up is to put them under a microscope and look up close at the coins. My microscope does video so I plan on making a video on that soon.

I hope in 2019 rare coins can still be found in spare change. Maybe something special awaits me in that bag

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You should be looking for 2019 "W" Quarters 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop oh interesting, I looked those up and they are West Point mints. I'll be on the lookout for them.. thanks much

Posted using Partiko Android

It's the first time the "W" quarters have been released into circulation @solominer

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW, you are so organized!!! I enjoyed reading about your system of sorting your pocket change, @solominer. WIth the numerous coins that I have come across in my daily life, I know that there were treasures that passed me unnoticed because of ignorance of their value.

@silversaver888 thanks alot, it took a little thinking but I think it's a pretty good system. Though I did run out of space and add more columns when the common years went past my table. I'll be posting a video soon of me sorting them for almost two hours compressed down to a few minutes.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is some serious coin scouring effort! I am super impressed. 😃

@dfinney thanks alot, hopefully the effort will reap some rewards.

Wish you find what you are looking for dude.
Who knows how many rare coins pass from our hands every now and then 🤘

Posted using Partiko Android

@knowhow92 thanks alot I'm planning on searching that bag soon to see what I found. So true.. I bet many have.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06