Goddess Selene Necklace

in #coins5 years ago
So, remember that 20 Drachmai Greek coin with the Goddess Selene that I wrote about not long ago? I happened to find an artist online who takes old coins like that (which are no longer being used as legal currency) and turns them into wearable works-of-art. She actually hand-cuts the old coins to remove the blank "field" from around the impressions and makes necklaces from them! Anyone interested can find the available designs in her store on eBay.

SelenePendant.jpg
• PHOTO BY madei.maria on eBay •

That 20 Drachmai coin with Selene on horseback is a favorite in my collection, so I jumped at the chance to get a wearable version of it! The only difference is that the coin in my collection was minted in 1960, back when the 20 Drachmai was struck on a 83.50% silver planchette. However, the pendant on this necklace was made from a 1973 20 Drachmai coin, instead, which was minted from a copper-aluminum-nickel planchette. But still, I think it is beautiful, and even slightly larger (32mm) than the 1960 coin (26mm), even if it isn't silver.

SelenePendant1.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •


"SELENE AND ENDYMION" (detail),
by SEBASTIANO RICCI (1713)
The depicted Goddess is the Greek Selene, who was considered to be the personification of the Moon. There was the "first-wave" of "primordial deities" (such as Thalassa) in the Greek pantheon, the members of which gave birth to the "second-wave" of gods & goddesses which were called "The Titans." Selene was among this second group, the Titans, being born of Hyperion and Theia, along with brother Helios (the Sun) and sister Eos (the Dawn).

SelenePendant2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 NGCcoin.com: Greece 20 Drachmai KM# 111
   2 Wikipedia: Selene

TKG-PinkFooter.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

How cool, I never heard of people doing this.

Sweet, so knowing you, I imagine you have several coins that may qualify to be cut. Do you have any in mind you wanted her to do? Or are you going to have the Drachmai redesigned?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not planning to have any of my coins cut, but I bought this one and am very happy with it!

Can I be jealous?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, so very pretty! I want one! Thanks for the link. Have a beautiful week ahead, my friend @thekittygirl!

What a cool necklace! And the history behind it is neat! Thanks for sharing, Ill have to check out her shop later!

Howdy there thekittygirl! Very impressive indeed, I've heard of people who do this type of work using a tiny blade in a power tool like a miniture jigsaw. But it takes incredible talent and patience, that coin necklace there is a beautiful example!

That's simply beautiful... I can't imagine the detailed work she does ~ the waves at the bottom... the horse's ear, her hand & thumb... Amazing! It would be gorgeous on a black top or sweater/t-shirt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83