Oma´s Vintage Cup & Saucer Collection That She Handed-Down To Me... See Them And Tell Which Set Is Your Favorite???

in #collecting6 years ago

8.jpg

A Bit Of Oma Lissy

The word Oma is the local term for grandmother in german speaking countries like Austria, Germany and Switzerland. Grandma Elisabeth, (the name is with an s) or Oma Lissy as we fondly called her was the granny of my husband....a strong woman who after the WW II took care of her family and earned for them a living selling many goods that she produced. At one time she became the manager of a supermarket at the same time had her own Taxi business. Very clever and full of ideas, she always fascinated me. We have the same vibes and we shared familiar jokes.

vintage cups.JPG

One day, she said to me she would come to my office and pick me up for lunch. And she did!!! Alone at the age of 92, she took the tram from her apartment and went off at the stop where I waited for her some 10 minutes before. At that time, l was working at Delta Airlines and my office was just a few steps away from the Stop. So I brought her up and introduced her to some of my officemates. They were surprised that she looked so robust at her age. After the small talk, we went down for lunch in a restaurant nearby...I saw on her face that she was so joyous about the whole thing, as if she was young again going out into the city on her own. We had a nice lunch talking about the family and friends ...then she went back home taking the same tram and thanked me for a wonderful lunch date. Then she called me and said she returned home safely.

1.jpg

Oma´s Vintage Cups And Saucers

Even to this very date, it´s still so vivid to me how she sorted out her vintage cup and saucer collection from the glass cupboard. She had set the table for the afternoon coffee where she also served cake that she baked. She had showcased these vintage porcelain in a glass cupboard for decades and used them only on special occasions such as on Christmas day.

2.jpg

Hutschenreuther

The Porcelain manufacturing company was founded by Carl Magnus Hutschenreuther in 1814 in Hohenberg an der Eger in Bavaria (Germany). After his death in 1845, his wife Johanna and her two sons took over the company.. The company expanded til 1969 and produced so many cup and saucer + plate collectibles including the ones I am featuring here.

The magical zing sound echoed all over the room, each piece is very thin and must have been produced with much care. You can really tell from the sound that each cup or saucer is so delicate you would not want to touch it nor drink coffee from it. And so coffee and cake were served and everyone enjoyed his own portion using the vintage sets .

3.jpg

When Oma Lissy passed away, my mom in law got them and when it was her turn to go, she gave them to me. A real legacy that I will be keeping safe in a glass cupboard the way Oma wanted it to be.

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

9.jpg

12.jpg

11.jpg

We are blessed to have various coffee and teapot sets at home for everyday use or for special occasion....and so I will have these pieces placed in a glass cupboard. Yes, only in a glass cupboard and I am sure Oma is happy watching me taking care of her treasures.

IMG_9096.JPG

Have a good Thursday everyone!

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for providing the GIF

Sort:  

Wow amazing collection, they are all so pretty... I love them all but what attracted me is the first image, the dark blue set as well as the one with the rose flower... thanks for sharing.

Oh I have an idea... maybe I can use one of your sets for my art, I´ll let you know which one. Thanks.

your oma's collection looks so grand, especially the first one, i love it all but my fave is that white/royal blue and gold combi.

Nice collection! I think antique one. I loved them all. Perfect design. Keep it coz i think it is memorabilla. Thanks for sharing.

They really look so delicate...and amazingly beautiful!

Ahay... Puso ko ay nawiwindang pagdating sa ganyang mga bagay. what a legacy you have there @Inday Mers! And speaking of antiques, meron nyan ang lola ko, yon bang parang orange na pearl-like ang kinang nya at nabasag ko ang kapares na pitsel. Di ko naman alam na vintage na yon no.

Thanks for sharing ! Puro sila magaganda talaga.

Elegant colection mam @mers , actually i love all your oma's collections but my fave color is blue,that' s why i am attracted witb the top photo and the set with color blue and gold.❤

You have a very special collections in your hand. I liked all of them. Very elegant.

all sets are superb but 2nd last tea set is awesome.i like green color,this set is unique style.

Nice collection.
Perfect decoration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83