Color Challenge :: Sunday Violet :: Spiderwort and Death

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

So after having arrived in Wisconsin last Sunday, my yard is a whirlpool of death and life. Abandoned since last August (when I leave Wisconsin for Florida) and covered under snow and absurd cold during our seasonal visit in December, coming back in June like we just did allows us a chance to see what survived...and what did not.


Our spiderwort survived. And their purpley goodness abounds. While nothing like @bex-dk's excellent iris photo today, mine is nonetheless violet, and counts towards the color challenge.




Dainty little flowers, violet and simple, but the color pops amidst all the greenery of the rest of the plant.


 

Death, you say?




Death comes for us all. Including this squirrel, whom I discovered near our purple spiderwort. I'm not sure how he got to his final position, but he's been there a week or two. I'm not sure what to do with him, so I might just mow around him for the next couple weeks until he's merged back into the earth. Circle of life and all that. Just have to avoid stepping on him until then...




 

Photos by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://negativerealm.com/color-challenge-sunday-violet-iris-and-death/

Sort:  

Could be worse things to come home to. For instance, say, a broken water pipe or some such thing ;). Hoping to help Mom on her landscaping when we come up. It can be overwhelming when the yard is overrun by dead plants and living weeds.

Indeed. One broken water pipe is one too many. We already had to deal with a broken water heater this past week. 7 days without showers is...a lot.

When are you guys coming up?

Yikes! That really stinks.... literally. Been there though. Do you have it all fixed?. We are planning our visit around our family gathering. Not sure when that is.

Re deceased squirrel: I might be inclined to dig up a squirrel-sized clump of sod next to the rodent, dig out some of the soil beneath, and use a couple of twigs to push him in. Then cover with the the clump of sod/grass. I had a dead cat in my backyard that some predator appeared to make quick work of, but had left body parts behind, most notably the ears - they had to go. I figure that if ears are the undesirable portion of the hunted, they could remain for who knows how long; same with bones. For me, it was worth the effort to make the remains disappear.

Maybe...I'll just put a large flower pot over it and forget about it until next year :)

We find animals in such a condition in our yard from time to time due to our cat “Angel,” AKA “she who cannot be contained and therefore is personally responsible for maintaining the rodent population.” I deal with them the same way I deal with messy things at the dog park — with a plastic bag inverted over my hand. Once the Messy Thing is thus secured in your hand, the last step is to turn the bag right side out again and tie it up. Another tip: it helps to breathe through your mouth during this process!

I'm not sure I want to touch a squirrel with just a plastic bag between me and dead flesh. I'm okay with just...letting nature take its course.

I may need to just not use my backyard the rest of the summer.

So, you do an annual flip-flop between dwellings?

Why August?

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ah, the wife teaches music/voice down in South Florida during the normal school year (Aug through May), so in the 'off season' we escape the heat and madness to Wisconsin for the summer.

Sounds like a great migratory pattern... :D

Gorgeous shots ... especially the first one. Love the contrast between light and shadow ... that sounds cliche ... lol ... but I really mean it.

I felt the same way. Two flowers, one upturned to the light, one kind of emo and dark.

:)

If you have a shovel, you can dig a little hole for the dead thing, and then simply scoop it up with the shovel and deposit it in the hole. :-)
Also, you could build a fire around and over it and have a funeral pyre...

._.

I have enough shovels to bury my entire house, and enough shovels left over to dig my own grave. That said, I'm always leery about touching dead things with shovels. You don't...really...know...how it will react. Will it burst forth with maggots? Or puff out with gas and deflate? Or kind of tear apart like the world's worst souffle?

These are the reasons...why I will let it sit.

Let the squirel nurture the land back. If the temperature rises I will not take that long ;)

Nice man having two places!

You're right! Just a bit of a ripe smell for a while, but the poor squirrel will be gone in no time,

bury it, a small wake too, distribute some nuts around.

Do you ... want to come and perform a little funeral for it?

hahaah, actually it may be the same squirrel in ice age. hehehe

I love too beautiful, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82