Colourchallenge Tuesday Orange - Oriole

in #colourchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Oriole.jpg

Another Oriole at the jelly! I have a small amount of Grape Jelly in a glass bowl, hanging. Seems the Orioles LOVE it.
Although, he's not a fan of the paparazzi! The guy was perfect for The Color Challenge - Tuesday Orange - Photo Challenge started by @kalemandra. #colorchallenge #photocontests

More of my ColourChallenge Series

Monday Red
Tuesday Orange
Wednesday Yellow
Thursday Green
Friday BlueSky
Saturday Indigo
Sunday Purple

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d7000, 300mm, f5.6, 1/160th

Sort:  

You must be from the east, we get Bullock's Orioles in the west. Your Baltimore Oriole, and our Bullock's Oriole were considered two species, then lumped together as Northern Oriole, but again now are considered two separate species. We listers obviously prefer them as separate species.

Oriole_6722.JPG
Bullock's Oriole, note the lack of the black hood and the wider white wing bar. To me they just look plenty different to be separate species despite the hybrid overlap zone.

About as east as they get.

Cape Cod, in Massachusetts.

I figured. Good place to bird. I grew up in New England and am going to Mt. Washington in the AM tomorrow to try for Bicknell's Thrush, a lifer for me if I get it.

I'm always amazed at how you get these awesome shots. It's such a beautiful bird too.

I'm amazed at how you can get such amazing emotion from written words!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Nice shot! I used to also put out oranges for them. They are so beautiful.

I have too!
An orange half.

Do those birds specifically eat oranges? Can I give pigeons oranges?

Orioles eat Oranges. Pigeons don't

Picky pigeons. Damn them.

The Orioles AND the Cat birds! I go through a large jar of jelly every week! Great shot!

Thanks!
I know what you mean about the jelly.
Do you ever cut orange halves for them?

I do, but they don't pay much attention to the oranges! It's all about the jelly.

What a pretty little thing! Love those colors, and the fact that they like grape jelly!

Me? Pretty little thing?

Why... thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34