Colourful Beer Kegs


Bands on Barrels


You may remember my earlier post about a meal in The Old Smithy Inn during my recent trip to Devon. Well, after the meal I stepped outside to take some pictures and took this one of a load of, presumably empty, beer kegs in a lane at the side of the pub.

When I went to upload the photograph I found myself wondering about the significance of the coloured bands. I guessed they were to do with what brewery the beer comes from but I also discovered they help with security too.

Apparently hundreds of thousands of kegs go missing in the pub trade each year and the loss and misuse of them and casks costs the beer industry in excess of £50m.

I'm not surprised they go missing. We could quite easily have walked off with a couple. 😂

2jmmwqr8o7.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!


More Interesting Beer Keg Facts:

At any given time, there are up to 8 million kegs in use in the UK, supplying draught beer on a scale that is unique to Britain.

Using kegs and casks avoids the use of around 7.5 billion bottles or cans every year. 😱

Cask Colour Banding is a voluntary system created by The British Beer and Pub Association (BBPA) & Society of Independent Brewers (SIBA) on behalf of UK brewers.

They maintain a registry and offer advice on how to keep kegs and casks secure.

According to their website it is vitally important that brewers are able to rely on the availability of sufficient kegs and casks in order to ensure the supply of draught beer. Something that is very important to a large number of Brits including myself. 😁

~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.

Sort:  

I love the look of those kegs @gillianpearce; ours in Canada a simply grey...and boring :)

It turned out to be an interesting post @lynncoyle1. I didn't realise the colours were so significant until I did the research. 😊

Yes, it's something I'd never heard about before @gillianpearce.

I can see why they would get stolen. They are kind of interesting looking and I've seen people turn them into table supports. One guy actually welded a bunch of them together and made a pontoon boat out of them...

Yeah. I've seen them strapped together and used as a raft in our local Paddle Round The Pier event but I never thought about where they'd come from @fotosdenada.

It's interesting what you find out when doing a bit of research for Steemit. 😊

Hello, valuable information for the brewers ... I liked the color of the barrels that attract attention. I vote for you Very humbly I invite you to visit my profile, I would love to give me your support. Thank you.

Thank you for visiting @mlaura. I'm glad you found the information valuable. 😊

I had no idea, Gillian! They are beautiful, and furthermore, ecological! Nice catch!

Yeah. I didn't know they were ecological until I did the research @nolasco. It was a surprise to me but made the whole process a lot more interesting. 😊

Indeed, and I was glad to be informed, too! Wonderful to know!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-09T22:30:57
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2691.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 347
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 3.05 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post was very nice,informative thank you for you hardwork, keep up the good work,
God bless you

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87