How Do You Know (film): How did this cost $100 million?

in #comedy5 years ago

How Do You Know (there is no question mark in the title by the way) was a decent romantic comedy that was released in 2010. The film wasn't bad, it actually had a pretty decent although highly predictable plot and list of characters. It was pretty much the same thing as any other Hollywood RomCom.


source

Seeing as how all the elements of this film are basically the same as all other romantic comedies (which I will admit I tend to enjoy from time-to-time) the only thing that is really shocking about this film is that they managed to spend Marvel Epic film money on making it. There is no CGI in this film at all. The locations, outside of a few scenes at professional baseball stadiums, aren't really anything that you can point your finger at and say "ooooh, i bet that cost a lot"


source
really expensive sets like the interior of an elevator

Obviously, with a cast of Witherspoon, Wilson, and Nicholson, there are going to be some large salaries but I never expected that the total cost of just these 3 and the director, came to nearly $50 million on their own. Since Rom-Coms rarely generate massive box-office totals akin to Marvel films, who are the jackasses in charge that greenlighted this?


source
another really expensive shoot in someone's apartment

I think it kind of goes without saying, but this movie did not even come close to making its money back. When I look at the financials, I can't help but wondering whether or not it was always intended to fail because of some sort of money laundering something or other.

This movie is mildly entertaining but I can't really recommend that anyone run out and look for it because by simply watching the trailer I am quite certain that almost everyone can correctly predict the story there. It's a romcom, they all, for the most part, have the same formula.

I'm not writing about this in order to convince or discourage anyone from watching this - I just randomly ran across it while investigating "most expensive flops in film history" and couldn't believe this film was on it. There is a reason why Adam Sandler is so sought after to make stupid romantic comedies... his films always make money... This one, has a 3/10 rating on review sites (thereabouts) and lost $70 million. Ouch.

skip-it.jpg

Sort:  

I have seem my fair share of Rom/Com's in my day, but I think this is one that I must have missed. Sounds like I am better off for it! I think one of my favorites of all time is French Kiss with Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline. That is just a really great movie.

well this one is decent but nothing spectacular. The main reason to watch it is to try to spot how in the hell they dropped 100 million dollars on it. It doesn't make sense!

I've gotta believe you were on the right track given the cast involved. Around the same time Reese was in a Rom/Com called "Just Like Heaven" that was pretty fantastic. If only for the Flogging Molly song featured in it. But I digress.... A large portion of this had to go to the salaries.

I agree with you. The film is not very! You can sleep! I was waiting for some kind of events, but there everything is pulling and pulling ... several times I wanted to get up and leave, but the upbringing did not allow. There was no passions, no plot, no emotions in this film!

Heya once again @gooddream .... Almost everyone loves go see movies but some of them love to see the back scene and unknown stories of the films and I'm one of them.... Thanks for sharing dear =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75