Mo Gilligan - Momentum (stand-up comedy) - is this not funny because I'm not British?

in #comedy5 years ago

As an American, i have substantially more exposure to British culture than the average person that lives in U.S and A. I have lived more of my adult life overseas than not and a great many of the other expats I encounter are from the U.K.. I have even adapted some of their words and I get picked on for this when i return to the States.

However, Mo Gilligan's latest stand-up special has me believing one of two things:

  1. I don't really understand British culture as well as I thought I did
    or
  2. Mo Gilligan isn't actually very funny

AAAABVMzAEX0YI6Kokl28VGLRgDiBHbS5tLK9ahwbKI86tQ3cfzS5d0SC1YloGfuBqXL8H5VX87XggjYuqOwEguQYhWFpjKLB7Dq2QqNi3avvMVmHDodFMrVNMsGpa49nQ.jpg
source

He talks about social issues, as comedians tend to and he also talks about his rather near-poverty upbringing. I came to find out that he is the product of YouTube fame as his self-produced videos gathered the attention of some high-level celebrities and he began to be recognized on the street as a minor-celebrity. He was working in retail at the time.

MoGilligan.jpg
source

His comedy involves zero props or multimedia. It is just him and a microphone and I think that is best. One thing I don't like is that he does a lot of impersonations of the people he is talking about, and this results mostly in him doing a bunch of screaming into the mic. At one point I turned the volume down on my TV because of this.

He relies a lot on interaction with the audience but it seems almost pre-planned rather than ad-libbed. He points at people in the crowd and this all seems very fake to me because he has really bright lights shining on him at all times. I have been on stages like this... i don't think he can even see the crowd. Whatever, it's a moot point.

AAAABcYARBraAtMo0w43EUpMgmfrqA0Fq2lboax7OAiLe3aX_1OcDY73Qc9BEtRDwS8fR9caYEl-5_iyyuM2kCkFe5p1IPbYlY5097wYAmX3a9JIiCT1ytaJwcXIAA5n.jpg
source

He talks about how people dance in the club for like 10 minutes straight and I have to imagine that I don't find this funny because I, and most people around my age, can't really relate to this at all. I haven't been to a dance club in 20 years (haha.)

He does have a band on stage with him and it is included in his routine, which is a nice change of pace, but it wasn't particularly amusing to me... Crowd loved it though and I suppose that is the point.

There is a section that he goes on the defensive about how the media are attacking Dave Chappelle and while I didn't exactly find any of this terribly humorous, i do agree with him about that.

Mostly, I can't really recommend this special to anyone because the idea is that it is supposed to make you laugh... right? I didn't laugh at all during the entire hour. If you are under 30 years of age you might be more capable of relating to the bits.

Overall Rating: Not So Good


If you are interested here is a list of the specials I have watched that are currently available on Netflix (for my region anyway.)


Stuff I rate as "Excellent"


Dave Chappelle: Sticks and Stones
Ricky Gervais- Humanity
Adam Sandler: 100% Fresh
Joe Rogan: Strange Times
Dave Chappelle: Equanimity, The Age of Spin, and Deep in the Heart of Texas

The "Really Good" stuff I have seen includes


Nate Bargatze: The Tennessee Kid
Kevin Hart: Irresponsible
Bill Burr: Paper Tiger

The "Decent" stuff I have seen includes


Zach Galifianakis live at the purple onion
Ellen Degeneres: Relatable
Ken Jeong: You Complete me, Ho
Tom Segura: Disgraceful

And the really not so good to awful stand up is


Amy Schumer: Growing
Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (quite possibly the most unfunny thing I have ever seen)
Donald Glover: Weirdo
Hannibal Buress: Comedy Camisado
Simon Amstell: Set Free
Bert Kreischer - Secret Time
Mo Gilligan: Momentum

Sort:  

That's cool. I like it too much.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I can relate with what you are saying as some "comedians" try too hard and it doesn't work. There are a few i would go and watch and my must list would include Rhod Gilbert and Jimmy Carr. His shocking show is awesome and is worth the time to watch. Rhod Gilbert has a Welsh accent which makes it sound better.

I have never heard of this guy. Doesn't sound like I am missing much though. That would make sense that the younger generation actually finds him funny. It would appear that pretty much all they do is sit around and watch Youtube. I have never really understood that. I use Youtube when I am trying to fix something or learn about something, but I never just sit and watch it for hours on end as entertainment.

I'm with you on that. I wouldn't even know where to begin to try to find hours of 5 mins at a time entertainment. If this is what is 'cool' now...I'm happy to be out of the loop and/or old.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't heard of him but that really doesn't mean much. I will watch him. I love comedians really any stand up is awesome. They actually have a radio station here that is all stand up. Dave hates it but i love it...

Does that station have an online station? Sounds like something I'd like

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11