The Car Horn and the Gentle Art of Shaming

in #comedy6 years ago

I hate honking my car horn. Yes, of course there are appropriate times to use it.

Examples:
... beep... “The light is green.”
... beep... “Hey, I’m here.”
... BEEEEEEPPP... “Watch out behind you. There’s a werewolf!”

But for all of it, most people honk their horns as the verbal equivalent to

”FUCK YOU, YOU PIECE OF SHIT FUCKING FUCK.” —

— which suffice to say is a version of

“I’m so POWERLESS to affect real change to this situation, I’m goin to throw off all responsibility to human decency and throw a tantrum.”

These were the only two ways I saw honking…

Until one day, I was driving in morning rush hour, in the center lane, stuck behind some jerk who decided she was going to make a left turn despite being in the wrong lane. And traffic behind me was quickly stacking up.

I wasn’t angry. I just planned to wait the minute for her to get her way, when I realized something:

It is my responsibility as a good driver to honk.

I need to shame her.

As we all know, shame is the social threat of ostracization. It’s the tool we use to say, “Yo, if you continue behaving this way, you will cease to have access to the benefits of the collective.”

She was behaving poorly, and it was my responsibility to shame her... otherwise she might think this behavior was acceptable. She would continue to drive like an asshole in the future and cause more traffic over the course of her life. The seconds she stole from her fellow drivers would snowball into minutes... into hours... then days... then years.

Just so she could turn LEFT?! Not on my watch.

So I leaned into the horn, until she finally straighten out and drove correctly.

I’m not saying I’m a hero or anything but sometimes it’s important that you call out jerkish behavior… even if it makes you look like one.

Sort:  

i cant stop

I don't frequently use my horn, but when I do, it is with gusto for an extended period of time. Or until the person that wronged me is no longer in front of me. For real though, I typically only use it if someone cuts me off. If it is a egregious cut off then I just lay on it straight for the next thousand feet or so I am behind them. Thankfully I haven't been shot (yet).

Haha, honking is such a prominent and popular way of venting frustration in India. People get a lot of shit at work and then vent it out on the streets. They honk for no reason, watch this -

I think a new driver can make mistakes. Its ok to let it be sometimes. Once they have the license to drive, they have the license to be a jerk.

... BEEEEEEPPP... “Watch out behind you. There’s a werewolf!”
Yes, this happens all the time hahaha.
It is my responsibility as a good driver to honk. I need to shame her. As we all know, shame is the social threat of ostracization. It’s the tool we use to say, “Yo, if you continue behaving this way, you will cease to have access to the benefits of the collective.” She was behaving poorly, and it was my responsibility to shame her... otherwise she might think this behavior was acceptable.

I think you did the right thing, we are part of a society, a community, and we have the duty to maintain it

My favorite time for honking is when you're driving on small town roads and car coming the opposite direction thinks it's a good idea to come into my lane to pass someone blocking their side of the road when I'm right there. I usually top it off with some choice swear words and the finger if they have their window down. Always reminds me of the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes" when she hits the driver in the parking lotScreenshot_20180607-120029~2.png

which suffice to say is a version of
“I’m so POWERLESS to affect real change to this situation, I’m goin to throw off all responsibility to human decency and throw a tantrum.”

Absolutely great description! And yes, I confess... I've used the honk of shame too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86