Comedy Open Mic Round #31 - I lifted the Champions League trophy today!

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

Comedy Open Mic #31

This is my entry into comedyopenmic #31. I was nominated by @improv last week through his Punday Monday contest that I take part in every week - go check it out; the pun master @improv is generous with his upvotes and gives out SBI prizes each week and it's a great way to get to know some new Steemians.

Now I actually missed the deadline for comedyopenmic #30, so hopefully it's ok to enter #31.. Here is the link for #31.


Today I lifted the most coveted trophy in club football ⚽🏆

Yes, today I got to lift the Champions League trophy at a coffee shop at a local shopping centre in Dublin!

This is the closest an Arsenal fan will get to old big ears for quite some time I'm afraid. Yes, I'm a realist!

IMG-20180916-WA0004.jpg

Ok, so that's not 100% true, but is this the biggest cup you've ever seen or what!?

So, we were out shopping this afternoon and as per usual, we took a break for coffee and treats for the boys. My wife got a table and we settled the 3 boys at the table and then I headed up to order the 2 cappacinos and treats.

"Small, medium or large" came the question from Mr McCoffee dude... What's the difference between medium and large I enquired. So he pointed up to a shelf up high with the different sized cups... I spotted the small and medium, which I thought was the medium and large, so I opted for 2 large cappacinos. I had failed to spot the humongous large vase type effort of a cup languishing behind the small and medium ones and to be honest even the small and medium were big in hindsight. I noticed them on other people's tables as I brought forth the biggest cups ever forged by mankind to our table. I'm still not sure how the table took the weight.

So rewind a little. I shit you not, I see the girl preparing two fish bowl-sized cups of coffee, and I think to myself, what thirsty fecker just ordered those monstrosities? It then slowly dawned on me that it was me! I had ordered the cups so big that they require not one, but two handles!

I said something along the lines of "Holy shit balls, I didn't realise they were so big" and I can hear the sniggers from the other customers queueing behind me. I turned around and smiled at them shaking my head.

Here is my receipt

Screenshot_2018-09-16-22-56-19.png

So, I can only imagine Massimo means Gi-feckin-gantic or something to that effect.

Now you'd think that my wife and I would struggle to finish 6 litres of cappacino each, but after much chatting, lots of laughing and plenty of face cleaning of little chocolate covered munchkins, we looked down in amazement, we had polished the lot. It's going to be great fun trying to nod off tonight.

It gets better, we have a 2 week old new arrival who needs to be fed every 3 hours, so sleep is like hens teeth.. Very very rare!! So, our coffee filled bodies probably won't be able to sleep for those 1 or 2 hours between feeds tonight. Oh the injustice of it all...

shakes fist

The real cup was actually at my office this week!

Ok, this time I am 100% serious! I work for Virgin Media Ireland and last week they had the Champions League and Europa League trophies in our work office and you could get a photo with them. Virgin Sport secured the rights for Champions league and Europa league matches, so the cups were brought to Ireland for a photoshoot and staff were treated to a sneak peak.

Screenshot_2018-09-16-19-53-19.png

Screenshot_2018-09-16-19-53-25.png

That's my friend from work with one cup on either side of him... What a time for a soccer fanatic to have 3 weeks paternity leave!!

Such is life, and who knows, maybe my 2 week old son will captain Arsenal to a Champions league triumph when he grows up and I will really get to lift old big ears!

Nominations

I nominate @deirdyweirdy and @paul.atreides. Both are hilarious wordsmiths!

Thanks as always for taking the time to read my musings :o)

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

Hi ablaze,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I love it! And just so he sees his tag, it's actually @paul.atreides (you forgot the s)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah yes, of course! Fixed... cheers man

Oh, very nice. That reminds me of this scene.

Congratulations @ablaze! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wonder if they rver fell asleep

Nope! I'd have gotten more sleep in a wind tunnel.. I will be like a bag of cats today 💼😾😿🙀

😂😂 well, you could drink more coffee to stay awake. lol

This is a regular size for me... and yes.. that is the effectivity of it on me...

Ha ha ha, brilliant!! This is exactly what it looked like in my head!! The photo my wife took doesn't even do it justice! It was literally the size of my head!

very funny post and story :D

I hope you got to sleep a bit!!!

Thanks a million @snook... I'd love to say I slept like a baby, but afraid not, 2 hours broken was all I managed... The bags under my eyes are getting bigger by the day! :o)

I'm an arsenal fan (covers face)

Let's hope we lift something better than the mug in your hands

I'm talking about Europa

Ah man, it's been a tough road in the later Wenger years.. He was a legend, but should have gone 2 or 3 years ago... The club stagnated under him... Great to see us back to winning ways now, after a shaky start... 4 in a row now... winning is a habit, so lets keep this run going... Watford next will be a good test.. and yes Europa League is possible for sure...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87