Happy Daylight Savings Time: Comedy Open Mic #37

in #comedyopenmic5 years ago

It is that astrological moment of the year when ancient Governmental dictates align with Uranus.

If only there were some kind of tool, something I wouldn't have to exert myself to access, something that would connect me to all of the known (and much of it made up) information on the Earth in seconds, then I could research other parts of the world to find if they too practiced Daylight Savings Time. Perhaps our children's children will experience this tool.

For now, however, I am forced to assume that Daylight Savings Time is unique to the United States and other conquered nations.

So, for those of you who aren't familiar, tonight I will either manually turn my clock back one hour, or, on my I-Phone, God (Uranus?) will do it for me. This saves energy.

Does anyone know why?

51RbBtrP7oL._AC_SY400_.jpg
Salvador Dali's melting clock is still not as f-cked as Daylight Savings Time.

Here in the rural townships of central Minnesota, when we are not committing hate crimes on ourselves or one another, my Native American friends, my Amish/Mennonite friends, my Mexican immigrant friends, my Somali immigrant friends, my hick friends, and those guys who come up from the Minneapolis/St. Paul suburbs to hunt deer one weekend a year, agree that Daylight Savings Time is f-cked. It is the one thing that brings us together.

So, do you see? Daylight Savings Time isn't about energy in the practical sense. It is about connecting hopelessly diverse peoples in a common confounded dislike for meaningless bureaucratic gestures.

And that is the best we can hope for.


Instead of nominations for #comedyopenmic, I'd like to let my boss know that I will be one hour early to work tomorrow, but will redeem myself by showing up an hour late sometime in the Spring.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Hi acolucky,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

my dear Vanggy .......technology will never catchup to your dellusional dreams of unifying global information for you to have great water cooler conversation and maybe impress your boss about anecdotal facts about distant exotic country that make day light savings happen to the camels and koalas don't get confused

I just want hours and hours of cat videos.

hahahaha... we used to have that in Ecuador for a while when I was a kid.. it sucked.. i remember going to school and still the sky being pitch dark.. hahaha...precious memories

It's like a time machine.

Lol we don't do daylight saving in Nigeria but we're aware you guys do, all our favorite TV shows get moved up by an hour. Fucking annoying thing but hey, at least it unifies people.

Television schedules in Nigeria is a factor I had not considered before. The rot of Daylight Savings Time runs deep.

Very frustrating

I hope you have a great 25 hour day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85