Guess the Price of Stupid Crap Round 6.... let you buy me a drink. (36)

in #comedyopenmic5 years ago (edited)

I'm going to buy 2 SBI for the person who gets closest to the actual price of each of these: to be announced in next week's round.
How long will this contest run?
As long as I can keep it dumb, of course.

Everything here is 100% certified flea market useless crap!

but everything has a price, am'right?

SO WHAT WOULD YOU PAY FOR SOME OF THIS?

.....ITEM NUMBER 1.....

A CLOCK FOR ALCOHOLICS

IMG_20180923_105827.jpg

Did you know that my state has a drinking problem?
Because it doesn't. I don't know what would give you that idea.
This is the perfect gift for someone to subtly say, "I think you have a problem, but I don't care enough to help you figure it out. Good luck buddy."
It would also hang beautifully at work, preferably right above the employee punch clock.

.....ITEM NUMBER 2.....

THE MOST CONFUSING ROAD SIGN

IMG_20180923_105345.jpg

Go either left or right? How should I know, I'm a sign.
Appears to have sustained some damage, possibly from someone on the way home from their 11 A.M. happy hour.
For a great Youtube video, hang this sign up at a 4 way roundabout.
For episode two, turn it sideways and hang it in front of a bridge.
(Not legal advice)
Did you know that there are a special breed of people who steal road signs?
The vigilante who freed this treasure might have been doing the world a favor, however.

Put your guesses for the prices of item number 1 and item number 2 in the comments!

These are the prices for last week’s items:

IMG_20180930_141801.jpg

IMG_20180930_140803.jpg

@hockney managed to be closest to Marilyn's price, with his guess of 28.95 despite

being from the UK I have to convert to Steem and then back out to USD, allowing for Brexit, the clocks changing next weekend and the fact that I whizzed away all my money on a game on kickstarter

(That and having to figure out a price for a controversial cardboard American actress from last century).

@guiltyparties was closest to the price of an empty butter box with his guess of $8.00.
Did I say close? I meant exactly right.
Who would have thought that the price of a life sized Marilyn Monroe and an empty butter box would be only $2.00 apart?

Untitled.png

Here are some other contests being run by excellent Steemians

@veryspider is running Team of Two contest, where you find an artist/writer to collaborate with on an entry.
@dollarsandsense runs "definitely not a cards against humanity" contest to fill in prompts with random Wikipedia articles
@corpsvalues is running Cartoon-off/Caption this to either draw an original cartoon or caption one.
Did I miss yours? Mention this one, and the favor will be returned?

I’d like to nominate @guiltyparties to let us know what he is guilty of.
I'd like to also nominate @hockney to make me LOL again at what seemed like a racist joke directed at the British. But that wouldn't make sense. How could that be a thing? Nevertheless this dumb American chuckled pretty hard.

Sort:  

Hi corpsvalues,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

5 bucks on the alcoholics clock. I need it

$15 for clock
$15 for sign

Item 1 - $8.94
Item 2 - $4.98

$10 for the clock and $13 for the sign. Of course, I've been drinking since 5 so...

Depending upon which 5 on the drinking clock you are referring to, that could be enviable or admirable.

I knew it. The shittier the item the more overpriced it is.

And the answer to your nomination is everything.

Clock: $10
Roadsign: $8

Why mess with a good thing? $8 ftw

Sheesh, Marilyn is cheap these days!
I STILL don't get why anyone would want the butter box. Unless...
@Corpsvalues, are you living near a film or tv production studio? Where these things would be picked up for historical accuracy?
That would impact the relative pricing of crap....
(now thinking this is a game of deduction)

  1. $6.99
  2. $12.45

Haha. If figuring out which room of the house was most appropriate for a life sized piece of early 20th century cardboard cheesecake was easy, I would have bought her myself.
If it helps with your ongoing guesses, no I don't live in Hollywood: I live in the middle of farm belt Midwest USA, and I found Marilyn inside of an actual barn.
Your guess is as good as mine why anyone would have a need for a historically accurate butterbox. BUT you have a point that it could be useful for staging historically accurate shots at a film studio. Now I'm going to be eyeballing everyone at the flea market trying to determine whether they are film studio employees or just crazy.

Cock Clock = $16
Sign = $20

Lezz gooooOOOOOO

  • Item one $9.99
  • Item two $17.99

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06