This is why you hold or hodl.

in #comic5 years ago

Way back in 1995 when the internet was still a puppy I got caught up collecting war comics. I used to enjoy reading them and got hooked on them from my dad and big brother.

I used to search the second hand book shops and clear them out of whatever stock they had. I searched e bay for bargain deals and one could then as it was a proper auction and not the rubbish it is today. There were no established shops then and everything was an auction with no buy now price or having a reserve price.

Over the few years I got stuck in I accumulated over 7000 war comics. I can recall someone selling their collection at Sothebys and had numbers 1-100 of the Commando Comics which went for over $150 000. That was 24 years ago and I have no idea what my collection is worth today. The Commando Comic series dates back from issue number 1 in 1961 which is 58 years ago. I have a good chunk of my collection in Commando comics and thought I would have a quick look today what they are selling for. In the first 100 issues I think I have around 60 or 61 and they are in ok condition and not mint.

I popped onto a valuation site today and was a little shocked at the prices they are now fetching as some of them have kind of mooned. If you have any between one and 10 they are so rare condition is not a huge issue and one came up a few years ago and sold for over 200 pounds (reasonable condition).

It looks like anything in the 1-500 range and not a reprint but genuine which I only have. It looks like they go between 18 and 50 pounds each and need to go and check how many I have. I don't have number 1 but have 2,5,6,8 and 9 in the first 10 ever printed.

If I look at Battle Picture library and War Picture library then I also have a large quantity and most of them are in shillings. This comic started back in 1954 and 1958.I have a few 1954 comics in y collection including the number 1 which if in mint is values at over 33 000 pounds. Mine isn't mint but still must be worth over 1000 Pounds today.

I knew they were worth hanging onto,but never this good. I wont even have a guesstimate because it could be worth anywhere between 50 000 and 100 000 Pounds today. I am going to fish them out this weekend now I have a better idea. This is what you call holding or hoarding and it looks as though it has paid off.

Image source comicpriceguide.co.uk

Sort:  

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

  • you have 168 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 392532562861 or 0.240 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.048 $


    Did you know Steem Basic Income has a Quality Policy?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I've read Commando comics as a kid. They were translated, of course, and not called Commando. I learned only last May that what I read as a kid and Commando were one and the same series.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice. Great to have a collection like that sitting in the back and giving you some freedom to operate. Hopefully STEEM will be like that in a little less than 24 years.

You will be Mr money man!!!!

Maybe. I just don't know the value of what I am holding. One of those where you but up everything you can and just stash it for 20 odd years and then see if it was good or bad. Looking alright, but South Africa is not the market place for comics. I need to get them back that side at some point.

Defo back to blighty for that.

I had a load of wiser and chips I sold a while ago. I didn't get a huge amount each but in total I ended up with a tidy sum. I had to sell them as they are starting to go mouldy!

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.827 which ranks you at #4617 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 4624).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! Well that was a bloody good investment wasn't it? Good for you man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81