Arsenic Lullaby - Comics, Casper, and pressure.

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

I mentioned a couple of posts ago that I emailed American Mythology, the Company that currently publishes Casper the Friendly Ghost, that I wanted to do work on that comic.

I made it as clear as I could that it wasn't a joke...seeing as how I'm known for really much darker stuff. The thing is that those old Casper books is what most of us got started on comics and I have a fondness for the simplicity of the storytelling. The illustrations were charming and the storytelling was to the point and very technically solid. So, it's something I genuinely want to do.

They were nice enough, getting back to me with a reply about having their schedule full and figured out until 2020. To which I replied "IDGAF add more to your schedule". I didn't say like that...I was more charming. But that was like a week and a half ago and they haven't gotten back to me yet.

...that's not gonna stand.

Hmm, okay, Let's look at what we have on the playing field here...what do I have to work with...what's the leverage I have?

THEY...sell a decent amount of comics. But nearly so many that they should be balking at an offer from me. I've seen their numbers and I can increase them by a good 20% easily.

They have a solid bunch of people working on their books, but they don't have anyone working on Casper who brings to the table what I do in the skill department. That's not dig on the current guys...I have a unique skill set and work in a style that is unlike anything else EXCEPT old 50's cartoon styles.

...I'm not sure how ambitious these people are. Complacency is a HUGE problem in the comic book industry. People just lose the fire in their belly and go with "good enough" instead of " crush your enemies". (I'm more of a "crush your enemies" type)

I know a few people who have worked with them...I won't go into details but complacency could be the issue here.

For now...I'm just going to keep a little pressure on them on FB (since they have no presence on Instagram and not much on twitter...did I mention complacency might be the issue?), and if that doesn't light a fire under them, I'll move up to more drastic measures.

As far as the FB pressure...

me- https://www.facebook.com/douglas.illustrator

them- https://www.facebook.com/AmericanMythologyComics/?tn=K-R&eid=ARD6uWVLpU-0rxLMvu93H4p2Q6ozSBYCr4MZ-9ECMrLEGH6nmNMB7THKpTr7LdFjE5dk5Pp7k-1RAGHL&fref=mentions

I've just been tagging them every couple of days on an illustration that is less...oh...horrific than I usually do.

I'm gonna be honest...I don't have a lot of "G" rated material. Even though my style is kid friendly, the stories I have written ( up to this point) and not. That's "not" with a capitol "N".

I'm gonna run through this folder of stuff here and see what I should use over the course of the week...

This one's cute...

900SWINGS.jpg

whoah...no...no no no...maybe if I erase all the words?

What else do I have?

tdofvladclr2.jpg

nope...

This next one might be a legit possibility

ContactONmd.jpg

maybe?

what else...

DMNDTDOFVENTRO900.jpg

hmm...I dunno...a guy with a stump...is that pg?

HTLRHellon900.jpg

That's probably a big fat no.

Maybe I should just stick to single images...what do I have handy as far as published covers...

fAITHFFON.jpg

tICK1ON.jpg

Whoops! That last one is not good..I gotta make sure to leave that one out.

I'm not really sure what motivates this publisher, that's the problem here. I'd assume they are in this business to make money...which if that's the case, bringing me on should be a slam dunk. Same goes though, if they are in it to make some great books.

I'll give this some thought before I have to dial things up. Everything is on the table...threats, creating a sample script, attacking one of them in a parking lot, creating a sample cover or illustration of some kind, faking a life threatening illness that leaves me with just enough time to do one last book ( Casper) , blackmail, injecting them with some sort of poison that only I have the antidote for...I'm probably forgetting other options...I have a list somewhere.

I'll keep you posted...

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It's so funny you mention Casper. I loved Casper and used to watch the very old I think 1940's cartoons that they would play in the mornings in the late 70s early 80s when I was a kid.

I grew up with out of date comics as I had really older siblings, so I fell in love with the old Sabrina and Archies when they were filled with amazing fashion and story. I still bought the modern 80's versions as a kid, but always found myself going back to the old ones as I LOVED the colour and feel of the design so much more.

I rather liked the horror retelling of Sabrina, which I think they've now made into a Netflix thing, so it would be funny to see Casper that way.

How do you see yourself doing Casper today? Can you do a mock up for we Steemians, or is it not legit as he is trademarked? Copyright always hinders creativity, doesn't it.

Those old Harvey's did something that all comics, tv, and movies try to do...they capture your imagination. They make you forget you are reading a comic and feel like you are looking into a place, a world.

I'd just carry on that tradition.

as for your copyright comment...that is something I have a lot to say about.

Short answer - NO...it absolutely does NOT hinder creativity. Redoing someone else's ideas is a limiting of creativity. Think of all the creativity that would not have been used or learned if it was completely okay for everyone to just draw or write characters that someone else has already thought of? Imagine the stifling of creativity and skills learned and grown through competition that would exist if people worked knowing that anyone could just take their idea and do whatever they wanted with it.

Copyright laws may have been created to protect what has already been made...but those restrictions ensure that new things will continue to be made and writers, arists, musicians, ect will work and perfect thier skills and imagination.

  • end of rant*

...having said all that...legally I can draw up some Casper samples, I cna show them to you ( and I will) but I cannot legally copy them and sell those copies.

and I am quite confident that ...one way or the other...by whatever nefarious or righteous means I have to use...I will be able to show off sneak previews of work I'll do for a legit licensed Casper book.

you got this :) Just tell them to ignore the words LOL. You are right, your style is perfect for Casper. Good luck!

Maybe I could re-write it. hahaha

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

i got sommit called aids

XD

i am ded

#comics

Hahahahaha! #comics
I struggled a bit getting the look on his face right. I'm pleased with it overall

That's funny. I just upvoted this post and your payout dropped five cents.
Sorry, buddy.

I noticed that crypto currency took a dive as soon as you got here...everybody thank the.skrauss
"Thanks Skrauss"

Your comics are amazing!!!
I love all of them and this Is the reason why I follow you!
Amazing!
Thank you to share that with us and to @c-squared to resteem it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Lot's more stuff on the way this week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93