Arsenic Lullaby - Commissions and Comixology

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

Commissions, and Comixology

I may have done more commissions over the winter than I've done in the last two years combined. Which is nice, because getting through the long, gray, sunless, gray, cold, gray winter here requires me keeping busy. I don't know if winter is any rougher for me that other people, but I will say that when your job is in your head and you don't actually have to leave the house....winter can become a soul crushing, never ending, timeless haze.

Some of the non-physical methods of torture P.O.W.s are subjected to are - removing any daily structure, complete solitude, not allowing a day/night rhythm...that is pretty much my winter. As far as I'm concerned the U.N. should burst through my door and slip me away on a helicopter to a red cross tent somewhere.

what the f8ck was I talking about? OH, commissions! Winter is a slow time in comic books, at least how things have arranged themselves for me, so doing commissions has really been a help, BUT all good things must end. In a couple of weeks I'm going to start getting busy as f8ck all.

IF you have been thinking about a commission or had an idea for one but haven't pulled the trigger yet...do so now. I'll be happy to do up a masterful piece for you...but as the month comes to a close my time will start getting very limited for the foreseeable future.

And I'll try to make this clear again because often times people are skittish when they come to me with a request- I'm really not a snob about what people like. I know it seems like I am but if you want Squirrel Girl or Captain Marvel, I'm more than happy to give that a go. Just because I don't have interest in it personally doesn't mean it's not a fun challenge. Hey...I like the Venom movie, and that was complete sh*t...so you don't have to fear me beating up on your request.

Arsenic Lullaby is now available to read on your smart phone/tablet on a site called "comixology" ...so ...hello 2009.

You know how you tell yourself you need to get around to something...and then ten years go by? No? Just me?
Anyways, an issue of A.L. is up there for the taking, and like most things I put off...it wasn't as difficult as thought. In my defense, I still ink with a brush...so...you'll have to excuse me if a large part of my brain is reluctant to new things. "new" in this case would be -as in ten years old.

What is up there is a somewhat redacted version of The Big Stall, which was our first full color issue. It says " Arsenic Lullaby no.1"...I'm not sure why, obviously I entered something in wrong. There was a good three week lag between me uploading it and it finally being on the site, so I'm not going to F8ck with the title. Every issue of A.L. can stand on it's own, and this is the first full color issue so...no real harm there.

Looking at their site, I see you are able to view the first three actual pages of each comic. That's pretty cool. Here's a couple more just for good measure.

alicemorphs.jpg

kstrknife.jpg

traineddog.jpg

There are two longer stories in that collection, one involves Cthulhu arguing with a newspaper editor to try to get more publicity...here's an excerpt from that

kstrcthulhu.jpg

Log onto comixology and get yours today! (link below)

http://bit.ly/2VsT3Zy

That ( above) doesn't look like a link anyone should click on, that looks dodgy as all hell...that's what they sent me though. It must be some fancy shortened version for posting on twitter where there is a character limit. Hold on...I'm gonna go right to the site and get a different link...one that doesn't look sketchy.

https://www.comixology.com/Arsenic-Lullaby-1/digital-comic/753191?ref=c2VhcmNoL2luZGV4L2Rlc2t0b3Avc2xpZGVyTGlzdC90b3BSZXN1bHRzU2xpZGVy

wow...that is a long ass link. I can see now why they sent me a shortened version.

Either of those links will take you to the page on Comixology where you can...uhm...download it? I'm not entirety sure how comixology works. Do you get a downloadable version or are they all stored in your folder there or what? Whatever...as long as you all know how to use it that's what matters.

Also this original artwork from a Casper parody I did is up for grabs. I did a nice job on it but...I'm starting to get annoyed having it in my office. First 150.00 gets it, shipping and whatever thumbnails and practice sketches are included. Price lasts while supplies last or my until annoyance goes away. email me to get it, you can use steem if you like. [email protected]

casart.jpg

DSC01770.JPG

DSC01777.JPG

That's all for now.
Next time a Casper wrap up, info on an alternative cover I did and other projects.
*** I'm putting together my convention schedule for 2019, if you run a con, help at a con, and/or want me to be at a con near you...now is the time to let me know. I am PARTICULARLY interested in appear in Horror conventions this year...which is a type show I love but don't have many connections in, if you do give me a shout.
[email protected]


When Douglas is not complaining, he and his work can be found here
www.arseniclullabies.com
Have friends who might like Arsenic Lullaby?…tell them to sign up for the Arsenic Lullaby Email (link below)

http://www.arseniclullabies.com/newslettersignup19.html

Thanks in advance.

the tags list on Steemit is generated by code...which puts tags up there based on ONLY popularity of use. You will notice that #comics does not exist there...yet. So I ASK THAT YOU USE #comics ON EVERY COMMENT YOU LEAVE ON MY BLOGS

Sort:  

If everything were available on comixology I’d be back in the game.

I like the app and in particular the feature that lets you read ‘panel-by-panel’ so it allows close-up viewing of the artwork.

Looking forward to going and having a look now....

#comics

Posted using Partiko iOS

I picked up my copy on Comixology yesterday! #comics


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Maybe you should have a Steem price listing or at least a gauge of what people can commission you for? Like maybe small illustration is how many steems etc.

Might poke some of this locale's interest? Peeps around here sure loves their crypto trading~

#comics

Also, the seeing dog one made me laugh :D They are all funny, but just the body languages in that last panel is great XD

That's a good idea #comics I should probably start listing crypto wallets on stuff too

Sir, might I ask the origin of this piece?

It was for a Krampus print and prize for a coloring contest a while back...I'll see if I have a file of the finished inks

Awesome. The Christmas tree in the back kept me guessing as Krampus but the horns for some reason I was thinking might have been Yeti. That is funny it might have been a prize for a contest originally as I am giving that particular prize away as a prize for a Steem Monsters Tournament this Friday. I just wanted to be able to give the winner any background info at all on the piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87