Arsenic Lullaby- Progress pics of Green Arrow and Baron Von Donut commission

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

donutxmassfrosty3.jpg

Is this thing on? Is the "update" or "improvement" known as hardfork20something all done? and is anyone still here? I had such high hopes for this place, but the powers that be just refuse to understand how simple it would be to let it succeed. I'm not going to rant again...not for free. But...I may as well remind you all that my base of operations is here

https://www.arseniclullabies.com/

and there are links on that homepage to every other platform Arsenic Lullaby is on.

AND...most importantly and the outlet I use the most is my mass emails. You can sign up there and get everything I do here on steemit as well as all sort of other things, sent right to you inbox.

That link is here-

http://www.arseniclullabies.com/newslettersignup19.html

I get all manner of strange commission request, but sometimes the strangest are simple requests for putting an Arsenic Lullaby character alongside some actual super hero. This recent one was a request for Baron Von Donut and The Green Arrow...

Green-Arrow-DC-Comics-Who-Mike-Grell.jpg

I trust I don't have to tell you which is which...

The version of the Green Arrow he wanted was specifically from the comic books, not the TV version. I don't know a hell of a lot about the Green Arrow, either version. I have always been intrigued be him, though. He is published by DC Comics, who also does Batman, Super Man, Wonder Woman, ect ect. As a kid I always found most of their characters boring, except for Green Arrow and Hawkwoman. They both seemeed interesting, but not enough for me to buy their books instead of the Avengers.

As for Baron Von Donut...he's a magical 6ft talking donut that is a mascot for the Keesler food corporation...

donutxmassfrosty2.jpg

You can find out more about the good Baron at this link here-
https://www.arseniclullabies.com/PREVIEWCAST2.html

SO...how to combine the two? I figured as long as the notion of them teaming up is bizarre and absurd, I go with a golden age of comics type scene. I did one standard heroic pose, and one wild action scene.

BVD GRARRWboth.jpg

I'm pleasantly surprised that side by side they do sorta look like a formidable team. And I'm glad I didn't have to be the one to pick between the two choices. He picked the action scene and off I went...

First the finished pencils...

BVDAW1.jpg

Then I usually start inking lines that don''t have to be surgically precise...bricks for example. And depending on how the brush is behaving I'll do either short straight lines or short curved lines. Some days the brush wants to curve and some days it's happy staying straight. On this day it was happy to do either...

BVDAR21.jpg

after I get some inking done and am warmed up, I'll try more difficult lines and lines that have to be just right. Baron Von Donut himself is a hit or miss situation. It's just two circles, you either get it right or you swear a lot and white out and try again. In this scene he's coming to the forefront so I could make those lines nice and thick...which makes it much less stressful.

BVDAR24.jpg

By this point things were going well and I was confident in just inking away without much fear...

BVDAR25.jpg

Usually, and this may be a bad habit, I leave the lines that worry me the most until the end. What will worry me on one illustration is different each time. Some days the details seem tough, other days the long straight lines seem impossible, some days the eyes and small circle give me cold sweats. The feathers and arrow tips were freaking me out for some reason...even though I've inked feathers on Arsenic Lullaby's main character Voodoo Joe hundreds of times. I dunno, some days the easy things seem hard, y'know?

BVDAWdn2.jpg

Turned out pretty okay, I'd say.

...back next time with more work in progress and maybe complaining!

Later.

see me this month at Cincinnati Comics Expo!
http://www.cincinnaticomicexpo.com

CCE300wide.jpg

Sort:  

Hi arseniclullaby,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Always a pleasure to read your posts! Great to see that you finally got some reward.

Thanks! The reward's nice but I'm more interested in getting long term fans, y'know?

Yes, that is also why I have stayed so long. Some of the people here actually read my comic :)

hy dear @arseniclullaby, your design is amazing !! actually at first glance it is rather bizarre to see a donut with robin hood, but then you enter an extra parallel context and their fight against robots seems to you the most normal thing in the world !! I love to see all the steps of the creation process, I would love to know how to draw !! Have you studied art or are you self-taught?
congratulations on your curie vote and thanks for sharing

Thanks! The addition of the robots does seem to tie it all together, eh? Took some classes in high school but mostly self taught. I just studied what the greats did and tried to do likewise

Super normal to see a hero and a donut fighting hahahaha, although I like the idea because it is original and well done, we will wait for your following complaints :D

XD thanks! complaints coming soon

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62