Arsenic Lullaby - Punching Hitler commission / Burg Comic con

in #comics5 years ago

BCC0.jpg

One of the last commissions on my list this round was for @burgcomics and their Comic Con later this summer...at which I...your charming and delightful illustrator of many things...will be an honored guest! ( straightens tie, gives dignified look)

The request was pretty straight forward. He wanted his mascot...
BurgMascot.jpg

and a few Arsenic Lullaby characters...

mixed into this iconic Captain America cover, in which he is punching Hitler.
783503.jpg

So...with a little back and forth as to who should go where, I drew up a sketch
BCC1.jpg

Looks pretty good, and not too tough (although these things have a way go going sideways on you and giving you trouble on seemingly easy things) Except for the lettering. He wanted The title of his con and info about it to replace the original text...that's a bit time consuming but not nerve wracking...so off we go....first the final pencils...

BCC00.jpg

then onto the inking...

BCC2.jpg

BCC3.jpg

BCC3B.jpg

so far so good, let's get a closer look at the lettering...this was an element that needed me to make some decisions. Normally I would just ink the entire thing with a brush, words and all, and any glitches or inaccuracies in the line just adds to the overall charm and hopefully the "holy f*ck can you believe he did all of that with just a brush". However, since this is not just a commission but also to be used as advertising, and there being just too many long straight lines without any details around them to distract the eye from any mistakes. I choose the safer and smarter way and used a technical pen for the logo and a few of the smaller words.

BCC4.jpg

BCC5.jpg

If you look closely you'll notice Stan Lee and Jack Kirby have replaced the guy on the chair and guy on tv. Just a little nod to the original creators of many of all of out favorite comics

BCC6.jpg

It was all down hill after that. Here's the final inked piece!

BCC8.jpg

Info on Burg Comic-con is here
Burg350.jpg
https://www.burgcomics.com/

BEFORE THAT...IN JUST A FEW WEEKS I'LL BE A GUEST AT
ECCC350.jpg

http://gemcitycomiccon.com/

If for some tragic reason you can't make it to see me...
Get my comics on Comixology
https://www.comixology.com/Arsenic-Lullaby-1/digital-comic/753191?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=socialmedia&utm_campaign=ArsenicLullaby%231&utm_content=Submit+Email&utm_term=Indie+Comics

at my online store
https://www.arseniclullaby.com/store

or support me on pateon
https://www.patreon.com/douglaspasz

Thanks!

Later.

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

Sort:  

Burg comic con will be huge.
I will do my best to be part of the event even though I am staying quite far.

Good to hear! Hope to see you there!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Hey, @arseniclullaby.

I'm going to just flat out say this was no small feat, even if you did have the Captain America cover to go off. In some ways, as you said, I could say that presenting more difficulties as you tried to conform to what was before while bringing in what was new. I think that's pretty cool that your characters get to be on the Burg Comics flyer, too. Extra exposure for you!

Looks like it's a few months into the future still, but good luck at the one you have coming up at the end of the month. Do you enjoy going to comic cons, do you do very many a year, and are you able to sell quite a bit? I'm just wondering if they're more of a go to be seen thing, or if even over the time they actually result in sales and new fans.

I do about 5-10 a year. The cons themselves are fun and keep you tuned in to what people like, it's as close to performing in front of a live audience as you get as a comic book maker. The travel on the other hand, often sucks. Also getting all of your merch and gear across the state, or country, or globe, present a whole other set of stress.
It's a good way to be seen but more these days it's an important outlet for sales. It is akin to having a storefront of your own in downtown Comic Book City for 2-5 days.

Hi arseniclullaby,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

awesome, thanks a ton!

Hello there @arseniclullaby!

You have such great talent in creating comics! Yes I bet this will go big someday. I know people wont get tired of DC and Marvel Comics but we would always welcome fresh and new heroes and villains to hate and love.

Keep making big in this craft!

Congrats on your curie love! Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! People do tend to have phases as far as what kind of comics they like. ..when they outgrow or tire of the super hero stuff, I have plenty of villains for them! haha #comics

Hahahaha for sure.. people want somethimg different too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice work @arseniclullaby.
It's quite a precision work if I look at the whole process. No doubt about your talents :) It must also require some patience to finalize all the details I guess?
In the end, it looks very good! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! Patience is a big part of it, and a bit of not overthinking what you are doing.

You're welcome! Agreed!

Great post and awesome result on the commission! Well my teleport isn't finished yet so I can't attend...

Congrats on the Curie. Well deserved :)

#comics

Ha, thanks! what's taking so long on that teleport anyways? get going!

Well I was testing it recently with some clones but somehow the machine attracts flies. Now I have to deal with some mutilated human fly clones... Ugh what a mess

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so cool! Coincidentally I used that image of that iconic comic issue in a story I wrote a couple of months ago, just to illustrate that the main character had a very valuable collectible (https://steemit.com/fiction/@hlezama/bennie).
I loved what you did with that cover. A perfect parody. So many details. I especially liked the inclusion of Lee and Kirby there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87