Another Milestone Set For The Holy Grail of Spidey VariantssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics5 years ago

image

In the world of modern comic collecting, there is not a bigger book than the Amazing Spider-Man #667 Dell’Otto Variant Cover. This book came out on August 10th 2011 and has been an absolute ghost ever since. Hardcore collectors around the globe literally compete with their moolah for this specific book. Rumors of only around 200 copies existing have made obtaining this an extremely difficult challenge. Especially when the amount of serious Amazing Spider-Man collectors that are vying for a complete run (like stupid ol’ me) are foaming at the mouth to add it to their personal collection.

About a year and a half ago, I was lucky enough to add one to my collection. The circumstances surrounding it were a bit bonkers and I wrote a piece not only detailing my “adventure” and “screwing” on the matter, but also go into great detail on the specifics of the book itself. It’s definitely worth a read in my opinion as this is the most expensive modern variant comic of all time. Show it some respect...

Check it out here: https://steemit.com/comics/@blewitt/the-spidey-holy-grail

Anyway, while I won’t go into detail on this unicorn of a book as I already did in the piece above, I’ll be happy to state that a copy just set another record. Not my copy by the way...just one on eBay.

image

On January 2nd, a seller from Massachusetts popped this bad boy up with a Buy It Now for $14,800 bucks. In under an hour, a buyer submitted an offer for $13,300 and it was accepted. This is the most this book has ever sold for on the public circle. The crazy part is that it’s a CGC 9.4. The last copy of this that sold was the 9.8 copy that sold for $10k. That’s how powerful this book is. It’s been a year plus since one even showed up for sale and it increased by $3k for a copy in poorer shape than the last. That’s nuts!!!

By the way, if you aren’t aware already...eBay does not let you see what the Best Offer accepted was on their site. They 86’d that feature years ago. So a good workaround is by going to http://www.watchcount.com. Just copy and past in the eBay item number and boom...all the info you need is there. Fantastic tool that I use often. Here is how this specific one looks on there.

image

I also belong to a comic forum where this book has its own thread, and people are always looking for this sucker where as nobody is ever selling. That’s why it keeps fetching more and more, regardless of condition. When I say it’s a ghost...I mean it. Several copies sold in several years. Not good odds of you are in the market for one.

I’d expect that my copy would probably grade out at an 8.5 or a 9.0. I might get it graded soon just because. I have to press it first and try to fix the one corner a tad. I bought mine in the $1700 range which seems like a freaking steal considering that I think almost any copy coming to market at this point would easily fetch over $10k. In decent shape...I’d expect this book to go $15-$20k. Absolutely bonkers!!!

Here are a few pics of mine. You can see some of the flaws I’m talking about that would knock it down to be an 8.5 or 9.0. In my opinion...

image

image

image

image

Anyway, anytime this book comes up and sells....it’s news in the comic world, so thanks for taking a look.

Blewitt

Sort:  

WTF I’m a spidey fan but never read this one. For sure I’m not reading this one in a paper version😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

😂

Well there is a regular. Over for this issue which is basically a few bucks. This one was a 1:100 variant that nobody obtained initially. So there is still hope If you are really interested in reading it...although nothing great happens. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehe good to know! Gonna search for this regular edition😎👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good luck!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

WTF I’m a spidey fan but never read this one. For sure I’m not reading this one in a paper version😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Next SteemFest I am going to have this book in my bag- Thanks @blewitt in advance for the beyond words awesome giveaway.

Lol. Imagine that?!?

Steem would have to to reach like 50 bucks. If that happens before next SteemFest, I’ll consider popping this in a bag there. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn't know that comic books can sell for such prices until recently and I thought such prices are only for really old book. Sounds like you found a good bargain, congratulations.

Thanks so much. Yeah this book is kinda a stupid deal. The hardcore folks and variant hunters look to this book and know it’s a white whale. Those who aren’t completists and don’t care for variants look at this as a waste. I see both sides of the argument but seized the opportunity anyway. I see it’s significance and worst case scenario, I don’t see this book losing its foothold as the rarest modern variant. Those who have big bucks to drop will always hunt this beast.

It is silly though that this fetched as much as a beat up copy of Amazing Fantasy #15 which is Spidey’s first appearance from the early 60’s.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was a good deal on your part.
Damn, it's insane that's it's worth the same as Spider-Man's first appearance. This is crazy stuff.

Well, a beat up copy! Lol.

Looks like if you wanted a CGC .5 to a 1.0, it will run in the range of $7500-$10k.

E7A7F11D-598B-4FC6-BFD2-03C77F73C630.jpeg

3DAAFFD3-974D-44B4-8E31-2A0570EC030E.jpeg

Come into an inheritance that ya don’t know how to spend??? Try dropping almost 200k on a higher grade copy !!

C7BFFFFC-CBFB-433E-BCB7-A7ED708B1077.jpeg

It makes sense for comics from the 60s to be this expensive. I just didn't think that newer stuff got sold for these prices as well.

Yeah it’s totally stupid. Lol. This is like the white whale of the bunch. But there are a small chunk of modern variant that sell for several thousand each. It is silly when you think about it though.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thx a ton!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10