Check Out My Newest Spidey Original Art

in #comics5 years ago

Last year, I contacted the art rep for Humberto Ramos to inquire about a few pages he did from the newest volume of Amazing Spider-Man #1. He penciled a 10 page back up story in that issue that features my favorite Spidey villain in Mysterio. Now these pages aren’t all that exciting or action packed and Ramos isn’t my favorite artist, but I kinda liked those 10 pages for a few reasons.

image

  • I could obtain all 10 if I wished! I was initially going to purchase 2 or 3 pages, but when I thought long and hard about it...not many people have the opportunity to possess an entire and complete storyline of original art. So...that was a cool selling point.

  • It featured the first appearance of a brand spanking new villain by the name of Kindred. They still have yet to reveal this character’s name in the book but I was let in last year due to the purchase. They have been teasing this new baddie in random issues throughout the first 22 issues of this run so far with his big reveal supposedly coming shortly in issue #25.

  • I was able to basically pay this off on a layaway over 9 months. It was supposed to be 8 but life happens and I had to stretch it out an extra month. It was a fairly expensive purchase and outside of a car or home, is the most expensive thing I’ve ever bought myself.

  • It’s an investment as much as it is a personal possession. While I do love these and am over the moon to have them, I will not make the claim that they will be mine forever. If this new villain takes off and becomes something that people are actually pumped about...I would field offers on these. I’d be perfectly happy having these forever and I’d be perfectly fine moving these if the price were right and it allowed me to make some tasty coin to reinvest.

2 years ago now, I attended an exhibit in New York for The Art of Spider-Man. One of these days I’ll get around to telling about and showing that awesome experience to you all. This exhibit was filled with amazing art from decades worth of Spidey comics. It was an amazing sight to see being the huge mega fan that I am. But it did make me think that one day, I’d like to be able to show off my art collection at small galleries or libraries. It’s a long term goal that I’m a long ways away from. So to be able to have these to add to the gallery and have all 10 pages which feature the first appearance of a (hopefully awesome) new villain?!? Badass!!!

So let’s just take a look...shall we?!? As I mentioned before, these 10 pages are part of a backup story in the new Amazing Spider-Man #1. That book was released in 2018 and is either the NEW #1 or #802 if you are going by legacy numbering. The inks were done by Victor Olazaba.

I’ll be laying out the finalized page with colors and story added Incase you want to actually see what the hell is happening!!! 😜

Page 1

image

image

Page 2

image

image

Page 3

image

image

Page 4

image

image

Page 5

image

image

Page 6

image

image

Page 7

image

image

Page 8

image

image

Page 9

image

image

Page 10

image

image

The plan is to start getting these all framed and hung up in the basement along with some of my other original art. That’s the plan...not sure how quickly that will be made a reality though. I’ll keep ya posted.

Thx for looking.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Man, Humberto Ramos has come a long way from his early days, drawing one-shots for Wildstorm studios on Gen13 books! :D

Here we go...always back to Gen 13. 😜

Well, you have to admit, it touched basically everything in the 90's, making it obviously the world's most perfect comic book. Aside from, you know, Razor, and Warrior Nun Areala, and Ninja High School, and Caravan Kidd and--

OWWW! Dude, stop!

Love how he made mysterios helmet look with face under.

Absolutely. That was one of the ones I was initially going to snag before getting suckered into the whole lot. Lol

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 93000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 94000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Good stuff!

Thx brother!

Sooo Cool!
I love the new baddie and the homage to him in that last frame.
:)

Yeah they will be doing his big reveal I guess in issue #25. At least that’s what the rumors are.

I say congratulations on getting an award from @esteemapp, I'm happy, happy to be happy

Thx so much my friend!!! Yeah that was awesome to see!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Those are pretty cool :D Congrats on the purchase.

My my dear! I’m sure most folks don’t get the allure but it’s pretty cool to own the originals of published work. Especially big ones like this!!!

That is some cool art. I like the coloring in these pages. I would frame one.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh I’m going to frame em all!

so...what happens next??

please buy more and post it here

Ha! These stupid things cost an arm and a leg!!! I’m tapped! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25