DC Super Heroes at 30 Years Old

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

31017F11-6A9C-4F00-A6E1-2948C0172405.jpeg

We recently purchased a large collection room of action figures at our shop, Conquest Comics. Nothing earth shattering but some cool stuff nonetheless (not counting The Last Action Hero figs that I should melt Down). The price was also on point and one that we couldn’t pass up.

In the collection I’d say there were around 400 loose action figures and around the same in carded figures. Along with 30 Long boxes of Indy Comics. I’m slowly going through and pricing em up and seeing what we actually need in the store. This will take sone time but I am uncovering a few gems. Let’s take a look at a set of em.

This line of DC Super Heroes and Batman Movie Action Figures by Toy Biz, is a line that I used to collect when I was a kid. They came out in the late 80’s/early 90’s.

I remember riding my bike to the Toys R Us in Union, NJ to snag some. That store was the source of a ton of my childhood entertainment. I bought my Sega CD there after shoveling snow all day. Worked my ass off, walked to TRU and paid for it in full with my hard earned money....Dracula Unleashed bitches!!!

A286243E-A593-4955-854B-D1BCAF713993.jpeg

Anyway, my love for Sega CD has nothing to do with my love for these toys or being a loser and spending lots of my childhood at Toys R Us. Such fond memories of that time in my life. I was so young and loved toys and games. That plaza was like a second home to me. There was a Bradlee’s that I used to hunt for TMNT figures at. I remember finally scoring the elusive April O’Neal there and how happy I was to finally get it. There was also a really shitty store called Jembro that popped up next to the TRU for a few years. This place was like if Big Lots fucked Tuesday Morning and shit out a disgusting ghetto offspring discount store that constantly disappointed its parents. I got a lot of these DC Super Hero figs there for a song along with loads of most likely expired or counterfeit Big League Chew...I chewed a whole pack the day I found Bob the Goon. My mouth has never fully recovered...

DB58DA48-7F93-40D9-ACAD-7C0C570E234D.jpeg

Anyway, enough down memory lane. Let’s look at my new dol...errrrr...collectibles that will be priced and pegged today.

-Penguin that Fires Missiles
-Batman with Bat Rope
-Aquaman with Fin Kicking Action
-Superman with Kryptonite Ring

221707C6-46D4-4F78-BFAE-9F50239FCEFA.jpeg

-Lex Luther with Power Punch
-The Joker with Squirting Orchid
-Wonder Woman with Power Arm (?!?)
-The Flash with Running arm Movement

A20C4DB1-443F-418C-AD55-5D84EED03966.jpeg

-Green Lantern with Water Jet Ring
-Robin with Karate Chop
-Bob the Goon with Power Kick
-Hawkman with Flapping Wing Action

748009FB-1054-4CD1-B606-8B37EEC04C01.jpeg

-Mr. Freeze that Changes Color
-The Riddler with Riddles & Clues
-Two-Face with Coin Flipping Action
-The Flash with Turbo Platform & Lightning Speed

8823B9C2-D014-47B8-985C-1808B49C5799.jpeg

Takeaway the lack of articulation that we are so used to seeing in today’s toys and remember that these are 30 years old...you’ll come to the conclusion that these rule!!! Even with Two-Face’s coin that’s 30 times the size it should be.

Most kids today don’t give a rats ass about lines like this so you just have stupid aging bastards like myself that enjoy finding these. Hence...they don’t fetch a ton of dough. Typically these can be found for anywhere between $10-$50 bucks each with most averaging around $15-$25. I think the Superman is the most expensive one here. They are in decent shape. Not perfect but not gross either. As for the prices, I Haven’t checked fully yet as I’m too busy trying to write this up for the 2 people who will actually read it.

Anyway, thanks for taking a look Friends!!

If ya like what ya see, please throw me a follow or an upvote. Or send me a Sega CD with Dracula Unleashed. Or tell me to drop dead. I’ll accept and welcome any of those options!!!

Sort:  

BOB THE GOON is SOLD!

Man those are so cool. What happens when more than 2 people read the post? Does it self destruct?

I’m one of the two people!!! Wheee!!!

I had every single one of these except Aquaman. Not an Aquaman hater... just never got that one!

Well I really appreciate it. I’m going to start throwing in random hidden messages to see who is LEGIT reading the whole piece. Lol

Aquaman is...Aquaman. Lol. I dont blame ya for not having him.

Oh yeah, and Bradlee’s... effin’ blew my mind. Had forgotten those stores ever existed.

Yeah, the Bradlees near me had a Neo Geo arcade game there that I used to play all the time. I’d go with a pocket of quarters and grab a soda and a most likely dirty super pretzel from the snack counter...and play for an hour or so. Good times.

Wow they all are pretty cool. I spy some really good comics there! Great post

Thx a bunch!!! Truly appreciate you taking a look at my nonsense!!

Upvote thrown. Of course. ha. Sweet selection, man.

You are a gentleman kind sir. Thx! Yeah getting things like this are so much fun to me.

Are you going to open any of the figs?? I WANT to see an opening and review. Pull apart breakdown. The good the bad and the ugly..

And compare with a similar newer fig.

That's very worthy of an original steemit article.

As much as I would love to, I sadly cannot as they will just be harder to move at the shop. We actually sold a few already. So strange...we buy collections all the time and when we are pricing things up and they are just scattered in a pile, customers always rummage and are interested in the new things that come in. It’s rare when we do not sell sone pieces immediately upon buying the collection.

It’s a great idea for a piece, and in the future I’d consider it. Especially if the packaging was rough.

Thanks for calling @blewitt! Here is a small upvote for this post and my opinion about it.

To my mind this post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 35 votes.

By the way, you can find TODAY'S TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I evaluate content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15