Heating Up The Press

in #comics5 years ago

8e9dbd53-326b-4400-83c2-450e5a2bb556.jpeg


A customer came in a few days back and dropped of 19 books to get graded. 15 of which he paid to be pressed. The contraptions above are called a Dry Mount Press, and in my house they are used to transform books and make them look a bit prettier. I’ve done several write ups about this in the past and I’ll be popping up a proper post tomorrow with before and after shots, along with explaining exactly what I do.

In the meantime, just know that I’ll be up for several more hours tonight to work my magic on these books for him. To be honest, none of these were in particularly good shape but I’ll be able to make each one look a bit nicer and bump their grade a tad. Which is ultimately what the customer wants. These are for his personal collection and aren’t being flipped at all. He told me he’s passing everything onto his boy when he’s older. Pretty sweet plan.

Anyway, looking forward to showing you guys some of the results tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Blewitt


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

good job sir blewitt. Your job has alot of headaches and hassles but it also has some pretty cool things about it too.

Oh absolutely. Just like any gig though for the most part. Pros and cons.

I never got into comic books as a kid. I feel I've missed out somehow. All the best with the pressing brah...Make the magic happen. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Get into em as an adult!!! Lol. Where are you located!?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Adelaide, Australia.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah damn. If you were in the states I was going to send you a package of some comics to read....on the house. But shipping to Australia from the states will be a pretty penny. Offer still stands if you pay the shipping. I’ll donate the books. If interested.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Generous and thank you for thinking of it. I'll cover shipping and be glad to receive your gift. Let me know what you reckon you'll need as far as shipping goes and we'll sort something out. 😁 Classy gesture man. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! Let me put a package together this weekend of some random books for you to check out. I’ll pack it up. Weigh it and givin you the quote. Are you on discord?

Yay! 😂 Sure am. galenkp#9209

Posted using Partiko Android

Please tell me that’s not an actual ASM #1 there...
Foreign language edition? The text looks odd.

Lol. Mexican ASM #1. Lol

I wish...

Can't wait to see the before and after shots. I love these posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Tomorrow!!! I only got to half of the stack that night. I’ll finish tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking forward to the before and after shots!! 👍🏻🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hoping to get them
Up tomorrow. Been a nutty week!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love that you offer this service to your customers. I don't have anything that would be helped with a run through your press, but if I ever do wind up with some high-dollar stuff with minor defects, I'll probably ship it off to your store for a fix-it-up job. :)

Yeah brother. Sometimes it can make a world of difference. Depending on what the flaws are. Keep me posted!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75