ImPRESSive Results! Fixing Comics & Making Cash!

in #comics5 years ago

image

I’ve posted in the past about how I’ve learned the art of pressing comics. I won’t go into too much detail as I’ve covered it before several times, but for anyone reading my drivel for the first time...it’s basically using a dry mount press to work out some kinks and imperfections in comic books.

imageMy presses...one hot and one cold.

I’m not sure who figured out that it was possible but it’s a blessing. With a ton of practice, I’ve been able to work miracles on some books. Obviously it cannot fix tears and creases that break color...meaning you see the white of the paper in the crease. But it can fix spine roll, waviness, slight moisture damage, non color breaking creases, and more.

Depending on the book and the “repairs” made, it can significantly help bump the grade of the book in question which in turn means more $$$!

While I don’t advertise it, certain folks T the shop are aware that I offer this service. I currently charge $25 dollars a book. If someone is submitting 15 or more books I knock s few bucks off. It’s time consuming and a huge responsibility to handle and care for someone else’s precious collectibles. So I make sure that it is worth the trouble.

Previous pieces covering this topic a bit more can be viewed here if interested...

Okay...let’s jump into it! I have a stack on my table of around 30 books that I have to get to. I feel bad as half of them are my buddy Don’s and they have been sitting for quite some time. Well I knocked about a third out and I plan on finishing them on my day off this Thursday. In the meantime, let’s take a peek at s few that saw some decent results.

First up is Tales to Astonish #36. This book features the 3rd appearance of Ant-Man and it came out in October of 1962. Take a look at all the waviness and dents on the cover. Extremely noticeable and that hurts the value immensely. Then look at the smoothness of it after a pressing.

imageBefore

imageAfter

Next up is Strange Tales #180 which came out in July of 1975. This book features the 1st appearance of Gamora. This book looks like a solid train wreck and while there are are tons of problems that a press cannot fix, it definitely helped bump it a few notches.

imageBefore

imageAfter

On deck we have a copy of Amazing Spider-Man #62 which was released in July of 1968. This has a non color breaking fold down the left side of the book, just under the letter “P” in the trade dress. Notice how it vanishes like magic.

imageBefore

imageAfter

The last one I’ll showcase for today is Tales of Suspense #52. This is a nice book as it’s the 1st Appearance of the Black Widow. It hit newsstands April of 1964. Take a look at Crimson Dynamo and right above the blast he’s shooting at Iron Man. You should notice a handful of indents. This is probably made from the readers fingers imprinting on the easily marred paper. They go bye bye after a nice pressing.

imageBefore

imageAfter

Now to someone who isn’t super familiar with Comics, these “fixes” might seem insignificant...but trust me, they matter. Everything matters in this business. It’s also worth noting that this does NOT count as restoration to the comic. Restoration is frowned on by most collectors. I’d rather have an unrestored beater than a restored book that looks pretty. I’m not alone in that sentiment.

I’ll post more on the next batch. Hope you enjoyed!!!

Blewitt

image

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Impressive work! Same counts for vinyl (although maybe not press your precious discs🤔). But the better it looks the more people think it’s worth a higher price.

Isn’t it even in the supermarket..? People pay the jackpot for beautiful round apples with no ditches. But the same apple with weird bulges would it taste any different?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Put some album sleeves through the press, with a bit of care and you'd definitely bump the price. You;d need a bit of board to slip inside the sleeve to stop the spine crushing, but it would be doable.
The state of the sleeve is a fair comment on the state of the vinyl.
At least in my collection :)

State of the sleeve does count that’s what ai mean. But pressing the thicker sleeves will kill the spine I thought. But you think it’s doable with a piece of cardboard in it, I believe you right away. But woeldn’t dare to try it on some of my sleeves😅

You have a nice collection?😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree I wouldn't put my leather-sleeved copy of Motorhead's 'No Remorse' anywhere near a press! :)
If you like 1980's British heavy metal I've got some great stuff!
I moved to CDs in the 90s and stayed there.
Have bought a couple of new vinyl albums each year for the last few years, and do have some nice bootlegs from back in the day.

Leather sleeved copy that sounds beautiful. You have a picture from that sleeve?😍

I like a lot of music so I think the British Heavy metal will do. The styles I like to listen are somewhere between classical till punkrock, so the metal will fit somewhere inbetween I assume 🤔

I went totally the other way, needed to sell my CD collection (long story), and a few years ago I decided to start all over again but with vinyl instead of CD's . Good to hear your doing both. What where some of the last vinyl albums you bought?

In terms of collectible value, would you say the improvements in each of those books would justify the expense of getting you to press them?

For the $15 he paid on each, yes. Definitely. Although I have had people bring me a recent book worth $10-$20 bucks, to get pressed. In those cases no. I always let them know as well if they are making a poor financial decision. Lots of times it’s just a cover somebody likes a lot and wants cleaned up.

This group here had lots of other issues with it so these will be low grade copies no matter what, but take a peek at some of the older links I attached to this piece. You’ll see things like a Hulk #181 and ASM #129. For the $15 bucks those cost, my press job bumped those books hundreds easily.

I did a Wonder Woman book for a guy a couple years ago and I have never been more proud of a job I did. I cleaned this book up like nobody’s business. Bumped the book thousands!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Whuk thousands!?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11