ImPRESSive Results! Fixing Comics & Making Cash!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics5 years ago

image

Condition! Condition!! Condition!!! It’s everything in the world of comic books, and even the slightest little spine tic, crease, fold, tear, or waviness...can knock some major coin off of the value of your book. Luckily, some genius figured out that using a Dry Mount Press can help remove some forms of damage making a tremendous difference in the grade of the book in question.

I’m not sure who figured it out and I don’t care...all I know is that if done properly, it can be a very profitable endeavor. Below is my station that I have set up in my basement. I use the press on the right to administer the proper setting of heat and the one on the left to cool it down while keeping it flat.

image

Most of the time I’ll start by giving the book a nice steaming which is an extremely scary process. Nothing like seeing a $2000 book get moist and start curling!!! This helps basically iron out some of the issues. Then I do a hot press followed by a cold press to bring it back to room temperature. Sometimes I have to repeat depending on what is wrong with the book. Different books require completely different processes depending on the time frame, the problem, paper stock.

I’ll preface this by saying it obviously cannot fix tears and rips. It also can’t fix color breaking creases meaning any crease that you see the white cracking outline on the cover. It can mainly help repair things like spine roll, non color breaking creases, waviness, slight moisture damage, and a few other random issues. Sometimes the fix can be subtle, and sometimes it looks like a brand new book. It all depends on what the problem is, the process used, & the presser themselves. It all varies on a case by case basis.

I’ll boast that I’m a pretty decent presser. Not amazing as I’m still figuring out certain tricks but I won’t mess your book up. That’s also a possibility so be careful in handing over your precious goods as I’ve seen and heard horror stories. I practiced a ton of cheap crappy dollar comics for a long time before I started accepting other people’s books. I currently charge $15 per book which may sound like a lot but it’s nothing in the grand scheme of things. Especially when I can correct problems that increase the value by hundreds or even thousands.

image

I’ll also note that this does NOT count as restoration on the book. Restoration for the most part is something that most collectors do not want attached to their book. The big grading companies such as CGC and CBCS can detect things like trimming (when one tries to cut an imperfect edge to look better), color touch (when an ink or marker is used to blend or cover a flaw), and other methods. The big graders actually offer Pressing as a service as well when getting books graded, although I believe it’s more expensive than most of the dudes that do it through shops or in the comic circles.

Well enough babbling about it...let me show you what can be done with a little bit of magic...

image

I will just be showing before and after pics so you can all get an idea as to what this can do. Note that some of these fixes helped these books bump up several grades leading to a huge increase in value. Also for the comic savvy folks here you’ll notice some pretty big books here such as 1st Appearances of Punisher, Deadpool, Venom, Moon Knight, Wolverine, Iron Man, Swamp Thing, and a ton of other big keys!!!

SEE IF YOU CAN SEE THE DIFFERENCE AND SPOT THE ORIGINAL FLAWS.

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

image

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

  • imageBefore

imageAfter

I will try to get around to doing a video on the next batch I do to show a bit more in detail just what it can accomplish...if I can only get friggin DTube to work for me!!! Argh!!!! If you have any questions, please ask below in the comments. If you have a book you would like me to take a look at to see if Pressing could help it out, post some tasty pics!!!

Thanks for taking a look folks!

Blewitt

Sort:  

No one likes a braggart. 😉

You married this guy...what’s that say for you?!?

Such a new world for me! 😄 I’m beginning to understand that comic books are not really about reading comic books...

And I can totally see what a satisfying experience the steaming process must be! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol. Well I tend to focus a bit on the investment angles here a lot because we have a lot of folks who invest on the platform. The main basis though is reading.

New books come out every single Wednesday. Most of your main superhero titles from the big 2 publishers of Marvel and DC have titles that are monthly or bi weekly obviously Meaning a new issue comes out once a month or every 2 weeks. Indy publishers sometimes abide by this but are more flexible on their schedules.

We have hundreds of customers that come in each and every week to pick up the new books. Most of them are heavy readers. I just don’t want to bore people to death here. Lol. So I tend to talk about the financials of the business as money gets people interested. 😂

I’ll do some recommended readings soon for non comic people. I was discussing this with @honeydue the other day actually. Trying to get folks who have never picked up a comic...to pick one up. Most people just think it’s heroes wearing tights fighting villains. That couldn’t be further from the truth. The industry has morphed and transformed so much over the years. So many amazing stories being told. Dramas. Thrillers. SciFi. Post apocalyptic. Fantasy. So many comics are being turned into movies and hit shows as they house fantastic and creative ideas. Most of the world is completely unaware still but it’s slowly changing. Stay tuned!!! I’ll have you trying one out eventually. Even if I have to send it to you. Lol

Really? New ones every week?

I mean of course I’m noticing all the Marvel Hollywood movies, but I thought these were all old stories.

So do they keep inventing new super heros or are they just inventing new stories for them?

I really had no idea. And you will very likely convince me to pick one up. I’m already slightly regretting I didn’t have one in my goodie bag at Steemfest now 😄

Also, keep writing about it - regardless of the investment angle - it’s fascinating to read about someone’s passion and expertise about a subject that so far has been a parallel universe to you. And you’re a good writer do I’m looking forward to learning more!

It’s fascinating that comic books have not been replaced by apps yet, or digital subscriptions.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yup. New titles each and every week and the hard core are there right away to snag em!

The movies take some elements from the Comics and also create completely new storylines. It’s a mix. Have you watched any? In all honesty, what Amat el has done with the Marvel Cinematic Universe has been incredible. Most of the films are really good. A few are “eh” but overall, super impressive. They created an entire connected universe of heroes one film at a time. They intersect and have Easter eggs hidden for something coming out down the road. If you haven’t seen them, I highly recommend. The last Avengers: Infinity War film was freaking fantastic. But don’t start there as you’ll kinda be lost. If interested lmk and I’ll get ya the rundown on how to watch them. Start with Iron Man 1. If you enjoyed that I’ll shoot you a viewing order list.

New characters and storylines are created all the time. Most characters stink. Most don’t stick around or do anything significant. That’s why when you get one that connects well with readers a d collectors, it’s like striking gold.

You didn’t have one in the goodie bag? A couple of others told me that as well. I wish I would have known that as I brought a few extras that I passed out the last day. If you shoot me your address on discord or WhatsApp, I’ll totally send ya a cool care package out. Lmk!

Thank you so much for the kind words. I’ll keep chugging info and stories out then! 😉

Believe it or not, Comics subscription apps exist. It was supposed to be the downfall of the industry as many claimed but it has t had a large effect really. I know a couple of people who go that route and they do it mainly to save space but most people still like having a tangahle item in their possession...at least when it comes to this world where value plays a part. Even if the person in question is mainly a reader and not a speculator, it’s good to know that you could have something that’s worth some decent coin.

Wow, that is impressive... and I know nothing about comics but love old books so immediately am drawn to some of the above. I bet this process improves the value quite a bit!

Also.. not that I’m a dtube master.. but the key to it is to use handbrake to condense the video first, then upload. It helped me quite a bit.

Yeah it’s a pretty nutty thing. I did a old Wonder Woman issue for a customer. He bought it initially for like $1200 bucks or something like that. It had a few flaws and I fixed this book up perfectly. It looks stellar. He ended up getting it graded and sold it for $5500 bucks! Obviously not every book fetches that kind of coin but it’s a good feeling when I can bump a book to another grade in condition.

I think I’ll try my hand again at it soon. Might pick your brain and bother you when ready.

❤️

Man, that is amazing!
I think that market of fixing comics will be increase more and amore because of fans of comics see in their collection a value that we couldn't see. So they will always want their comics impeccable and stored as new for the posterity.

Thanks bud. Yeah the demand is super real for Golden and silver age books. As more and more are uncovered, people will look to pretty them up as much as possible. Not only for the appearance but obviously value. If I had more time I’d really start advertising that I do this. As of now I only do this for hard core regulars and friends.

This can be a good idea business for me in 2019, buy the crappy old comics, make a make over and sell them on eBay for profit. Do you teach your setup and cost of the material to recover the comics?

If you are really serious about it, the first thing I’d say is buy a working dry mount press. I bought both of mine used off of Craigslist and both cost me a few hundred bucks combined. Then go buy some shitty bargain books. I could even send you a bunch. Practice on those. There are many different methods and I can tell you some pointers and basics but practicing is the best way to teach yourself. Each press handles a bit differently I’ve found as well. Lmk!

We used to sell t-shirts but needed the room for bookshelves so we got rid of the rack. I still have a couple hundred shirts that I have to get rid of. Lol

I own the Top Secret S.I. boxed set that is advertised on one of the pics. Some impressive results here :)

Lol. That’s awesome! Good eye to catch that.

Yeah it’s crazy how much some of these clean up.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for the recognition!!!

Man those results are impressive. Nice job.

Thank you! Sometimes in the photograph, it is hard to distinguish the flaws but they all had an issue or several that were majorly corrected. It’s a rush seeing a book transform before ya.

Ka-Ching Ka-Ching!

Seeing this makes me want to go out and buy some vintage comics and start steaming!

Lol. So it! Go find a dry mount press on Craigslist or local classifieds. Get some shitty beater bargain books and practice. That’s how I learned. Self taught!!!

Yeah, I’m sure there would be a market where I live for this!

Make it happen brother. Lmk if you need any assistance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75