Organizing Chaos

in #comics5 years ago

image

Anyone good at organizing here?!? This...is a project. One that my guy James is going to be slowly working on over the next few weeks. James comes in for a few hours around 3 days a week. We let him set his own schedule for the most part and he helps us organize and keep the place moving. I’m definitely grateful for his help.

Anywho...right now he’s in the process of trying to organize the over 15,000 extra Funko Pops in the backroom. Lumping then together is specific groups is key in helping to locate these bastards. We move a lot of these on the floor. We have a selection of just under 3,000 pieces on the main floor, so all the extras stay in the back.

Problem is that we have so little spare space back there and a stupid amount of inventory back there that it’s easy for things to get jumbled or out of control in a hurry. Action figures, statue boxes, Pops, Comics, and so much more just crowd the back rooms.

Either way, it’s being worked on currently and hopefully we can complete this massive restock and reorganization of the Funko Pops very soon. We need to do this with the figures as well and I’m currently finishing up a tremendous comic back issue restock that’s been in the works for 15 months now.

I had to inter grade over 600 long boxes of books into our shops back issue selection. Separate, put in order, bag and board, check, and price any issue we needed. Most of it is from collections we buy throughout the year. I hadn’t done this particular project in years so it built up. I won’t make that mistake again. I’m on the tail end of it now. I finished the DC’s and Indy’s...on letter X of Marvel now. That’s a big letter with all the X-Men books bust I’m on the home stretch.

Sad part is that once I’m done, I have to start all over again with DC again but this time there’s only around 100 boxes. Just stuff we’ve acquired since I finished the last time. The Indy books have a decent amount to go through as well. I remember about 8 months ago, we bought like 35 long boxes of weird Indy shit that we literally just tucked away to process later. I know @modernzorker was excited at the odd goodies that sit inside those boxes. Soon my friend...soon...

Anyway, as James is currently going through the Pops, he’s taking out pieces we need for the front. When we do this, some days are like Christmas as we find pieces long hidden that are now gems. So t get me wrong, there’s tons of commons and crap back there as well but lots of tasty gems as well. Yesterday he found a lone Mr. Met Pop which now fetches a tasty chunk of change. I have a story about this particular piece I’ll touch upon soon.

image

We will uncover a handful of things like that which is always a treat. Looking forward to seeing what other forgotten or lost treasures await discovery. In the meantime we will just keep chugging along. Trying to get this chaos organized and the shop up front restocked before the first weekend in May. That’s our busiest weekend of the year as it contains our craziest day of the year...Free Comic Book Day!!! More on that to come...

Thx for looking folks.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Ugh, I live to organize backstock. Maybe because of my retail roots and fond memories of restocking the floor in lighting speed. Sucks that the back room is so small.

You my friend...are what I like to call...crazy. LOL

Organizing is a complete nightmare to me. Sucks. We are slowly getting there though...kinda…

The back room is actually big. I'll show it off in a vid and tag ya!

I'm impressed you keep it as neat as you do in your shop. Your inventory is insanely vast and your square footage is lacking.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I’m surprised sometimes as well. Lol. I wish we had a basement. That would solve a ton of issues.

Wow - that's an impressive amount of 'stuff'! Djiez! Where to start? :D Good luck on this man!

Yeah it’s a huge project. One day I’ll post some real pics of each section. It can be daunting to deal with sometimes. I think we are going to get another shipping container for outside. We have 2 full ones already. Dumb. Lol

Shipping containers oh man. You are just going to have to straight up buy me out one day then hire me so I can help clean up all these posts where I keep seeing you have things that need to get organized and such. There is not enough James' in the world that no doubt enjoy a little work for trade of comics or toys (I speak as a former James lol).

yeah we have two 8x20 shipping containers filled to the brim. I need another...

I was a former James as well back in the day...lol

Being a James was some of the greatest times of my life no joke ;_;

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Send me those indy long boxes I'll take care of it. It's disturbing how much I don't mind going through shit.

What is the Conquest Comics comic book convention tour schedule like for 2019?

Ugh...it has just become so repetitive to me at this point. I was never one for organizing...

I am not sure yet as I know that a local show got moved to interfere the same week as Megacon Orlando so now I gotta do some thinking. What are you planning on attending?

Nothing set yet, but huge fan of MegaCon and just waiting for them to start dropping more comic talent names in, so far it is amazing awesome weird tv/movie people like usual

#ReasonsToGo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Do you sell out of area? Hubs is looking for some Funko spastic plastic to complete his set. Also would be keen to hear a price on an Indiana Jones with his golden idol if you have one of them hidden away. ☺️

PS - We are gonna be in Philly and Atlantic City late June/early July. But neither of these looks close to you! 😭😭 The Atlantic City bit is 6/27-7/1. Two days of that we’ll be at the Vans Warped Tour on the beach.

I sadly don't have any more Indiana Jones pieces at the moment. We suck!!!

Lmk which Spastic Plastic pieces he needs...not sure which ones I have but I can look into it. Shoot me a list!

We are a little over an hour from Philly and about 50 minutes from AC. Will you guys have a car at all?

We will. A drop in is possible. The Philly part of the adventure is a little up in the air. The AC days are kind of locked in. July 1 seems most likely for drive north before heading back to Philly.

Yeah. Reach out on Discord. Can swap numbers. Would love to schedule a meet up when you guys are here!!!!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

the fuck! 😱

Posted using Partiko Android

These exact words are uttered out of my stupid mouth on the daily when I walk back there...

You seem to be running a little low on those Funko Pops. Better snap up a couple more collections I think.

We. Are. Dumb.

We literally don’t know how to say no. Lol

If the price is right, you gotta do the deal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62