Purchasing Another Small Comic Collection

in #comics5 years ago

image

I love posting these up here as it showcases one of my favorite aspects of owning the business. The ability to purchase collections is a major perk and one of the ways that we’ve acquired such a vast inventory. Be it Comics, action figures, Pops, statues, or graphic novels...if the price makes sense then we snag it.

At this point of going into 11 years, we have people call or come in pretty much daily to shed their collections. Happens for a variety of reasons that include moving, marriage, having a kid, going to college, inhereted, found, or the ol’ acquired through a cleanout.

I always ask a bit about the collection before taking a look. I want to find out the background of whatever they are bringing to me. Was it theirs? A loved ones? Did they find it cleaning out a house? I let them explain and the reason for that is because we do not want to buy stolen shit. We’ve had it happen a few times in the past where we were pretty damn sure it was stolen. Vague story, killer books, ugly antsy and willing to take pennies on the dollar. We pass on those as it’s not worth the hassle. We try sometimes to get a number “for a friend” Incase we hear about stolen goods matching what was brought in but nothing has come of that yet.

We only purchased 2 collections in the past that turned out to be stolen and both...yes both completely separate instances, it was a deadbeat drug addict brother that sold stuff belonging to the non deadbeat brother. One was a lot of statues and the other was a collection of miniatures for a game called Heroclix. Both instances were resolved when the brother saw his Clix at our shop and saw a customs piece he painted. He didn’t even know it was missing. We gave them back to him once we figured it all out. The staturscwrre discovered by the father calling around to comic shops and asking if we purchased a few pieces. He came down and explained the situation of the one twin being a complete scumbag and yanking em from his brother to buy heroin. Pretty sad. The pops told us he would buy them back for his son as Theresa no reason we should be out money. I tried to split it with him to make the burden bearable but he insisted (he has $$$) and he purchased them back fir what we bought them for. Nutty situation though!!!

Anyway, just thought I’d show this off. We purchase 2 long comic boxes yesterday from a gentleman who got them from his friend. He helped him move and the buddy no longer wanted them. Told this guy to sell em and make something. These boxes looked like they were submerged in raw sewage as they were doo doo brown in color. Luckily the books inside were all in plastics. Unlucky that the plastics were old as dirt and were literally bonded together and yellowed. Gross!!!

image

I couldn’t even separate lots of books. They were stuck together. I did see some and the only thing I noticed was Hulk #271 which is the 1st Appearance of Rocket Raccoon. It has a little tear but will still move. I couldn’t even separate the books at that moment as it was too time consuming, so I offered $20 bucks a box fir a total of $40. We ended up agreeing at $50 total and fir that, the gamble was worth it. Worst case scenario there would be tons of boxes to fill the bargain dollar boxes.

Well once I had a few minutes I started carefully peeling apart each book. He was sooooooo close on a few biggies like 1st Appearances Iron Fist and Wolverine, but it looks like maybe those were already plucked at some point.

Some of the more notable books are below. 1st Appearances of Falcon, Abomination x2, Doc Sampson, Red Guardian, Rocket Racoon, Wendigo, Ultron (cameo), Him (Warlock), 2nd Iron Fist, 3rd Wolverine, McFarlane Hulk’s, and a lot more. I only plucked a handful out but there are more treasures.

image

image

image

Conditions vary on the books ranging from beat to shit...to pretty decent. Well worth the gamble as we will move one book and be up, leaving 500 plus books to earn on. Just gotta get em all out off these ratty ass plastics ASAP!!!

Thx for checking this out with me!!! Until the next collection...

Blewitt

Sort:  

I guess it is better to try and check why they are selling their collection as anybody could take something from someone else for a quick buck, good luck with the sewage books, looks like there are still some to be saved @blewitt.

Lol. Yeah I always try to see what the deal is before making the purchase. Too many shady assholes out there.

Onto dealing with sewage books!!!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks...still my fav!

Wait, are you saying the sewer is NOT the best place to store your comic collection? Hold on a sec, be right back...

I know, I read that and was like, "Damn, what are the Ninja Turtles supposed to do, rent a storage unit?" :)

Poor TMNT has no safe place for their toys and funny books.

It’s fiiiiiiine....

I love doing large comic buys at the store where I work. It's always especially impressive if we can find a few really nice pieces to make it worth their while. Doubly so if they don't realize what they have, or are just moving it because it's in the way.

Even if it's all 90's garbage, I'll still offer some money just because there are still some decent books from that era that will fetch a buck or two. Occasionally I've even managed to scrounge up a gem like an AP Strangers In Paradise #1 that we've been able to turn for $25-30, or an Alias #1 for that sweet Jessica Jones first appearance. :)

You should showcase your buys here too. Love seeing things like this.

A dude on one of the comic groups I’m in found a Batman Advebtures #12 at HPB fir a few bucks the other day. Score!!!

If it wasn't against company policy, I'd consider it. :)

Really? That stinks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Seems like a good buy for someone who has ther outlet like yourself! I know my wife is dying to get rid of my collection and would pay someone instead of asking for money!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Shoot me some pics of your collection. I can let you know what’s good and what’s not.

I can’t even think of where to begin but I remember my collection was surrounded around Silver Surfer as I had almost all of the first 75 issues and the whole Thanos and Infinity series. I also got into collecting Image and Valiant comics when they started. Spawn being my favorite, I had the first 20 or so issues as well. I had some older ones but nothing too special.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah that early Image stuff is rough. Lol.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

I'll give you $100, doubling your investment. I think you'll find that a fair price.

Posted using Partiko Android

Deal! But you have to be there in 2 minutes...limited time offer.

You got a 18.46% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blewitt! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17