Purchasing Another Tiny Comic Collection

in #comics5 years ago

Howdy Folks!

4F54913E-70F8-44DA-9E0C-4DE343AED213.jpeg

Today I’m just showing off another collection that waltzed through our door. It’s one of my favorite aspects of the business. Purchasing collections...and even better is that they come to me. I don’t hunt or search anymore and haven’t for almost a decade. They come to us and while sometimes it’s lame and full of disappointment...other collections can be glorious and choc full of deliciousness.

This one is an in betweener. So this gentleman came in with 2 short comic book boxes. Each box houses around 125-140 books a piece for a roundabout total of 250-275 comics in total. The story was that he had rent to pay today and these were sitting untouched for years in a closet.

As I quickly flipped through the books, I noticed a few books of note and asked what he wanted. He told me he was hoping for as close to $400 as possible as that’s what he was behind on. I offered $200 and he took about 20 seconds to agree to it. I would have offered a bit more but conditions on the notable books were decent. Not great. Not bad...but average looking copies with some signs of wear. Still, they will fly out of here in a timely manner once placed on the wall.

F54F4425-ACF1-40BA-8406-5755DB154CC0.jpeg

Now most of the books I’ll end up placing in our dollar boxes. Mainly books from the 80’s through the late 90’s. People rummage through those daily and I need to keep them stocked. So as of late, anytime I purchase a collection...I immediately yank out definitive dollar box books and load em up. I’ve noticed with a constant steady trickle of new stock entering them, they are being attacked a bit more. Mostly by repeat buyers. I should end up making back my investment through dollar books alone. But...let’s look at the tastiness in the boxes...shall we?!?

97CECE2E-5A7E-4C63-8AC5-1CB5AAB15A7E.jpeg

In the photo above, a few of the “more” notable books include the Secret Wars #8 which is where Spidey first gets the Black Symbiote Suit. It’s actually in beautiful shape as is and would fetch a tasty $75 or so. But I’m going to give it a press and see if I can get the one single kink out. If so I’m sure it will be a candidate for a solid 9.8 through CGC. If that’s the case, it’s an easy sell at $250-$275. I actually sold one of my own personal 9.8’s for $275 at a convention a few weeks back.

GI Joe is the elusive Silent Issue. Sadly It’s not in great shape...maybe I’ll get $10 bucks. I’m nicer shape I’ve seen these sell for well over a Benjamin. Deadpool #1 is a solid $40 dollar wall book. X-Men Annual #14 hold the first “cameo” of Gambit. $20 bucks there. The rest in this are all cool solid books we always move. Howard the Duck guest stars Kiss. Hellboy’s first solo book, Infinity Gauntlet #1, and that spiffy Amazing Spider-Man all move as well. That ASM is also the first appearance of Spider-Man 2099. We always move those for around $10 bucks. Nothing to scoff at but they go constantly.

E4E38FDD-1B94-47A3-A40F-1A6085BA4792.jpeg

This chunk is the reason I got excited. That New Mutants #98 is a mega key. The first appearance of Deadpool!!! It has some spine stress but even with those flaws, it’ll still move for around $225-$250. I could dunk this book in a rest stop toilet and it’ll still fetch coin and quickly.

The Uncanny X-Men #266 is the first appearance of Gambit. That will bring in $75-$100 bucks. The Thor #337 is the first Beta Ray Bill. This book has recently exploded in popularity. Most likely due to the rumors of him possibly appearing in the next Guardians of the Galaxy film. Who knows?!? What I DO know is I will move that for about $100 bucks. The rest of the books will bring in $10-$50 a pop over time and give me cheaper wall books to pop up there. Those are equally as important as the big mega keys in my opinion.

Regardless, I estimate that I’ll turn the initial investment of $200 into $1200 plus over time. Not going to retire off this deal but making 6 times my initial investment is something I’ll never turn down.

Thx for looking!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  

You know, that picture of Brad Pitt always makes me think these unboxing must be way more intense/unpleasant for you than you let on...:P

Oh...there was also a severed head in there. Sorry. Forgot to mention that.

Oh right, keep all the good shit for yourself. Typical.

May have to come in and look at the wall soon. Haven't added to,my collection in what feels like forever

Posted using Partiko Android

Fuckin slacker. Damn straight you do.

Speaking of slacking...shares your next piece here?!? 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Probably tonight if i dont fall asleep on the couch like i did last night lol

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 94000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.

I see your future. Pressing books in the steamer.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

You got a 19.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blewitt! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34