How I paint comics: The Techno-Templar #39

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop1.jpg

Back to the creation process of my 100% watercolour, sci-fi, cyberpunkoid and surreal graphic-novel. Here's page 39!

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39.jpg

In the previous page, our main protagonnist, Devlok, encounters close contact with erratic cyber-zombies. At high speed and with several devastating blasts, they're vaporized while he's already far.

You can read it, here.

Details.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop2.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop4.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop5.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_crop6.jpg

If you don't know, "Devlok, the Techno-Templar" is a 54 pages illustrated story I wrote and produced between 2016 and 2017. Two books were self-published with crowdfundings and in total, counting the French and English editions, around 1500 copies have been printed.

So, let's see the process!

My great story boards, always very refined as you can see.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_ST.jpg
I've changed a lot, the jump scene just deserved a bigger panel! But I kept the main idea of the sequence, the jump between the open tunnels looking like mouths, the landing and opening (and closing) of the next door. The text, that is very short, was subject to (very minor) changes too.

Pencil. One vanishing point perspective for the main guidelines to make the tunnel openings, the pillar structures and for the rest I had much space to let my mind go for details.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_1.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_2.jpg

Now starting to ink.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_4.jpg

This is how it looks after having erased the pencil, ... Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_5.jpg
... before I risk everything by painting directly over it.
In fact, I am still struggling to find a company in Germany that is ok to print (a copy of) the inked illustration on a correct 300gr. watercolour paper but on a bigger format, like a bit less than a meter wide. It would allow me to save the inked work and make possible to re-do a page in case of total mess. I'd alo try to replace the ink over the paint (in PS), something I'm very curious about. But it is just so weird that I can't find that easily, I am shocked!

Let's go for the colour! In this panel, it was really important to keep a tone, as the complex had to look huge and doomed. I end up with that greenishes that could be explained by the presence of (whatever) nano-lichens.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_7.jpg

Voilàà... more and more layers...
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_8.jpg

... Can't find a better photo but that's the end, I think ...
Devlok_the_techno_templar_Page_39_process_9.jpg

Thank you Steemdroids, for having read my post!



For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

If you want more info about the books, check out those flick through.

The books are available on: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Committing to comics is a tough job, consider to support me by buying my art through http://haedre.com/shop

Thanks for the

Sort:  

Nice pictures

Hi @haedre. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Wow haedre, this is another awesomely mind blowing post of yours. I am really enjoying myself whenever you post something new because you always treat us with such gorgeous and detailed artworks. It is really a treat to see how you created every page of your comic.    
                       
Those details on the landscape panel, that's just insane :D. Love it.
                       

Hey @scrawly, nice comments like that are true rewards =)

Thanks!!!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

You do amazign art, and so cool to see the process of hwo this one developed

Wow! Absolutely stunning @haedre I love a chance to see the process of an artist and I really love this. Beautiful work with a great style. Thank you for posting here and sharing your talent with us. Best of luck.

Glad you're appreciating @arqetype!

Each of your pages are a freaking masterpiece, @haedre XD Love 'em !

In this one i really like that huge panel with the two massive walls separated with the gap, through which Devlok flew on his motorcycle * ___ * Amazing composition, i love the pacing and the flow from panel to panel, and as usual, your detailing and colouring works are second to none <3

Wonderful post * ___ *

It's definitely one of my favorite page of the story too! Happy you're digging it @spider =)

Your style is super cool! I enjoy reading your walkthroughs :D

Thanks a lot for commenting @miggyfr!

Hi.
as always I love it
When I have time I want to look closely.
they are perfect and so many details
Congratulations

Thank you for the nice words @txatxy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72