How I paint comics: The Techno-Templar #40

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_1.JPG

Full page, details and creation process of my fully watercolour and thinliner anticipative graphic-novel.

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40.JPG

In the previous page, Devlok speeds up through the immense pipes and sections of the abandonned SyntheBioGenesioGenomic complex and finally reaches the room he was heading to.

You can read it here

Details.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_2.JPG

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_3.JPG

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_3V.JPG

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_4.JPG

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_5.JPG

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_crop_6.JPG

If you don't know, "Devlok, the Techno-Templar" is a 54 pages illustrated story I wrote and produced between 2016 and 2017 in Berlin. I self-published it through two volumes (European format - Soft cover) comprising more short stories and art.

Process.

Story-board, rough as usual but this time I haven't changed much except the way the keyboard looks like and the silo's structure itself. It's not specially realistic (in the way that it is supposed to be a "human" constructed while it looks more alienish) which is great because I like to draw what I want =)
Devlok_the_techno-templar_ST.jpg

After having prepared the paper (watered and dried up over a light wood board), I did the panel outlines and started to sketch.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_1.jpg

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_2.JPG

Beginning the inking.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_4.jpg

Finishing the ink, adding more details after having erased the pencil
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_5.jpg

Painting.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_6.jpg

That is almost it ...
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_7.jpg

... if you compare with the final page, you might see that I have made the blue of the pods a bit smoother on the sides and that I increased the tones of some zones, like those filaments that run from the ground to somewhere. I also finalized with white gouache and pens.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_8.jpg

Very last step (besides the texts and gutter cleaning) was the loading bar and the text with Photoshop in the loading monitor.
Devlok_the_techno-templar_page_40_progress_9.jpg

Thank you Steemdroids, for having read my post!



For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

If you want more info about the books, check out those flick through.

The books are available on: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Committing to comics is a tough job, consider to support me by buying my art through http://haedre.com/shop

Thanks for the

Sort:  

Hello
good morning.
I am amazed by your drawings
Happy day

Hi @haedre. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Beautiful work, @haedre! Excellent artwork and storyline! 😋

I am glad you're appreciating it @trincowski!!

Thanks!!!!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Another amazing page, @haedre :) I love that your panels are telling the stories along with the text, almost as if I can read what's going on without the text :) Beautiful storyboarding <3

Also noticed that your language and wording choices really reminding me of Jodorowsky <3 Hahaha, it was a while ago when we were both new to Steemit that we talked about his works :D

Feels like a long time ago now !!!

Always a delight to see your posts, @haedre <3 A L W A Y S

Thank you so much for the comment @veryspider!

Yes I am totally Jodorowied :D :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

mind blowing artwork! thanks for sharing your process, really enjoyed it.

Mind blowing artwork!
Thanks for sharing your process,
Really enjoyed it.

                 - satorid


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

awesome! best bot on steem

Thanks for the comment @satorid!

Haha! True, that bot is ace :D

Another great post from you haedre, you told me that receiving nice comments are true rewards, well from my point of view, looking at your blog is also a rewarding activity so let's continue to do so :D.    
                       
I love all those little details on the small comic panels, especially the dual keyboards <3.        
                       

Doing my best to keep that blog on!
THank you @scrawly!!!

I love watching the process of true artists. It's a skill I've never had, but always wished would magically happen some day. Thanks for sharing! Also, I never really thought about graphic novels as being individual works of art, but they absolutely are. This post was eye opening for me!

Thanks for your comment @mattifer!
Definitions of art are very relative of course but I think there is a difference between some comics where there's purely illustrative skills (which sometimes makes them less looking like a piece of art) and others with stronger artistic personnality pushing boundaries, those latters going slightly more towards exhibitable pieces of "art". Again, this is very relative.
Personnally I'd like to merge all of this as the most as I can to find a good equilibrium, still searching ...

I'd say you're doing a great job of it so far. You've even reshaped the way I look at comics and graphic novels. That's a win!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77