Captain Marvel: A curmudgeon writessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics5 years ago

No spoilers, I promise. At least nothing that's part of the "plot" (and I use the term loosely)...
The best bit: The end credit animation to the music of "Celebrity Skin" by Hole. And then I had to leave before the song finished!!!
Second best bit: The protagonists meet a cat that is a dead ringer for our last cat Zebedee. This was the cat that hospitalised my wife and drew blood from two guests on one night. And who attacked me at least once a week for the two years we had him before he passed on at the ripe old age of 17. I miss him.

The rest: If you're bleeding you won't die. Fatal wounds don't bleed.
The only way to settle any disagreement is through excessive violence. The 'American Way', I believe, and what I dislike about all Marvel comics and films and how they continue the idea of the wild west in the modern American psyche (and now outwards to the rest of the world, West AND East).

It's a film for small children, so any jokes or plot points are set up way in advance and sign-posted clumsily.
The woman playing the lead role is very personable. And she plays very well with Samuel L. Jackson. The scenes of the two of them just chatting are wonderful. They should do the next Die Hard film.

It's too f*cking long.

But it was 2 1/2 hours of my working day not staring at a computer, so I'm grateful for small mercies. And the new series of "American Gods" is starting soon. As is "Good Omens". Now if someone would like to adapt "Sandman" or "Marshall Law" for TV, I'd be right there...

Sort:  

This review is hilarious. I actually lol'ed. So it sounds like pretty much what I expected the movie to be. What you said about "the American way" and the wild west was interesting. That really got me thinking. Also, I'm interested in how your cat sent your wife to the hospital. Haha Wow that sounds like an interesting story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Leaky20,
The short version of the cat story: He was old and deaf and if woken up would lash out. He did this once and bit my wife on the arm. The arm swelled up and so she went off to hospital to get it looked at. Got home with the arm in a sling, just in time for us to drive up to London for a Bruce Springsteen gig.

Yeah I could see that happening. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43