Speculating on Comic Books for 08.14.2019

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

Here we go…another week of comic book releases to sort through. A quick update on my collection’s end: I was able to secure an issue of Canto 2 last week on eBay for less than $10 USD. Not the best price, but what can you do when you miss out on it at cover price at your LCS? You have to burn some of that Litecoin you’ve been HODLing forever, I guess. Thanks Litecoin, you’re the best.

I know you’re tired of my Gnostic tendencies, and probably even more tired of my Litecoin chats. I get it – I’ll stop now. I’ll save any further Gnostic Canto talk until I get through the entire series, but to be fair for you the reader, I have quite the Nag Hammadi article on the way, so you are safely warned. Yet I digress again; let’s get on to the subject matter for the week.

Picks for Flips

Again, these are books that I will not have a chance at tomorrow morning, but I hope you do, and that you can make a few USDs if you are so inclined to do so. It’s all Marvel this week; my DC books get no love again .

Captain Marvel 9 A Cover Mark Brooks


Image Source

Cover price is currently $3.99 USD, but there are already a few sales in the $10 USD range. This one is a A cover, so I’m going to snag a copy for my daughter’s collection tomorrow morning if I can.

Conan the Barbarian Exodus 1 Nick Bradshaw Variant


Image Source

Another with a cover price at $3.99 USD; there is one sale already at $10 USD on the secondary market. This might be worth a pickup if the budget affords it.

Fantastic Four 13 C Cover Nick Bradshaw Variant


Image Source

Another Bradshaw cover this week that is already over the $10 USD in sales on the secondary market.

Powers of X 2 B Cover Putri Variant


Image Source

Putri’s second foray into this series an easy pickup at $4.99 USD; sales are already in the $15 USD range. I love her work, but I won’t have a chance at this one.

Power of X 2 D Cover Zircher Variant


Image Source

I guess there is a Beast cult following driving this one to $15 USD too. I don’t get it; there was this amazing Clayton Crane Swamp Thing #JLD# variant a few weeks ago that gets zero collector love, but this one is already high in demand. Maybe it’s time to reexamine my collector instincts?

Silver Surfer Black 3 B Cover Ron Lim Variant


Image Source

And another Marvel entry already getting +$10 USD with secondary sales…this one might be a good one, as I believe the origin of the Silver Surfer is included in this book. Will it be an all Luciferian / Kirby / Light Giver take? Or something more mundane? It is Donny Cates, after all…

Once & Future 1 Cover A Dan Mora


Image Source

This new Boom Studios’ release feature a dark entity from Arthurian legend into the modern day. I’d love to get my hands on this book at cover price tomorrow, but I’m doubting it will be there. Despite a cover price of $3.99 USD, secondary sales are already in the $15 - $20 USD range. Current listings are already in the +$20 USD range. Unbelievable!

Watcher 1 Cover A Marco Mastrazzo


Image Source

More Catholic priests versus demonic entities in New England homes…this title reminds of an old Ghosthunters episode in the making. I’m not sure about this one; yet two sales exists between $10 - $20 USD for a $5.99 USD cover price.

Items for My Collection

Again, these are items that I really want, regardless of future price. Most will be for my daughter’s long term collection.

Catwoman 14 Artgerm Variant


Image Source

I love this cover art; an easy add to my daughter’s collection.

Flash 76 Putri Variant


Image Source

Of course this one isn’t getting the same type of love as Power of X, but I love the artwork on this one. Another DC/Putri gem that seems to be ignored by the community.

Road of Bones 4


Image Source

The series finally ends with a possible death of our protagonists due to Siberian cold or the Domovik. I liked this series, but it appears interest has died elsewhere.

Absolute Carnage Scream 1 Cover C Russell Dauterman Variant


Image Source

I love this cover! It’s simple, symbiotic, and intense. The color is scheme is simple, and the white background adds to its appeal (to me anyway). I’d dare say this one will go in my “slab city” box.

Silver Surfer Prodigal Sun 1 B Cover Ron Garney Variant


Image Source

I love this cover too; conspiracy theorists could possibly argue that its more Disneycorp propaganda regarding outer space, but they have their hands full this week with the Epstein news…I think I can slip this one through undetected.

My Comic Book Hunt Issue for August

This is my new section; in it, I want to share with everyone a book I’m looking to acquire within the next few weeks. The book doesn’t have to have any long term value, but the book’s cover and content is something I want to have long term. So without futher ado, here’s my target for August…

Swamp Thing 2


Image Source

I read this one on my DC Streaming app last night, and was absolutely blown away by the Len Wein story and the Bernie Wrightson artwork. It features Arcane, the Unmen, and some insane resurrection symbology. Sure, it’s 1970’s comic book work at its finest, but I loved it. And look at that beautiful cover art; it reminds me so much of an old Goya Black Painting, or a Goya etching.

That’s it for me; there is quite a bit of value in resale picks this week if you can get copies cheap. Personally, I’m holding out for prices to regress before picking up that Once and Future 1, as I really love my Arthurian mythology. Good luck to everyone tomorrow morning!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wonderful - thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71