Black Panther w/ infinity gauntlet custom figure #1

in #comics6 years ago

pantherprep.jpg

I started another custom action figure, this time a bit smaller in size and scope of work than the HUGE Venomsaurus project. This time I am customizing my Walmart exclusive black panther figure. I am going to make him comic book accurate meaning...

Flat black suit, no frills other than his necklace and the markings on his arms
(seen below)

blackpantherinfinity.jpg

I also am going to be adding/sculpting an infinity gauntlet for him, because he isn't going to be just ANY comic accurate Black Panther. He is going to be SECRET WARS Black Panther. Honestly, I just love the idea of the King of Wakanda, the richest man in comics, one of the most badass heroes... with the Infinity Gauntlet.

blackpantherfigure.jpg

The base of this figure, honestly is really great, it was the first figure I bought and it started my obsession with Marvel Legends... it was slightly bittersweet sanding him down knowing there was no turning back. However, I look forward to seeing the results, and am excited to make a cool one of a kind figure for my collection.

I spent about 2 hours sanding with 320 grit VERY fine sand paper, getting every nook I possibly could. It is still pretty difficult to get it all because you are working on such a small scale with fragile parts. At one point with him totally torn apart... limbs askew... while sanding his crotch... the movie TOY STORY popped into my head... and I couldn't help but think how traumatizing this would be if toys really WERE alive... then I realized...

OMG... I AM SID.

panthergauntletdraw.jpg

Quick Concept Sketch

I got my surface charger again, so I decided to mess with a picture I took of the Black Panther after sanded. This is how I better visualize my project, and the future progress. This is the comic version of the gauntlet, not the MCU version. This one is a bit more rounded, and the "gems" are different colors than the MCU versions. Also the comic version of the gauntlet is 100x more powerful than the MCU one... just sayin'

Sort:  

Hehe,

if toys really WERE alive

You're a nutter. Loving these little projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77