Free comic book day haul! (5/5/18)

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

enemyofthestate.jpg

The time has come, the greatest excuse to visit a comic shop that exists!

Free Comic Book Day!!!!

The most special holiday in the United States... kinda. Basically you can go into most local comic book shops, and get at least 1 free comic (of certain issues). Some ask that you purchase something, and to be honest I feel like that should be a given, but many don't even require that. You can find a local spot on their website HERE

Hopefully there is still time for some of you to get out! I worked all day and then went after work, I am posting this as soon as humanly possible to try and help you guys out! While the free comics usually aren't the best in the world, many comic shops run great specials that they can't usually afford to run.

My Haul

One of my local comic shops was running a 25% off special and I happened to find a run I have been looking for for quite a while. Wolverine: Enemy of the State. I got it for a mere $15, and it really felt great since I have been looking for it for so long. To be honest, it isn't that special of a run or anything. The reason I want it is because when I first read Old Man Logan, there was a picture of Enemy of the State #1 in an ad. Well... the ad worked, and I just had a bug in my ear to try and find that story so I could read it.

Free Comic!

They had a decent selection of comics to pick from, but this issue popped out at me instantly. I am a big fan of Star Wars, and probably one of the few people that really enjoyed Episode 1. Darth Maul in my opinion is the coolest Star Wars villain, and was totally wasted. Any chance I get to pick up some extra info on Darth Maul I take it. I mean what's not to like? Creepy red/black guy... Coolest lightsaber... Hardly talks... Perfect villain.
darthmaul.jpg

Did you go to free comic book day?

  • What did you pick up?
  • What shop did you go to?
  • Are you going to go right now??

Can't make it to Free Comic Book Day?

No worries!!! Enter @blewitt 's contest HERE

monsterfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Love that Darth Maul cover, can't wait for Halloween Comicfest now too!

I will probably keep the Bongo, Bob's Burgers and Nightmare Before Christmas for myself but the rest I'll just give out with orders.

A lot of stores stay open late, if anyone reading this thinks they missed out, maybe you still haven't https://www.freecomicbookday.com/StoreLocator

Awesome!! Most shops have extras. If anyone missed out just check your shop tomorrow. Go check it out. In my shop, we leave them out until Wednesday sonalot if folks can snag whatever remains. This year we are donating the remainder to my neighbor advice he packs up care packages for the troops. They can use some comics this time around with their deodorant and toothpaste!!

I love freebies, but I totally spaced it was comic book day and missed grabbing up a free comic but it is all good, I will try to remember next year....

Check out your local shop. Most shops have some extras. We have a bunch extras that we leave out for those who couldn’t make it in.

Oh, Yay! I likey da free picture books!!

What do you mean he was wasted? He came back with robo legs to try and kick some Obi Wan Kenobi ass. Mother fucking robo leggggssss.

NOT IN THE MOVIEESSSS.

Meh, the prequel movies were just meme movies anyways. Clone wars cartoon is the real OG.

Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Nibba, you gay.

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70