Comic Books help me feel more grounded: The results of my Weekly Routine Experiment

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

The Benefits of Routine

The benefits of a daily routine have been widely published for use in increasing focus, automating your productivity, reducing mental fatigue, feeling mentally grounded, etc.

My Experiment

About 3 months ago, in a post here on Steemit, I detailed my plans to form a simple weekly routine in an attempt to increase a sense of groundedness in my life. I'm 30 years old, work from home, and live alone in a 600 square food 1-bed apartment in Houston. Most of my friends are married, doing their own thing, and my work-life/personal-life seems to have meshed together in my head - tethered to being inside my apartment. I thought a weekly routine that took place outside of the apartment, might help to enforce certain parts of my personal-life identity and differentiate it from my work-life identity.

I decided to do something simple, once a week, walk to my local comic book store (it's less than a mile away,) buy a comic, talk to everyone there, and come home to read it outside in my apartment's courtyard. 

Why Comic Books?

I chose comic books for 4 reasons.

  1. I know next to nothing about comic books or the comic book community. I wanted to choose something foreign to me, something that was new that I could learn about; to meet new types of people and have new experiences.
  2. New comic books, as I've recently learned, come out once a week on Wednesday, so it was perfect to setup with a weekly routine. 
  3. The closest comic book store to where I live is less than a mile away, so I can include a nice walk to and from as a part of the routine. I wouldn't have to travel anywhere far or inconvenient. 
  4. I'm a pretty big Star Wars fan: I read the books, re-watch the movies, play the video games, and even have toys. Every since Disney took ownership of the franchise, they have allowed Marvel to produce A LOT of Star Wars comic books (and they are all considered canon: part of the official overall story.) So it seemed like a good entry point (in my first post on the subject, I said I was going to enter into the Poe Dameron series at issue #25.)

The Results

AMAZING! It might seem simple, if you're spending too much time at home, then get out more. But, I have to say, the way I gave prior thought and attention to this decision really made a huge impact on my life. I do feel a sense of peace knowing what's going to happen every Wednesday, and I'm able to mentally attach this weekly action to my non-worklife identity, which is helping with my prior feelings of displacement. I might even have to add in a second weekly routine!

Ten days ago, I discovered a psychologically-driven Batgirl story that fits in with the content I blog about on here and decided to post about it. Since then I met @blewitt here on Steemit, who owns his own comic book shop, and I've been following him. Yesterday, Wednesday July 4th, I went to pick up Marvel's Star Wars Issue #50, but after reading his post about staying open late for a special DC Batman release (I haven't read any Batman since I was a kid,) I decided to get into that series as well to see what it was all about!

Here's my loot from yesterday: (thanks @blewitt!)

And, yes, I've still been reading new issues of Poe Dameron as they are published (they are now going into stories that take place after the events of The Last Jedi film, if any one is interested.)

What do you think?

That's it for my experiment! Please let me know in the comments below what you think and if you enjoyed this content - please consider an upvote! Thanks!


Sort:  

Dude, good community pick to just dive into, comics are the best thing in the world. I hope you nerd it out the point that you hit up a con sometime. Also really cool thing to be doing for your life.

Completely random, but I scroll through your page, I have definitely seen a video or two of yours in the past on the topic of nootropics. I want to say possible years(s) ago but maybe not that long, not sure. Awesome that you are still into that it seems as well as that you got onto Steemit (the video was a while ago so not sure if you had known of crypto back then).

Edit: Also @blewitt rules, keep bringing people into these funny books! Seriously comics are so varied anyone at any age can jump in imo.

Thanks @cryplectibles....I believe yours are some of the first comic related articles I saw on here. I kinda knew I was going to go in this direction as I have endless nonsense to talk about but wasn't 100% sure...I saw your stuff and a few of the other regulars and thought it was definitely the route to go here so thanks for that jolt!!!

Hey dude! That's awesome you've seen some of my YouTube videos. I had over 400 on my channel before YouTube banned my channel for about a week and I was force to remove just under 300 of my videos, too bad. But, yeah, I did start making nootropics videos about 3 years ago so that sounds about right. Glad to be here on Steemit/DTube and be able to post more freely.

Thanks for encouragement into comics. So far, I'm having a good time. I did read some of The Invisibles by Grant Morrison about ten years ago and really enjoyed the weirdness of his work, but that's really all my comic experience. This is the first time I'm following new series as they are published every week and it's a lot of fun.

Thanks for the comment! Looking forward to see if I happen to read anything you blog about here on Steemit in the future.

On top of DTube you should also make your videos available on LBRY as well, another media sharing blockchain site that has it's own userbase that would appreciate your videos (you might already be posting there I hadn't even checked). The app just got an update as well so now is a good jump in point. I did a quick write up on Steemit a while ago here where there is screen caps from the earlier version but you can see it is like it's own little decentralized YouTube mixed with other file types as well.

If you are on Twitter or Discord hit them up and tell them that Crypto Collectibles nerd sent you. You have established stuff and they are very understanding to those who have been banned from YouTube, they might feature and promo some of your videos. I recognize you just from my own YouTube viewing from before and seeing your stuff now, it feels like the platform would work well with you.

Right on! Wow, thanks so much for this info. Steemit/DTube is the only place where I've started posting content other than YouTube and I'm happy to give LBRY a try and mirror some content there. I've actually seen their ads before while browsing YouTube, which I think is kind of funny, but never bothered giving them a click since I've already put in some time here. Thanks again!

You are welcome, I wouldn't even have mentioned it if I didn't take a look at your blog, it seems like Steemit and LBRY were made for you. I have used LBRY on and off for a while now, really great program that has progressed. It does stink because I don't care sometimes for these great decentralized apps having coins attached to them, but LBRY does a lot really well and has a decent userbase supporting lots of content creators. Good luck!

Cool article! I am also a huge fan of manga :)

Thanks for the mention @stevecronin!!! Glad I helped ignite an old passion!!! Steve, I'd like for you to shoot me your address somehow...through FB Messenger or WhatsApp or something, LMK what ya have as I would like to send you a care package of a bunch of random comics. Nothing crazy but a handful of things that I have too much of that you might enjoy...or hate. Doesn't matter. lol...

Right on man. Makes my hippie-blockchain heart happy to read stuff like that.

That’s what this place SHOULD be about!!!

Indeed! And as a way of paying it sideways, you've now got a Steem Monsters booster pack waiting for you, should you ever decide to check out that game. Lemme know if you get anything good.

Damn! That was super kind of ya!!! I will totally check it out. I think I have a few packs waiting for me by kind individuals such as yourself!

Wow, that's so generous of you! I would love to be introduced to a handful of new random stories. I've always been a big reader and now this is just another layer that has been super fun lately.

I went ahead and sent you my address via Facebook message on your https://www.facebook.com/ConquestComics page.

I've definitely picked up a decent amount of comics during my weekly trip to my local shop the past three months. Here's what I've acquired:

Poe Dameron #25-28
Star Trek TNG: Mirror Broken & Through The Mirror
Star Wars #15 , #50, & Annual #4
Batman #49, #50, and the Catwoman #1
Sex Criminals Vol. 1
Darth Vader: Dark Lord of the Sith Vol. 1 & 2
Darth Maul Vol. 1
Star Wars Shattered Empire Paperback
The Force Awakens Graphic Novelization

As you can see, Star Wars has definitely been my entry point into a lot of this lol. This is very cool, I'll definitely be looking for an opportunity to return the favor. Thank you!

Sounds good dude. I’ll have a cool care package out to ya in a few days!!! Glad you are getting back into it!!

Something very heartwarming about this!

Plus I'm a comics fan who doesn't read 'em like I used to! Only occasionally now...

Thank you! That's a very nice compliment. What do you think is the reason for your engaging less in comic book reading?

Just lack of time :(

Great article....cmoic books can break silence

Thank you! What do you mean by "break silence" ?

Great ideas. About a year ago I had the same epiphany about needing to get out and decided to start playing miniature war games every Friday, through which I made some great friends and have a lot of fun.

Have you read any of the Fables series yet?

Oh nice, like Warhammer?

I haven't read any Fables. Is there a particular volume you'd recommend?

Aye, I got into 40k, but I recently picked up some AoS models to branch out.

As for volumes of Fables, they have omnibus editions that are like 4 issues each. I'd recommend just pick up the first and start at the beginning. Gotta get to know the characters, matey!

I love comic books they have a huge variety. They are short so I can spend like 30 mins and read in one shot. And they came every week, with beautiful artwork and nice histories.

I'm no the biggest fan of monthly issues, I prefer graphic novels, but I read them usually.

Nice post and routine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25