"Spare Change", A Comic Short

in #comics5 years ago

I finished it! The deadline was tonight and I just sent off the final images for the next issue of Emanata.
Emanata is an independent comic anthology out of New York that I have been participating in for the last few years. Each issue has a different theme and the participants make a story in four pages based on that theme.
The theme for this issue was Second Chances and my story "Spare Change" is below.
The homeless man and the pigeon in this story are from my larger story Second Wind, and I thought it would be interesting to show the few moments right before what happens in Second Wind in this short comic. I have included the pages that include the original characters at the bottom. I hope you enjoy!

"Spare Change"
JustinBowling_Emanata7_Page1.jpg
JustinBowling_Emanata7_Page2.jpg
JustinBowling_Emanata7_Page3.jpg
JustinBowling_Emanata7_Page4.jpg
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
And here is the excerpt from "Second Wind" that is intertwined with the story above. This was drawn about a year and a half ago. There is a bit more detail in these images due to the fact that I didn't have a deadline!

57.jpg
58.jpg
59.jpg
60.jpg
61.jpg
62.jpg
63.jpg

Sort:  

A powerful message you portrayed there mate and a good comic as well. I can't imagine the lives of homeless people all over the world. The struggles that they had to endure, just to survive the day. It is quite miserable I think. I don't really know their pre-disposition why they end up like. I would love to hear their stories and be an inspiration to us all. Maybe we can make a difference for them. Just like the movie, Pursuit of Happiness, a very inspiring movie, I do hope you have watched that movie. I love how you portray hope for these people as well, by showing that even they have that disposition in life, they still show their compassion towards every living creature. It just shows that they are not a complete loss and still have the chance to have a better life if only someone will take a step to provide for them and help them recover.

I also like how you depict the carelessness of humanity through the unlucky dove who has a piece of thrash entangled in its neck. We all have seen such images of the animals on the internet and I find it very distressing because they also have life and they don't deserve such misery. Imagine life for them like that and they can't do anything about it. We are the only ones who can help them but unfortunately, we are also the ones who made it for them.

Thanks for the wonderful share @vesteban. I do hope that your message will spread and enlighten the minds of many people out there. Cheers!

Thank you so much! I appreciate the kind words and I agree with you. Trying to have empathy, and just to understand HOW to have empathy makes a large impact on the world around us. Everyone is trying to survive no matter their situation.

I love your comic! It's supposed to be a fictional creation, yet you portrayed your character in such a way that he seems real. His emotions come through without the benefit of a lot of dialog. The images tell the story rather than words. I love how he freed the bird and then fed it. And the poor guy out in the rain, so sad that there are so many homeless people.

Thank you for the kind words! That was what I was trying to convey in this story, as the homeless don't have much of a voice in many of our cities.

I am currently reading John Grisham's "Street Lawyer" (not a new one, I'd just never read it before) and it really brings home the plight of the homeless.

I will absolutely be checking that out! Thank you for telling me about it!

@vesteban I just finished it and I really enjoyed it. Let me know if you read it and you liked it.

Justin! You've done it! Finally! \o/

OMG NICE JOB, man <3 !!!!!

I love how flowy the story is, even without a lot of words, you managed to convey the ambiance and the narrative so well <3 The inking and detailing in each panel is wonderfully done, too <3 And I love the body language of the man very much, we can follow his struggles and pains through the way you are drawing his poses, specially when it had started to rain ... Oh, so very evocative and well illustrated <3 !!!

Very awesome, Justin <3 Just, very awesome * ___ * I love it <3

Thank you so very much! What kind words, I really appreciate it!

Thank you so very
Much! What kind words, I really
Appreciate it!

                 - vesteban


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi vesteban,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

That is amazing!! Thank you!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Thank you :)

A lovely comic work of art and story you have in there. And like i always tell my friends, art is indeed life and without art life wouldn't have been that great.
i really enjoyed your story and your images or should i say illustrations made it fun to be around your blog. Great piece and keep the sharing spirit up

Congratulations @vesteban! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you :)

Congratulations @vesteban! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88