Uniting to end violence against women/promoting Blockchain technology

in #community5 years ago (edited)

I journeyed down to Anambra state on Friday the 23rd November, 2018 to join the beautiful women involved in this program.

image

I almost didn't make the trip as I woke up with conjunctivitis in both eyes, however I decided to go as I wouldn't want to miss out on such a great event.

On arrival at Awka, I was warmly received by @michaelcj, @sushie and the other ladies around. They filled me in on the events of the day which included going to a girls' only secondary school in that city and educating them on what violence is and how it can be stopped. Then they went to a TV station for an interview session, I saw the pictures (video isn't ready yet) and I was impressed.

We woke up early on Saturday and got ready for the walk from UniZik's gate. The sun was hot but we loved what we were doing. Fortune, Damilola and I decided to interview people on the streets to know if the actually understand why we were walking and believe you me, we got some amazing feedbacks. (Still processing most of the videos, I hope to bring them to the Blockchain once done).

After the walk, we went straight down to the venue for the talk where we got refreshments and settled in. **It is important to tell you all that these people don't have an idea what blockchain technology is, a few of them have heard about cryptocurrency (bitcoin) it that's all.

@sushie broke down what Blockchain technology is and explained the concept of decentralization, I must say this, I relearnt a few things myself.
image

image

I had the privilege to talk about some Blockchains, what they are about, how to get value for your time and money, how to sign up and answered a few questions.

I must confess, these guys are enthusiasts, I've gotten a lot of messages since my return from people there who got my mobile number asking to be put through.
This trip will birth a new generation of crypto enthusiasts and Blockchain technology adopters.

The return journey home would make an epic movie but, that's a story for another day.

I am @bookoons reminding you today to Make A Difference!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76