Weight Loss Success and its Fallout for My Family

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Weight loss success fitinfun.jpg

I am a weight loss success story. I am one of those lucky people who lost “Half My Size!”

Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

It took me four years, ending in 2011. But most of the weight came off in the last ten months, when I met a fitness trainer who helped me to understand that everything I was trying was wrong.

I found out through him, that much of the food supply is poison now. I had no idea! I thought if food was “Made in America” it had to be good for you. I found out that many of the additives in food are not only bad for us, they are addictive. This is not even hidden. You can find all this information on the FDA website if you care to do the research. But who has time for that?

Here is the general picture of how I work to get people started on the road to health.

All stopped up.PNG

Life After Weight Loss

I had been fat since the age of four and got to my goal weight at fifty. This was the first time I had ever been thin in my life and the adjustment took a very difficult two years. I had been “The Fat Lady in Accounting” for all of my adult life and now I was the pretty dumb chick that scared other women and attracted men. I was terrified of my new thin self and only wanted to cover up in my protective fat again. But I knew that was not the right path and hung on for dear life with the healthy skills even in the face of panic.

After that time, I finally got comfortable with myself and looked around to see the world had caught up with me. When I was a fat four year old, I was the only fat four year old. But now, 80% of Americans are obese or overweight. I took on the task to try to help the people I could by writing books, blogging, coaching, doing photo essays, and filming videos. I have tried just about any idea to try to help people who do not believe there is any hope so that they can get thin too.

My Weight and My Son

One of the driving forces in my journey is the effect my obesity and health problems have had on my son, Caleb @bxlphabet. He has severe ptsd because of what he went through with my health emergencies all throughout his young life. This is the biggest regret on my life and I already wrote about it for another steemit contest a few months ago.

Caleb was often staying at a teacher’s house or a friend’s house while his mom was in the hospital near death. No one would tell him what was happening and he would be so scared that he would never see me again. A quote from my post above gives you an idea of what he went through:

“Mommy, you would be proud of me. I never cried except when they put me to bed. Then I turned to the wall and cried quietly so no one else would hear.”

He has seen me fall many times, found me screaming in a pool of blood, and just had trauma after trauma during his young life. All of this was due to my obesity. Here we are right before I lost weight.

San Antonio Caleb and Mom-1.jpg

Once I got thin and healthy, when he was 17, we had the sad experience of other parents of his friends who died from their own poor health and obesity. We lived in a small town, so everyone knows everyone. These were his “second moms” who died and left their kids alone. My son always said, “That could have been you, Mom.”

Now Where Are We?

Now, years later, both of our lives are still in wreckage. I help people lose weight and now many other people have done the same thing as me by simply cutting out all of the poison from their diets. Once that happens, they are able to progress in other ways and get healthy. But that simple idea is really not so simple and this is why my coaching help is needed.

I help people constantly and usually for free. I get pm's all the time and work with people. But then after spending a lot of time with them, they either stop trying, try something else, or buy one of my books and I get a couple of dollars for that. I get messages sometimes that tell me, "I read your book a few years ago and now I am thin, thank you!" This gives me great satisfaction but certainly does not pay any bills.

Now we post on Steemit

I came to steemit as another place to get my message out and brought my son in a few months after that. We both post consistently. I post about weight loss, minnow tips, travel and photo posts. @bxlphabet posts his photos and art, travel and San Diego topics. He is the talented one in the family and wins contests with his work. I enter, but don't win! Here is one of his prize winning photos.

green and red peppers colorful photography bxlphabet.jpg

And here is a recent post of my minnow tips. I did a big round up before moving to Kuala Lumpur so this gives a lot of help if you are a minnow getting started here. I get a lot of advice to stop trying to help minnows, but I think we need them to keep steemit alive, even if I am in a minority on that topic. This is a little bit similar to the advice I get to stop trying to help "lazy fat people." I do not listen to that either, because I know my people have a struggle just to get up out of bed and face each day.

We were doing pretty good on steemit until the price tanked and now we are both on the edge of doom.

Caleb is in California with two months rent due. He is in a very nice place that is subsidized and if he has to leave there, no other possible alternative will be as affordable. He will be out on the street for sure. He was homeless for five years before this, and does not think he can go through this again. His landlord has been incredibly patient and wants to help, but there is only so much she can do. I worry constantly about my son, and this makes it hard to keep my fit-in-fun attitude.

This is the last time I saw my son when he took me to the airport to leave for Thailand. It has been two and a half years since then.

mom and Caleb trying not to cry fitinfun.jpg

I am in Kuala Lumpur in a hostel now and barely able to pay for that. The Fat Lady in Accounting cannot believe this mess. Losing weight was supposed to solve all problems, but it surely did not.

What would I do If I Had Money?

I answer this question often. The answer is always the same. I would help my son. I would find a way to get more stable in my own living situation. I would continue to work on my weight loss coaching work so that no one else would ever have to go through what we have been through.

This is my entry for a contest by @erodedthoughts who is looking for people to support on steemit. You can find his post about this here.

I would also like to thank the many steemers who have helped me and my son over our time here. I believe in this place and this is why I continue to post regardless of price.

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Sort:  

i am also working for fitness but your efforts are amazing @fitinfun.

Thank you very much. Don't give up and focus on more nutrition and less garbage in your diet. You can do it. If you look at my weight loss link above, there is a lot of help.

Full upvote from me.
I love your attitude - fight and struggle AND help people. You helped me to start at kryptonia.
May I ask - did you use steemit for getting money for food and rent?
Or did I misunderstand you.

Thank you so much for your support!

This post was for a contest, but I did not win. I do use steemit money to live on and it is a juggling act for sure. Certainly it was much easier when the prices were higher. But now that I am in Kuala Lumpur instead of Bangkok, I think my luck is changing.

I'm so glad you are on @kryptonia and glad I could help you get there. This is a real bright spot for me. I have over 30K in SUP right now (!) and put one post in for a task each day. I'm so glad I found the place in February.

Wow ! I did nnot know that people could live of steemit. That is awesome! Only by blogging or do you enter a lot of contest? I am impressed that you always write good posts and take time for intressting comment. / minimining from the other side of earth.

Well I do live in the third world very cheaply, so that helps. I enter a lot of contests, comment a lot, and do a lot of other strategies. I am working on a new post about that and will have it out soon. This is an older post with literally hundreds of tips. Don't vote it, but if you have a comment or question you can ask it there.
https://steemit.com/howto/@fitinfun/huge-list-of-minnow-tips-and-a-red-blur

If you go through this and try what appeals to you, you can do really well. It's all about consistent effort and connections here.

Thanks. I will read it when I come back to my home after the weekend.
I also go for a lot of contest (and hold one every week). C U

I am tremendously impressed with your story!!! I believe that you've been through hell and now reborn as the "the Salsa Lady in Accounting" :) Many obese people failed half way (or not even half) just because they thought they could not make it! Next time when there are these people, I'm going to share them your transformation, for that I called it metamorphosis. You definitely earn my respect and salute!

Sure thing. I 'm gonna show one of my friends whom I think that he's getting obese lately. He's signed up gym membership but hardly go once a week. The excuse - no time working out, i told him that's the lamest reason I ever heard.

One of my books on Amazon is all about getting over obesity excuses. Trust me - I had many excuses before I turned my life around. I have Chapter One of my books for free over there. Maybe it might help him to read the first chapter of the obesity book.

I mostly help people to start working out in their homes. Going to the gym when you are not at your best is not an easy step to take. It's very easy to say you are too tired or don't have gas money, or any other excuse not to go. But you can do a lot in the privacy of your own home and it can be very effective. I hear you on the lame excuse thoughts, but when you are obese, it is very hard to get over it.

Thank you so much for such a motivating comment. I always say that anyone can do this if I did. It was surprisingly easy once I got the skills and weight has never been my problem again. I'm glad to hear from anyone who needs help with weight loss. If you find any, please do send them over!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 15 SBD worth and should receive 145 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You are awesome, my bot friend! Going over to resteem and visit some of the other posts as well. You always give me such a boost!

Can’t think of someone more deserving to win the contest. You always contribute to Steem in a meaningful way, whether it be through fitness posts or showing us the amazing places you go and things to eat.

Good luck.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aw! Thank you so much! I am glad to be here and trusting I am in the right place. And thank you again for all of your support. It means the world to me to see you commenting on my posts :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I can't really read this one, mom, but I am so glad you are thin now. This is all I ever wanted for you.

It's ok honey. I only wish I could have done it earlier.

It's ok honey.
I only wish I could have
Done it earlier.

                 - fitinfun


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received a 7.13% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 360 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

God Bless you for helping people the best you can with difficult problems.

Thank you very much. Once I lost my own weight, I cannot focus on anything but helping other to do the same. I only wish I was more successful at it, but I keep trying.

Fantastic story

Thank you so much! It is ongoing :)

Completely understand, with my own weight loss, it always seems to be 2 steps forward, 1 step backwards, I no longer worry about putting on the extra weight as I know I will lose it and I will get there in the end.

As long as you feel healthy and it is not out of control, that is the best way to feel about it. Most of the people I work with are morbidly obese, so that is a real health issue for them and they are best to take action.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29