Rewarding the Undermined Gems #5: The Always Smiling Cashier and Make Me Smile Contest by @elizacheng!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Re-introduction to This Series


Created using Canva

First of all, I would like to apologize for abandoning one of my own favourite series which is the Undermined Gems series. I initiated this as my personal project to contribute to my community and to spread awareness about Steemit. I have so far featured 4 persons, in different line of service and also a mother.

In this series, for Discovering The Undermined Gems, I write about discovering them and tell about their stories besides my quiet observation of them. Sometimes, I would interview them and also inform them I am featuring them. It is quite random how I choose who to feature, usually I would pick from those I encounter when I sit down and do people watching.

All of them would remind me of a belief I hold dear to myself:


Created using Spark Post

Regardless they are christians like me or not, I feel a strong urge to let them know that they are seen and noticed, they are inspiring and they deserve to be rewarded with a tip I collect from my Steemit post featuring them. In Rewarding the Undermined Gems, I would then tip them off with the SBD I collect from the post, which is 50% of the author rewards, then converted into the market price on the day I am passing them the tip and also the exchange rate from USD to MYR.


SHOWING OFF MY GEM AND REWARDING HER!

Okay, now it is really time to SHOW OFF.....drumrolls Nor Hayati!!

You may check out the post about her which I have written a month ago, #7DaysPositivityChallenge Day 2 and Discovering the Undermined Gems #5: Kind Strangers. I really apologize for delaying the process of rewarding due to my June being very packed.


I got her a little card, so I can write some words to her to show why I appreciate her, for being such a cheerful and helpful worker,for lifting up the atmosphere and making us feel so welcome at her presence. She is a GEM!!!


My note of appreciation to her and sharing with her the link to the post featuring her.

After writing the note, I included RM78.30 as her tip inside the envelope.

I got 9.24 SBD from the post and with the rate of 1 SBD = 2.09 USD on Friday and 1 USD = 4.05 MYR, 9.24 x 2.09 X 4.05 = RM78.30.

IMG_20180706_211635.jpg

When I went to find her at the Village Grocer, Nor Hayati was very busy because it was almost the closing time for the grocer, so there were a lot of customers making payment. I was quite nervous because it has been a long while since I did anything for this series. I remembered that my mom-in-law asked me to get something, so I went to get some eggs, only to remember she asked for a loaf of bread after I paid and exited the grocer. I was thinking to pass Nor Hayati the tip another day because I did not want to disturb her work or get her into trouble.

Nervously, I went to get the loaf of bread and went to her. I tried to speak as little to her but asked her if she remembered I mentioned that I wanted to write about her. She smiled and said yes. I passed the envelope to her and she said thank you. I said I had to take a photo as an evidence I did pass it over so my fellow Steemians can trust my series in the future.


Nor Hayati, the vibrant cashier of Village Grocer

I will go back and catch up with her on a day she is not that busy, perhaps.


Honestly, I have gotten a bit hesitant whenever I want to do something for this series since an incident of someone embarrassing me for tipping a petrol station attendant. After all, tipping is something not that common in the Malaysian culture though I am wanting to cultivate it in my way.

The ability to give is a blessing.

I will continue to look out for gems in my community and also reward them within my means. At the same time, I am hoping to let them know the existence of Steemit too.

Not forget to mention, my first gem Farish added me to Facebook Messenger and I found out he is from the same hometown as me and we keep in touch. He has been promoted to assistant manager in another branch and I am so happy for him!!

Thank you so much for reading my post. If you would love to participate, look out for the next post when I feature the next gem and give a bit fat upvote!!!


RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/07/08/rewarding-the-undermined-gems-5-the-always-smiling-cashier/

Sort:  

I'm so glad I found this episode in your series as I was missing them allready. Now I understand why. I hope you can take to your heart that you really do a good job, and that this actually may help other people. There's really nothing wrong with it, and I hope that people in your culture will see what a gem you are for doing this. It's a heartwarming gesture.

@happycrazycon , that is SUCH an awesome idea! I LOVE it! :)
Also, I didn't know you're a christian, so not only are we #steemitmamas buddies but also heavenly sisters x

This is so beautiful mama. What a great thing to do. I can understand how it might be embarassing as it can be seen negatively to tip in your culture. But overcome it and let the love and blessing overpower. It's not for the audience you're doing this but for the awesome gems you have discovered. Great job mama!

Awww.. Such lovely encouraging words from you @lovenfreedom!!! :) thank you, I have been needing to hear this so much. Some people came by to comment to tell me where I do wrong the last time I posted about it, so it had been some struggles, though I was determined to let this series continue to shine. Perhaps deep inside I lost some confidence to do it. Your words came at the right time! I'm so grateful! 💓

WOOHOO! Congrats @happycrazycon for doing this. I can super duper imagine how nervous you were wei. haha! And I know this cashier too! She's really bubbly and energetic all the time. She likes to kacau me too. HAHA. Keep it up Con!

Thank you so much for your constant support and encouragement, @josephinengpy!!! Yeah she is too vibrant to be missed. You have just affirmed how much she deserves it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That’s is very nice of u @happycrazycon. Here is my big fat kisses to you 💋 💋 💋(and a hug 🤗 too). If u don’t mind ☺️

Hahahah of course I don't mind. A big hug back at you. Those allergy reactions must have sucked big time! 💕

Yes, having the ability to give is indeed a blessing. Thanks for being such a blessing to those around you, the community is blessed! 💓

Thank you for your kind encouraging words, @alimamasstory :) It is a series that inspires myself too, to continue giving in ways that I can, though SBD is really low now.

This was lovely to read and very nice thing to do. If more people would be more like this, the world would be a much better place. <3

Awww.... yeah usually, I get a bit complacent but I created this series to get myself step out there and out of my comfort shell. Thank you very much for your encouragement @misslasvegas :)

YAY, you are in for tomorrow! Remember to post the link to the post you want us to send kisses to at the #thebar in steemitmamas discord server!! :)

Only if there's so many of you, this world will be a better place! Thumbs up for your act of kindness :)

thank you @explorernations! Words like this boost my determination to carry on and they mean a lot to me <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75