A Vlog On 3 Easy Ways to Save Money for Traveling, Your Goals and Dreams, and for the Things You Love!

in #community6 years ago (edited)


Hi Steemit Community!

In the past few years, I have been researching new ways to save more money for my future and for the things that I love to do in life!
Now there are many things I love in life-- such as traveling, music, art, food (who doesn't love some good food?), and so much more-- but for all of those things, there has to be some kind of investment of our time or money (as they say, time is money!).

There are multiple ways to set aside and save money and many times it's simply finding ways to do it, researching how others save and taking tips, and ultimately creating a saving system for yourself! 😏

Today I am sharing 3 ways that I set aside for my life goals and save money for the future:

1. I collect spare change in what I call "My Travel Jar".
Throughout the week, I will sometimes use cash to purchase things and when I do I set aside all of my spare change to put in "My Travel Jar". While this isn't instantly going to bring in the big bucks and make you rich, you would be surprised how fast your change gradually adds up!
Another tip for when you're saving change is to roll it yourself and turn it in at a bank, because many times you'll have to give %10 to whoever or whatever counts it for you (they often have coin counting machines these days that do just that).

2. Setup a savings account that is linked to your debit card and withdraws a small amount each time you purchase something.
This can be a very helpful way to save without even thinking about saving!
Essentially, your debit card would be linked to the savings account and you could set it up to where the remaining change from your purchase is deposited into your savings account (for instance if you bought a coffee for $4.36 with your debit card, then $0.64 would be deposited into your savings).
Or you could decide on a certain amount to be deposited into savings each time you use your debit card (such as $1.00).
Extra Tip: You can create an account with a saving and investing account! I have an account setup with the Acorns app that rounds up the spare change from each of my card purchases and saves/invests it into stocks. This is great for people first beginning to make investments and wanting to save at the same time!
Here is the link for the Acorns website 😊

3. Create an external savings account that is specifically for saving.
There was a point in my life where I really wanted to set aside as much as I could for my college education, so I began looking into banks with savings accounts that have a higher than usual interest rate. Here are a few that I came across:

  1. Synchrony Bank (1.75% APY)
  2. Barclays Bank (1.65 APY)
  3. American Express, Personal Savings (1.65% APY)
  4. Ally Bank (1.60% APY)
    In the end I decided to open an external savings account with Barclays Bank which is called a Dream Account. Barclays bank has very good customer service and a high interest rate, and that is mainly why I chose to open a savings account with them!

I hope you've enjoyed this vlog and article!
And remember, at the end of the day you are the one who decides and creates your own personal system for saving!

Sarah Nicole ❤

What are some ways you save money? I'd love to hear about them in the comments!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

thank you for telling me about a tip to save money on the go, it's useful info, hope it helps a lot of people traveling

You're welcome! I'm glad this was helpful and hope it can help many others as well! 😏

Great tips! Financial literacy is something that is lacking in our society so it is good that you want to educate people on how to save and make the most of their money. Keep up the good work.

Thank you for your encouragement! Financial literacy is lacking somewhat in this day and time, but I hope the tips I've shared can be helpful for others when it comes to saving! 😏

Very nice tips, I will try to save money for my next travel. The post is also well formated, thanks for the quality. ☺

Good advise. I tend to lose change so I use plastic instead but the idea is great for those who really want to save.

There are so many different ways to save by either using currency or plastic 😏 I tried to share ideas for both, but there really are so many more ideas!

Hi Sarah Nicole, i like your Music much! I done a Special Drone Video whit your Piano Music, i would like to show you the Video, i think you will like it much. Pleas contact me, this is not a joke. You can find me on Steemit, YouTube or Facebook, always Unique Esprit :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10