We Are Building More Than Just A Blockchain | Community Meet Up BelgradesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #community5 years ago (edited)



As many of you may know, I took a recent trip to Belgrade Serbia after SteemFest and have been sharing about my adventures there here with you. Sadly this will be my last post about Belgrade, seeing as I’ve shared all the photos I have from there ☹️

but don’t worry I saved the best for last...

See, while I’ve shared some photos of the beautiful area, the stunning architecture, the hidden beauty and even some of the people in my experiments in street photography. I haven’t shared the most important people yet, that’s right.. my fellow steemians I met right here on the blockchain and the reason I went to Serbia in the first place.

Can we just let that soak in for a minute? This platform is connecting people, and not just online.. but in real life all over the world. We have people traveling together, building companies together, starting local projects and communities together, producing music together, hell some people are even getting married who met here... that’s pretty mind blowing.

So while I know I’m constantly talking about how the people here and this community are what make us unique, the fact of the matter is...

We are building more than just a blockchain here

FE7482AB-904B-4F0B-85DC-C589A3CC2817.jpeg

We are building a community

We are connecting people who would have never met otherwise, and many of those people are going on to collaborate on things that are making a real difference.

We are building a way for us as a society to take control in the way we want, and how we decide. We are a building a place that gives people an opportunity to support themselves, buy and sell, live their dreams and do big things.. and that is what makes this place special, that is what makes us unstoppable.



While in Belgrade I got to meet some amazing individuals that I had met initially through curating with @curie and have grown to consider friends over the last few months.

Many projects on this platform actually started just because some like minded individuals met in the Curie group. Some of those include;

@teamserbia, @c-squared, @c-cubed, @photomag, and @crowdmind just to name a few and each of those projects were represented in the room above as well as of course the thing that pulls us all together, @Curie.

I love that even as we were meeting as individuals, telling stories, laughing and getting to know each other.. our passion for this place still was evident.. because our projects came up often.

We talked about many things.. our favorite authors, the posts that stuck with us, the crazy submissions we have had, how our new projects are going or even how many times @alcibiades has rejected us all 😬.. but most importantly the thing that came up over and over was...

How we can work together to make the most impact and do the most good.

I feel that that speaks volumes and shows that this place is about more than just a blockchain, and it’s what we are doing with that blockchain that really matters.

Ok, ok.. enough Steem talk.. let’s get to the photos!!



Even though we had a meet up my first night in town, none of us took photos.. which really shouldn’t surprise anyone because we all like to be behind the scenes, as most curators do.

BUT luckily on the last nights meet up @divisionbell started to try out my camera and because of this we have these lovely photos below. I’m not sure who took which photos as we all sort of passed it around but I really like them all.. some are dark.. some are blurry.. but I’m including them because I love them, so just deal with it. 🤗

Thank you @divisionbell for being the least antisocial of us all so we could at least have proof we were all in a room together and one point.

6D81B1D5-C24B-4A49-9D54-096F96616576.jpeg

@divisionbell 😍


51772AF8-103B-404A-9BB9-A80025D08994.jpeg

@milosm2302


48E6D53A-A1F5-49F7-8D45-14828216B539.jpeg

@svemirac, @llfarms


C3A9DEAB-B140-495C-81B1-E77209FE24CE.jpeg

@alcibiades


605A0039-133C-48B7-A9BC-3F340E1226A5.jpeg

@svemirac, @llfarms


DF188073-6F2C-476F-9084-C145915F9FFA.jpeg

@milosm2302


57F2147B-A70A-4CC5-A72E-912321CF38A7.jpeg

@alcibiades



These are from other days on the trip and wanted to include them as well...

12037BC4-CC3E-4D52-98EB-D5CE61063158.jpeg

@hidden84


FA13E326-2315-40E2-B794-16C6F1BF78E3.jpeg

@svemirac



Selfie Alert!!
Thank you @hiddenblade for messaging me yelling at me to take a selfie with these boys 🤗

1816DD7D-9381-4E02-9B9B-46FB5AC1C8FD.jpeg

@svemirac, @llfarms, @hidden84


532E49E7-2A02-458B-8138-AF4943AF760E.jpeg

@milosm2302, @llfarms, @svemirac


And for the sake of Serbian tourism, I’m not gonna explain this photo.. but.. just look at how happy @milosm2302 looks 😄

D442AEBD-81A1-4CD6-B2C8-AC807CFB0761.jpeg


And for the heck of it...and because it’s lovely, let’s do this one again...

90503950-F70F-4CF0-9F93-FBBA920F4443.jpeg

@alcibiades, @milosm2302, @svemirac, @llfarms


And all these lovely and incredibly kind individuals were my favorite part of Serbia...




Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

Someone please teach @svemirac how to frown and @alcibiades to smile!!!
You guys are all lovely 😍

Haha, for the record I saw them both do this many times but no photographers were present at that moment 😜

Damn I wish I could see those faces 😂

looks like a fun crowd :) ... so in the end @svemirac was not a bot... takes notes... hahaha

Very fun indeed 🤗

And it’s so hard when you find out people aren’t bots isn’t it?? Really makes you question how well you know people...

And I'm not him :D

😂 wait did people think you really were?

Successes I think have strengthened a great friendship, this is the important thing in life, believe in good people and grow with them. Regards and my respects my support with my vote.

Very well said.. who you surround yourself with and the relationships you build are the most important in my opinion

This is soo cool, Justine!! <3 (beside the fact you all look so happy and sweet!)
I agree, it's so much more than a blockchain, it really is a big family. You feel right at home with other Steemians, which I think explains why such meetups (as well as the mother of all meetups, SF) feel like this separate universe, you know?

The blockchain is just a medium, a means to an end and I think that end is so much bigger than any of us. <3

I couldn’t agree more.. not a person I met felt like and stranger and many already felt like home.

I think that aspect of this place is pretty revolutionary and something we forget to realize sometimes... the people here are amazing and are doing amazing things.

The blockchain is just a medium, a means to an end and I think that end is so much bigger than any of us.

Wowza, very well said.. I love it and agree ❤️🤗❤️

I like what you said about some Steemians feeling like home :) Definitely felt that.

I agree! We take so much for granted, I've noticed, and we complain so much. I mean, there are some who complain but also propose solutions, but many seem to think they're owed something on here and that's simply not true. They forget how brilliant it is that we're here. Just that and it's already mind-blowing... We just have to keep seeing that <3

can I explain next-to-last photo? :D

😂 sure.. you look pretty excited about whatever it is.. explaining that should be interesting ...

Yeah, and make people cancel their trips to Serbia 😂

Or maybe people plan a trip... you never know 🤷🏻‍♀️

hahaha,, maybe it was just a sign for you to come :D

Nice meeting, nice pictures...! 🤗

Looks like a very happy encounter.

Awe thanks 🤗 it very much was...

on the first glance i missed all the action in the background in that next-to-last photo.

Congratulations @llfarms! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks like a really fun time and I'm glad you were able to go and meet those working behind the scenes. We appreciate all of you.

Awe thank you Dave! And yes I’m very thankful I was able to add this little detour ❤️

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.608 which ranks you at #495 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 496).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17