Real World Stuff

in #community5 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-11-08 at 16.58.32.png

Even though it's getting colder and the evenings are drawing in, my thoughts are turning to getting out and seeing people. Working face to face. I've spent a lot of this year looking at a wall, a screen, my desk, out the window, and while of course I've been out and about, since I gave up doing Tuttle every week, I've felt the lack.

So I've got three things in mind.

Unhurried Guildford

My friend Johnnie Moore created Unhurried to have some slower, easier, less frenetic conversations. It's a simple format: a couple of hours with some simple rules and a talking piece to give enough structure for something to happen but not to constrain it too much. I'm going to try and do one of these in Guildford before Christmas.

SteemCampUK

In the New Year, I'd like to get @steemcampuk happening again. There was a virtual meetup last week, organised by @pennsif (I only managed to eavesdrop for a few minutes in the end) which seems to have stirred up some thinking. For those who are new around here, SteemCampUK is a participant-led day conference for people interested in the Steem blockchain and its applications. We met last April in Birmingham and if I was the supreme ruler of the universe, or at least of my diary, we would have done another one six months later (ie last month) so it's already overdue.

I'm interested first in where people want to get together - organising something national is always constrained by travel on the day so I wonder where would be good for the most people to get along.

Something Tuttle-ish

I've had a rest from Tuttle, which is the name for the weekly informal, theme-less, conversational meetup for interested/ing people that I did every (almost) Friday for the last ten years.

And I'm ready to do something similar, here in Guildford. I've been slowly establishing a small circle of people with vaguely common interests in the town over the last eighteen months. I think it's time to put dates in diaries and settle back into the rhythm of it.

Blog Club

I used to do these at the co-working space I was part of in London - just a weekly session for people to meet up face to face and talk about their blogging experiences. I'm not sure that Guildford has the blogging community to support that at the moment. So maybe it'll be a regular live stream for people to join in with wherever they are. The format is to talk for a bit about this week's subject and then go into writing a post by a certain time. Still playing with it, but I'm attracted to doing it anyway and seeing who shows up.

Let me know what you'd like to do.

Sort:  

i'd like to give you a hug and say your a lovely man and always will be. then we can discuss other things about all things events! -- erm tonight, @pennsif doing another show, which i'm gonna go to, in about 2.5 hrs from this message at 8pm on mspwaves.

big hugs.

Looking forward to a good chat this evening. Are you free this evening Lloyd? Do come along as well if you are. 8pm - 11pm MSP Waves on the PAL Discord.

Thanks Chris, I'm sorry but the evening time slots don't work for me and i find engaging in conversation where i cant see people really difficult. I'll make an effort to catch up with the recordings and appreciate your reports.

Love you mr humble :)

London again? @gillianpearce concern is the late meet-ups unless in brighton.
You missed SF3 Lloyd?

Yeah i couldn't make SF3 in the end. Trouble is, we all want different times and places :) we'll get there in the end.

To what's make attending a meet-up easier yes... north nd south together.

Hi Lloyd

National events are going to be difficult, and with the small number of active steemians in Britain, probably fairly low on numbers.

My feeling is regional activities at first, ideally where everyone can reach in maybe 2 - 3 hours travel time.

Are you free on Thursday 29 November, 8pm - 11pm UK time, to come along to the next UK Steem Virtual Meetup? That will give another platform to gauge interest of what, when, where...

And at the regional level @redrica is planning to talk to London & South East steemians to gauge interest in an event - possibly food related. Maybe worth catching up with RedRica next week to see where that is going.



They've just had one at Allah's...then meet-ups at escape's with Sara @ultravioletmag
Small meet-ups are more frequent now after last year's 1st london meet-up.

London is definitely bubbling...

Are you back in the UK in March Imma?

Yeah...have a job waiting for me.

How did Birmingham work last time as a central meeting place? I guess (cost of) venue is a consideration. I could have a look in Leicester and see if I am able to get hold of a low/no cost venue if that works, either at LCB Depot or Phoenix (independent cinema and digital arts centre)?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14